We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding for adults and children alike”

El Toledo Coffee Tour
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Atenas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a sustainable organic coffee farm. We have been using sustainably organic practices for over fourteen years. Today we are happy to consider ourselves environmentalists first, and coffee farmers second.
Florida
2 reviews
“Outstanding for adults and children alike”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We recently returned from Costa Rica with our two young boys (6 and 2 years old), and while we had a number of "kid-friendly" things planned (which they enjoyed very much), their time with Gabriel and his family at El Toledo was the highlight. In fact, my 6 year old has asked several times when we are going back so that he can stay with Gabriel for a few days and work the farm. :)
My husband and I learned so much about coffee production, and came home with a wonderful product. This family's very personal story and journey is about so much more than coffee, though. I came home inspired to ask some very important questions about our lifestyle and priorities as well.
Gabriel's wife was sweet and patient with my kids, as were his parents. Besides learning about coffee, they got to trek around the woods, eat a number of fruit and veggies that grow there, and even cut and juice sugar cane!! We spent several hours at El Toledo, and hope to go back, this time as friends. Gracias, Amigos, por todo!! :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

My friend and I followed the good reviews here on tripadvisor and had high expectations. I was so happy when the tour exceeded even those! We started with an introduction about their history and how they started organic farming, their learning process, the economic impact, their passion to educate... It was a much longer discussion than planned that gave me a lot to think about regarding certifications, consumption, an individual's impact...that was almost the best part!
Afterwards we toured the farm, seeing differences to conventional farms, learning about the process from the seed to the roasted bean.
We spent the whole afternoon there and had a great time with their family. It certainly was very special and I know they meant it when they invited us to return not as customers but as friends;)

Helpful?
Thank katiek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, WA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kudos to El Toledo”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The Café El Toledo coffee tour was superb. After Gabriel's father became ill due to traditional coffee farm use of chemicals, 15 years ago they began to pursue organic alternatives. A work in progress, Gabriel is still learning & enthusiastic about better health for himself, his family, their workers & the land. He was interested to learn of research linking arthritis to un-organic coffee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome story and tour, must see!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

Gabriel and his family make this experience much more than just a coffee tour, rather an unravelling of their family's story to become organic. The impact on the farm, community, economy and final product is incredible. This was a highlight of our time in Costa Rica.

Helpful?
Thank mickeyNCSU1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible tour on an organic coffee farm”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Our tour guide, Gabriel, is together with his father running this farm and they do so for over 25 years. The tour starts of with an introduction and discussion on why they went organic, how the area is, how coffee is roasted and some coffee testing from different roasts. Next is a walk through the farm where you can see the coffee plants and what else grows on his land. All together this is an excellent tour and gives you great insight in what it all takes to drink a cup of coffee.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jochemv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Toledo Coffee Tour also viewed

Vara Blanca, Province of Alajuela
Heredia, Province of Heredia
 
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to El Toledo Coffee Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing