We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“do it if you are in central CR”

El Toledo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a sustainable organic coffee farm. We have been using sustainably organic practices for over fourteen years. Today we are happy to consider ourselves environmentalists first, and coffee farmers second.
Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“do it if you are in central CR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

wonderful people doing great stuff. Good coffee, great attitude, very professional. we actually worked with Gabriel and Ivette and their team on the plantation, planted plants, helped with the work and got to know what they do and what they believe. The work they are doing, producing world-class coffee while improving the environment around them is fantastic. check out the various fruit trees and other plants accentuating the coffee experience and adding to the overall coffee experience. I'd buy the coffee just forthe taste alone but these are also wonderful people doing good stuff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tim-dartmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nasirabad, null, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We wanted to gain an inside look at the way coffee is grown and produced in Costa Rica so we headed to the El Toledo Coffee Tour in Atenas. The tour was recommended by a friend and it exceeded all expectations. Gabriel and his wife offered not only an amazing tour and day, but a warm family embrace that will not be long forgotten. We appreciated his candid explanations of organic farming, treating the environment with respect, and the economics behind coffee farming. He answered all of our questions with such poise and insight. He is a big picture thinker and has a way of communicating the innovative way of farming he practices while remaining extremely humble. The tour of the coffee fields was unforgettable- Gabriel even offered us fruit picked from trees along the way! We spent hours sipping coffee afterwards with Gabriel and his wife. What an amazing day- can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenv128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great day!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our tour of El Toledo. This is a wonderful way to get to know Costa Rica. This is a family owned and operated business. Gabriel is very bright and has a lot to share about his families ideas about running a business that is in harmony with the environment and and all living things. It is an honor to have met him, his wife Yvette and his parents. The coffee is excellent. You will be treated to a tasting of all 3 roasts as well as homemade pastries. It is a beautiful hillside farm. Don't miss it. These are great people making delicious coffee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank TraavlBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plainfield, NJ
1 review
“AWESOME FAMILY. I LOVED THE VISION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had the pleasure of meeting this family earlier this year. I loved the tour and what the Calderon family stands for. Gabriel is passionate about what he is doing. Not only providing for his family, but giving back to the Universe. Awesome. I salute him and wish his the best. The tour was so much fun and educational. the food and atmosphere was even better. Can't wait to go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TriciaTravels_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing...such an awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We arrived at El Toledo during the rainy season of September 2012. I thought we were lost, but my boyfriend kept us going up the long windy road. And once we found El Toledo, we had an amazing time! It was just the two of us, Garbriel and his wife...and the couple chickens! We had a great tour through the farm and I learned so much about organic farming and the mission that they are on to produce amazing coffee without the harmful chemicals that can have long lasting effects on the workers and environment. We spent hours sipping coffee, nibbling on cookies and sharing our experiences. I highly recommend this place and their coffee!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddy0982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toledo Coffee Tour also viewed

Heredia, Province of Heredia
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Toledo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing