We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing place to be”
Review of Kalizo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kalizo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing place to be”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stunning location on the Zambezi. Staff friendly, owners accommodating and helpful. Let us sit in their office for long periods to use Internet and helpful with international phone calls etc.

Stayed in a gorgeous self-catering unit with fantastic view from kitchen metres from river. Room/tent was also lovely (let down a little by an ant problem but they made every effort to sort this out quickly). Bathroom in separate rondeval about 2.5m from back of tent with a couple of steps. We had no issue with this at all but if you did not know to switch on the light from inside the tent before going out it would have been very dark. We were told this by Cherie the owner as we checked in.

Only issues were the road was out (which happens for 2-3 months each year apparently) so were pick up by boat from nearby campsite. This was fine but we were not told that there was no drinking water so had to buy at the lodge despite having loads in the car which was annoying. Also wifi would have been really good (but used office Internet without any issues).

All round a fantastic place to stay and having stayed in a few places around the area including over the border we felt it was very good value for money. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Best if self catering chalet 6, best if not self catering chalet 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delareyville, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were very disappointed. We did not get the self-catering chalets we booked and paid for,
considering we did our booking 8 months in advance. My husband and I both fell trying to get to the bathroom in the dark.
The road was closed so we had to arrive by boat and only took the most necessary things.
The boat trip was nice but it meant we could not prepare our own meals and had to make
use of the restaurant. Which dipped into our finances.
The location and scenery is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Rock, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had to arrive by boat as the river was rising, flooding the road! What a beautiful place to stay, the tented accommodation, right on the edge of the Zambezi River. What a beautiful spot, birdlife like I had never seen before and tame,not disappearing, into the bush! Excellent food served in the pleasant restaurant. The new owners are passionate about the Lodge and entertaining their guests. We had two stunning nights there in April and are planning another visit in November this year!

Room Tip: The tented accommodation is brand new, clean, comfortable we woke up looking out the French doors at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2014

My holiday at Kalizo over the December period was magical. The new owners are enthusiastic and so accommodating. The place is lush with excellent bird viewing. The lodge is situated on the banks of the Zambezi allowing for great fishing and site seeing. They currently have two or three luxury tents (still erecting more) with a view of the Zambezi simply to die for. Absolute bliss! They also have a great campsite and other shallot accommodation. If you have been before 2012 I highly recommend visiting this special location again as the new owners are doing a complete revamp and upgrade making the spot the best in the area. Just make sure when you phone and book to enquire about rainy season. The service is great. Food and restaurant outstanding. All in all, one to remember! Thanks to the wonderful Kalizo family and the resident otter.

Room Tip: The luxury tents have a great view and are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I strongly recomend a 4 x 4 to get there especially if it's in the rainy season, which it was for us. We drove through a lot of mud and water to get there but the husband loved putting his 4 x 4 to the test.
It had been raining quite a bit and the camp sites look very wet so we decided to change our booking from a camping to a chalet. Fontunately we managed to get one for two nights. Accommodation was very comfortable. Fans, mosquito nets and nice clean towels are provided.
We took a sunset cruise which was most enjoyable. Kelvin our skipper was very informative and only too happy to answer all our questions.
Bird life was exceptionally good but we didn't get to see much of the wild life due to the time of the year.
New owners were really nice to chat to and are very enthuisiastic about the changes that they are planning in the near future.
Breakfast was good but I would have like to have yoghurt instead of milk with my cereal. Unfortunately dinner was not very good. Too bland and not enough colour but then we are a touch fussy about our food.
We bought wood by the wheel barrel (good value) for such a huge amount of wood.
We really enjoyed seeing the orphan baby otter that the owners are hand rearing and are hoping to release back into the wild.
I believe the fishing is really good but we will have to give that a try next time.
Staff were all really helpful, especially the lady at the reception.
Sadly there is no WiFi but they will allow you to use their internet if you really need to use it.

Room Tip: Zambezi house (self catering) two rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Brilliant spot on the Zambezi from Namibia. Excellent fishing, possibly one of the best in the area - with brilliant guides, boats and location. New owners have a fantastic attitude to please and make your stay as memorable as possible. Renovations at lodge are on going, but does not intrude on guests. Access to lodge can be tricky in rainy season if you are in a car BUT alternative route and assistance is available. Brilliant staff, great for kids, fishing adventures, birding and all round "get away from it all"

Room Tip: Our unit - Zambezi Self Cater - was in front of the boat launch. Brilliant for fisherman/early risin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houart n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Our recent trip to Kaliso was superb. The owners are amazing and all so friendly. Tony you are the master of your kitchen and the meals were great. Keep up the good work guys we will definitely be looking to coming back in the future

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
19.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Katima Mulilo
75 reviews
16.3 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
66 reviews
15.0 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#8 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chobe River Camp
Chobe River Camp
#4 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#3 of 13 in Rundu
16 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 9 in Divundu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalizo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalizo Lodge

Property: Kalizo Lodge
Address: D3508, Kalimbeza Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Katima Mulilo
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalizo Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalizo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing