We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset views on the banks of the Mighty Zambezi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset views on the banks of the Mighty Zambezi”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Best place for a sundowner in Katima Mulilo but at a price. Drinks are more expensive here than other places in town but the view is worth it. Very laid back and friendly staff. The hotel restaurant is average at best with poor service and very slow. We waited more than an hour for our dinner in a largely empty and souless restaurant in an area that looks like it might double as a banquet hall with not more than three other tables occupied. The food was not as good as expected and I would not eat there again. They have such a beautiful location but the restaurant tables are largely cut off from the beautiful river views.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mooniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    16
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
14
29
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

To whom it may concern

What is the use to send the guests the proof of payment if the hotel does not have it on their system or the system is not up to date resulting standing the next morning debating with the GM over the phone regarding the payment which was made as the email below and the proof of payment on my banking site How the system works got nothing to do with me but I tried seeing that the Wi Fi was not working I still manage to get on to my banking site and send yet again the proof of payment at my cost but all for nothing as the computer system is so out dated - Adobe reader version 4 we currently on 11 which result in not opening the proof of payment. We travelled from Upington to Gaborone, 12 different sleepover locations in 3 countries all my payments were done on the 2013/10/30 (You may confirm this with Safari Now) and the GM accused me of not paying ???? stating that there are 10 similar cases and the front desk ladies are paying this back monthly – I am still awaiting feedback from her regarding the payment !!!

There are no communication as she was there when we arrived but nothing was done not even one word was spoken until the next morning when we wanted to depart to cross the border in to Zambia. Breakfast was not ready at the time provided which are 06h30 The evening dinner service was horrific and there are no control

Not to mentioned that the room we were placed in (No.7) had a tree branch thru the roof as the roof was recently repaired with the ladder still on the roof The room itself had a strong smell as wet carpet s as well as new paint Only after complain and after having one of the front desk assistants in the room we where than moved to another Why give this out if the room is in no state for guests

This is a shame that one Hotel can damaged the brand so bad that I will never visit a Protea again and that the so called I have sent Tweets, emails, and also rate on the Hot and Not site and still haven’t received any feed back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katima Mulilo hotels

Soest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 11 days on the campsite. So we saw interesting things:
The gate is often guarded. And often unmanned. And if someone is actually there, they never stop anyone. So why bother with a gate? Same with internet: it often works. And it often doesn't. Which is not much of a problem, since wifi only is available at the reception.
The light at our campsite was broken. So every single evening the guards would come to turn it on, and every single evening they would be surprised to find it malfunctioning. But they'd never actually get it fixed.
Restaurant food average at best. Tapwater only potable for strong stomachs.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mischa_zelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed 22 November 2013

On arrival of course we had quite a warm welcome and reception. Checking in was easy with the guide of friendly assistance by one of the receptionist who later led us to our rooms. The rooms in average we generally clean, air conditioned with DSTV however no mini fridge for drinks. The shower was clean equiped with necessary toiletry. In terms of service on day 1 my room was madeup/ cleaned late around 1600hrs and this repeated on day two which seemed awkward to me. same night there was power outage from midnight till morning and we had to go start the day without a shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKebokilwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I would rather not even start on my experiences of this hotel. On checking in, we received the unfriendliest receptionist. We were. Given a room with the aircon not working, so that we had to moved to another room, but with other faults. The staff are unfriendly and unco-operative. Protea standards: NO!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ockert4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Where else can you sit having a pre-dinner drink when a herd of 15 elephants stroll by, warthogs graze on the lawns and the hippos come out of the river at dusk to nibble to grass on the side of the river bank? We thought the Zambezi River Lodge was an excellent venue for exploring the area. Our room and bathroom were clean and well decorated, the beds comfortable, and the breakfasts and evening buffet were excellent. The evening entertainment was traditional and enjoyable.

With hindsight we should have stayed another night, instead of moving on and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monstermollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room we had, in a chalet along the river, was functional and slightly dull but comfortable enough- the mattress was excellent. You wouldn't know you were in Africa from the decor. The bathroom however was a little dirty on arrival- we think workmen pruning some nearby trees may have been using it! The best thing about the hotel was its bar- overlooking the Zambezi and possessed of a wonderful terrace where you can watch the sunset, glass in hand, and then later watch hippos munching on the grass just metres from the bar- a very special experience.

Dinner was pretty decent too- the chicken cordon bleu was tasty. Breakfast was also pretty decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
2.8 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
4.1 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#8 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 8 in Divundu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Divundu Guest House
#8 of 8 in Divundu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
13.4 mi away
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
Caprivi Mutoya Lodge & Campsite
#5 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge

Property: Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Address: Ngoma Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Katima Mulilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Zambezi River - Gateway to Victoria Falls and the Chobe National Park. Set in natural surroundings on the banks of the Zambezi River, Protea Hotels Zambezi Riveroffers comfortable facilities, ideal for an overnight stay en-route to the many tourist destinations in the area. Accommodation comprises 38 standard twin and 4 luxury double en-suite rooms overlooking the Zambezi River or garden and pool area, with restaurant and bar facilities are available daily. You can take a boat cruise on the Zambezi River with excellent opportunities to observe hippos and crocodiles. Or you could stroll through the lively town of Katima Mulilo, enjoy the African flair at the open market and buy original crafts ranging from baskets, jewellery, traditional musical instruments to animals made of scrap metal or wood. Excursions to the nearby National Parks (Mudumu, Mamili and Bwabata), Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe or Zambia) and to the Chobe National Park can be arranged on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Katima Mulilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing