We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while exploring Barichara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed at the Achiotte for 3 nites and it was fantastic. Were really looked after well by Gloria, Sara and Choco.
I saw a previous review on Tripadviser that I just can't relate to at all.
We are bias, as we fell in love with Barichara, our kind of Town and wish we could have spent more time there. If you're into Arts and Crafts and just want a nice place to chill out, this is it.
You've also got a fantastic walk down the valley to Guane, takes a couple of hours, but the views are something else

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyandDiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2011

The owner, and it was high season, was nowhere to be seen. The hotel was handled by to inexperienced although well meaning ladies. Room (standard double) was dark and cave-like. Nice bathroom though. We did not see any justification for the "boutique" noun in the Hotel's name. Room was more on the spartan mould.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank garavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

On our roadtrip to Santa Martha this was our first stop. Barichara is definitely worth the 40-minutes detour and Achiotte Boutique Hotel is even worth a second night. Set within a beautiful garden on a steep hill, this small hotel is an oasis of peace and quietness and the owner, Mauricio, will do anything to make your stay a memorable one.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarekLinde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Lovely, new boutique hotel. The owner, Mauricio, is incredibly friendly and helpful and greatly enhanced the pleasure of our stay. The rooms are very stylish, good hot water in showers. Sitting in the hamocks on the porch looking out over the village was wonderful. New additions planned for the hotel should make it even better. Minor quibles: Barichara is a village, so you will hear roosters crowing from about 4:00 a.m.; if there are any loud guests you will hear them as well; the mattressess could be a bit softer; breakfast was on the skimpy side; the village has very limited interet access, and what access there is is extremely slow. Nonetheless, would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daoda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Stayed here for two nights and had a lovely time. The boutique hotel is new and the owners have done a very good job. The room we stayed in was quite big with a lovely walk in shower with a huge shower rose! We had our own balcony with a nice few of the hills. We were here on off season so the restaurants were closed so the owners cooked us dinner which was very special. Our hosts, Gloria and Mauricio made us feel very welcome and are lovely people.

I'm sure this hotel will do very well and thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Habitaciones comodas, tranquilas y amplias. Baño ducha al aire libre novedoso.Las del segundo piso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria Mercedes O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#2 of 12 in Barichara
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#3 of 12 in Barichara
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
#5 of 12 in Barichara
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portal de Barichara
Hotel Portal de Barichara
#8 of 12 in Barichara
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achiotte Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achiotte Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle 5 No 3-52 | Steps Down, Church of San Antonio, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Price Range: £51 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achiotte Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achiotte Boutique Hotel is a place of rest and tranquility. Where our customers enjoy excellent service and comfortable facilities, where breathe peace and in contact with nature. We are 2 blocks from the main park in the quietest area of ​​Barichara and have a spectacular view of the mountains. We wait to discover the most beautiful village of Colombia. Mauricio Ospina Villegas Owner and Sales Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Achiotte Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing