We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome story and tour, must see!”

El Toledo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a sustainable organic coffee farm. We have been using sustainably organic practices for over fourteen years. Today we are happy to consider ourselves environmentalists first, and coffee farmers second.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome story and tour, must see!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Gabriel and his family make this experience much more than just a coffee tour, rather an unravelling of their family's story to become organic. The impact on the farm, community, economy and final product is incredible. This was a highlight of our time in Costa Rica.

Helpful?
Thank mickeyNCSU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible tour on an organic coffee farm”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our tour guide, Gabriel, is together with his father running this farm and they do so for over 25 years. The tour starts of with an introduction and discussion on why they went organic, how the area is, how coffee is roasted and some coffee testing from different roasts. Next is a walk through the farm where you can see the coffee plants and what else grows on his land. All together this is an excellent tour and gives you great insight in what it all takes to drink a cup of coffee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jochemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atenas, Costa Rica
1 review
“Excellent day trip”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had a great time with my family at El Toledo Coffee farm. The place is beautiful and interesting, the owners are friendly. This was a great experience for all of us. Thank you so much!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank luxandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“coffee and the market”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

the coffee from Toledo is wonderful and aromatic in the mornings. Gabriel is at the Grecia market to purchase if you dont go on the tour at toledo coffee

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheresaR1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Coffee Tour”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been on the El Toledo Coffee Tour three times and I learn something new each time I go there. It is educational and entertaining. Gabriel, Yvette and the family are very passionate about their farm. This is a true Costa Rican experience not to be missed. You will see the real Costa Rica when you visit the farm. And be sure to buy some coffee, roasted, ground and packaged right before your eyes. I will be taking more friends there the next time I am in Atenas.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GRM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toledo Coffee Tour also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 

Been to El Toledo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing