We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IDEAL FISHING DESTINATION”
Review of Kalizo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalizo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“IDEAL FISHING DESTINATION”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My brother and i spent 4 days at Kalizo from 12 August 2013 on a fishing trip.The accommodation was very good - a tent/ chalet right on the river bank. all the facilities are good .The food had us going back for more. The boat was excellant and the Guide and was very knowedgeable. Tony and his family go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The camping facilities are well maintained . We found the location very accessible and an easy but long drive from South Africa

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We spent 2 nights here and it was beautiful! There are many things to do here as well as rest in the gazebo. There is often an opportunity to upgrade to their cabins or tents. All is very nicely arranged and the scenery is so nice! The sunset and sunrise pictures here are great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarefulChoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We spent a couple of days camping at Kalizo, right on the banks of the Zambezi with more Pied Kingfishers than I have ever seen. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome and even sourced some fresh bream for dinner when we asked. Precious in the kitchen provided delicious fresh bread. Ovens was our sunset cruise guide and has a very good knowledge of the bird species which abound there. All in all we couldn't have asked for better stay.

Rob

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potchefstroom, North-West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at Kalizo Lodge at the beginning of April 2013. As the roads were flooded, we were picked up by boat from another lodge nearby. As the camp site was also under water, we were upgraded to a spacious family chalet. The hospitality was great with Tony provided us with excellent home cooked meals and lekker chats next to the camp fire. One morning we were spoiled with freshly baked croissants before a fishing trip. We would love to return to catch that big tiger fish and to spot Shelly's Sunbird. This lodge comes highly recommended. Good luck to Lara, Cherie, Tony and Johan with their new challenge of making Kalizo Lodge even better.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelmalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

I stayed at Kalizo with a group of nine guys, from South Africa and Australia, on a fishing trip. We all had an absolute ball. The food was amazing, with Tony the owner asking what we wanted for dinner each morning, he was incredibly hospitable and his staff were friendly and knowledgable! We all want to be back there with a brandy around that fire watching the Zambezi flow by at sunset

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The best part of Kalizo Lodge is its location. It is situated on the Zambezi river with good views both along the river and of Zambia. It is also close to the main reason for being here, the huge Southern Carmine Bee-eater nesting site, one of the great natural attractions anywhere. Our chalet was clean and comfortable, although the bathroom was rather cramped. The bar and dining area were pleasant enough, the food adequate and our experience OK.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed at Kalizo for the fishing holiday but we can't recommend it... Very disorganised, service slow, price high, food oily. not going there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara F, Owner at Kalizo Lodge, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
We are sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your stay at Kalizo Lodge before. We are however excited to announce, that as of 20th December 2012, Kalizo Lodge is under new ownership and management. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a new and improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
19.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Katima Mulilo
76 reviews
16.3 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
66 reviews
15.0 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#8 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#4 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 9 in Divundu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalizo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalizo Lodge

Property: Kalizo Lodge
Address: D3508, Kalimbeza Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Katima Mulilo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalizo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalizo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing