We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great camping on the bank of the Zambezi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalizo Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Katima Mulilo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalizo Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great camping on the bank of the Zambezi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We camped in a tent for 2 nights and extended it to 3 rd night as we really enjoyed the peaceful lodge and its surroundings. People were very friendly and the half day boat trip to try and catch some tiger fish was excellent. The facilities was good and warm water available most of the time. A fire was made for warm water and was made late one evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndreGroveSouthAfric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    39
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
34
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 4th until 6th July, and loved every minute of it. The food was great, and our host, Cherie, who has a passion for wildlife, showed us some beautiful photos of an otter that her and her Husband had reared since it was a baby. I will never forget these amazing photos. Thanks for spending the time to share them. You have great staff and a wonderful place, which is spotlessly clean and tidy. We would definitely visit again if we get the opportunity to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gwen and Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The accommodation ranges from camping to luxury tents. We stayed in a chalet which was a little run down, but clean and comfortable with the best setting along the river! They are in the process of upgrading all their chalets (gas geysers, etc.) and building new tents with wooden walkways. We were self-catering, but booked in the restaurant for our last night - really impressed with the meal! Booking essential (I am sure as a result of the fabulous food). The camp sites looked lovely with some good spots along the river. Unfortunately didn't check the ablutions, so cannot review. Check in advance before towing a caravan in as the roads are difficult in wet season. 4x4 recommended.

Room Tip: Tent 6 would be my 1st choice for views, followed by 4 and 5. 'Guinefowl" chalet is the lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleGoosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

re- visited the lodge from 7 june to 13 june 2014. last trip August 2013.
Again memorable trip with fishing as the main activity. The lodge has maintained it's high standards and new accomodation now open. Fishing was good even though the water was unusually high fot this time of year. Boat well maintained and guide was very good.Will be returning .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Polokwane, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We camped at Kalizo and we were very impressed with the location of the property and the fantastic facilities at the lodge; the new owners have made some major improvements to the property and are still busy upgrading the lodge and facilities. The bathrooms at the camp site were always clean, we always had hot water; except for the one day when the donkey (camp site geyser) broke, then the lodge gave us a key to one of the luxury tents and allowed us to shower there. This is fantastic management and we were very happy about that. The staff and owners were exceptionally helpful and very pleasant to deal with. We had a wonderful stay and can assure you we will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paarl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for 1 night at Kalizo lodge on our way back from Botswana travelling through Zambezi [previously named Caprivi]. We did not know what to expect and if we had better information, I would have stayed there for at least 2 or 3 nights. We stayed in a luxury tent with a lapa type barbeque on the banks of the Zambezi river. We also had a small well equipted kitchen. We had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant and both meals were good.
There was a problem with the gas for our shower that could not be completely sorted out and if it was not for that, I would have given a higher rating for our stay.
Michelle, who handled our booking was excellent and very helpful.
I can strongly recommend staying a Kalizo lodge for a few days.

Room Tip: Luxuary tent nr. 3 has a beautiful setting and is very suitable for selfcatering for 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We went back to Kalizo after 2 and a half years and what a surprise we got!!! Taken over by new owners Johan and Cherie, we were totally amazed by what they have done in such a short period of time. Apart from the luxury accommodation, their hospitality and friendliness are to die for. They are awesome people with a special touch. They will go out of their way to make everything as comfortable and relaxing as possible. We would recommend Kalizo to anybody looking for a great experience on the Zambezi. And if the fish are not biting, the bird life will make up for it along the river. Johan and Cherie, thank you so much for another memorable break-away. You are amazing and we wish you all the best until we see you again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton_Olga2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katima Mulilo
19.1 mi away
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
Protea Hotel Zambezi River Lodge
#1 of 1 in Katima Mulilo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
16.3 mi away
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
Caprivi Houseboat Safaris
#2 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mobola Lodge
Mobola Lodge
#3 of 8 in Divundu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mukuku Rest Camp
Mukuku Rest Camp
#4 of 10 in Rundu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
15.0 mi away
Island View Lodge
Island View Lodge
#6 of 10 in Katima Mulilo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalizo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalizo Lodge

Property: Kalizo Lodge
Address: D3508, Kalimbeza Road, Katima Mulilo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Caprivi Region > Katima Mulilo
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Katima Mulilo
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet and luxury tented camping (bed and breakfast) as well as camp site accommodation on the banks of the Zambezi River in the Caprivi, Namibia. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing