We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caprivi must-stop-in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Caprivi must-stop-in”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

An old institution in Katima, with Protea comforts. A laid back option on the ever-beautiful Zambesi, with large, private bungalows along the riverside and a large, lazy pool, it offers a little luxury en-route, or while exploring the area. Drinks on the balcony, friendly staff and balmy evenings on the great Zambesi, it is not a place to be in a hurry (or expect super-reliable access to the internet), and rightly so. Thoroughly recommended for families too.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    17
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
30
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed here for a night- 24th Jul 2011. The hotel location is on the banks of blue waters which was great to navigate. Very convenient for a stop-over after or before the caprivi strip drive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

An oasis on the road across the Caprivi strip. A nice clean Protea Hotel where you can expect a standard that should keep most people happy. Pity about the Ray Bans that disappeared off the table! Dining very average but adequate.

Room Tip: Try and get one facing the river. You can occasionally hear the hippos at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This is the second year I stay at this hotel while traveling around the Caprivi and it is my favourite. The views of the river at sunset are astonishing, the bungalows are ample and confortable and Kennedy is always smiling and ready to help you. The camping site is also very good and have all the facilities one might need. It is really worth to spend some days at this hotel and enjoy the scenery. Three thinks I enjoy everytime after being camping for a week: the wonderful breakfast, the confortable beds and the swimming pool.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms facing the river are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank striderBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naboomspruit
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

I just want to tell everyone who thinking of going to Northern Namibia that Protea Hotel Zambesi River Lodge has the best camping site one can wish for. Wish we could stay there for longer but time did not let us extend our stay. The abblusion neat clean, the staff very friendly and the scenery absolute a stunning sight.
Thanks to Marcel and all the friendly staff for making our stay unforgettable.
You can be proud of yourself.
Danie and Rina Swart Naboomspruit RSA

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelNaboomspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2008

The Zambezi River Lodge is part of the huge portfolio of hotels owned and managed by Protea Hotels. It seems they have a policy of renovating and upgrading their properties, and unfortunately we stayed here while renovations were in progress. There were good and bad aspects to this.
The good: our room was apparently brand-new, at least the furnishings seemed to have been unwrapped from their plastic covers perhaps only hours before we arrived. As an indication of recent handyman activities, we found a wood-screw lying on the carpet near the bathroom door. So the room was more than clean, and it had pretty much most of what you would expect in a 3/4-star establishment anywhere in the world. The location of the hotel, along the banks of the Zambezi, is good, although due to exceptionally heavy haze, we could barely see the river. Unfortunately, that's about all that's good to tell.
The not-so-good: Our room had not been QA'd, so, for example, there was no plug for the bathroom sink, no information folder for the hotel, and so on. There was no mosquito net for the bed, and judging by the way the ceiling light fitting was positioned, maybe there is no intention of fitting these. Maybe the room is supposed to act as a large mosquito net? (If so, it would be a rather imperfect one.) Our air-conditioning unit dripped water onto the brand-new carpet, with the water missing the brand-new flat-panel TV by a very small distance. The river-side bar depicted on the hotel's website is currently non-functional due to damage incurred during the past summer's flooding of the Zambezi. Speaking of non-functional, the hotel's grand new entrance gate has been made so narrow, and built so close to an existing structure, that it's impossible to turn any vehicle larger than a standard sedan into the main driveway to the hotel without negotiating a bizarre series of 3-point turns.
The really bad: Our group dinner at the hotel restaurant was farcical. Our group of 14 and another table of 4 were the only guests at the hotel that evening. By the time we had been waiting for 90 minutes and had not received our meals, one of our group stormed into the kitchen and discovered there was only a single person working in the kitchen that evening! So, clearly, service and staffing levels need vigorous attention.
Given that the hotel was clearly still under renovation, hopefully these problems will be fixed in due course.

  • Liked — No stand-outs.
  • Disliked — The restaurant.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
2.8 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
66 reviews
4.1 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#8 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#4 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Kalizo Lodge
Kalizo Lodge
#1 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Popa Falls Resort
Popa Falls Resort
#5 of 9 in Divundu
15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 9 in Divundu
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Address: Ngoma Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Zambezi River - Gateway to Victoria Falls and the Chobe National Park. Set in natural surroundings on the banks of the Zambezi River, Protea Hotels Zambezi Riveroffers comfortable facilities, ideal for an overnight stay en-route to the many tourist destinations in the area. Accommodation comprises 38 standard twin and 4 luxury double en-suite rooms overlooking the Zambezi River or garden and pool area, with restaurant and bar facilities are available daily. You can take a boat cruise on the Zambezi River with excellent opportunities to observe hippos and crocodiles. Or you could stroll through the lively town of Katima Mulilo, enjoy the African flair at the open market and buy original crafts ranging from baskets, jewellery, traditional musical instruments to animals made of scrap metal or wood. Excursions to the nearby National Parks (Mudumu, Mamili and Bwabata), Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe or Zambia) and to the Chobe National Park can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Katima Mulilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing