We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel is lovely & in a great location. The only negative we had with the hotel is the room that we stayed in was right next to the front door/road, so was a little noisy & had no private outdoor sitting area/balcony/verandah. Other than the hotel was wonderful, the rooms very spacious & the open air bathroom was great. Breakfast was very good - would recommend if you are travelling in the low season/weekdays to have dinner at the hotel as well - a lot of restaurants were closed when we were there in March - even on Friday & Saturday night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2012

The most appealing aspect of the hotel is the oasis-like environment inside. This will definitely help relax and unwind. The room has everything you need and the outdoor shower adds a nice touch to it.
The owner is very helpful and will help you with any request you have. He know the right kind of people if you are planning on doing any of the activities that the region offers.
Breakfast if served from 730 to 930 which is a downer if you plan on taking it slow.
The hotel has an agreement with a nearby family if you plan on taking your car. They charge COP 4,000 a day for the parking space. It’s completely safe and it only 2 block away.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

A few blocks back from the main plaza means this hotel is ideally situated to enjoy the lovely solitude and laid back feel to Barichara. Mauricio the owner could not have been more helpful which was great given the absence of any obvious tour agency in town. He organised horse riding for us with a quick phone call and gave us tips about the walk to Guane along the El Camino Real stone paved road. Breakfasts were very good. Room was bit small but perfectly fine. The outdoor bathroom (but private) was a unique experience, particularly in the middle of the night! If you want to eat the local fat bottomed ants then Color de Homiga is the place to go although not for any other reason as the service was appalling. The ant sauce by the way is a bit under whelming and not particularly tasty. The ants themselves are, err, crunchy! Best restaurant we came across in town was La Puerta on Calle 6 on the way up the hill. Great interesting food well presented.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is located about 2 blocks from the town square, and within walking distance of everything you'd want to see in Barichara. If you are arriving by car there is not much to tell you have arrived so keep a look out for the house number and big wooden door.

Inside you will most probably be greeted by the hotel's owner, Mauricio. He welcomed us on arrival, showed us to our room, gave us directions (including suggestions on what to see and where to eat) and was the perfect host throughout.

Our room was very spacious, with one king size and 3 single beds. It had an open air shower (lots of hot water) and a spa (although we didn't use it). The views out the small window were amazing, across the terra cotta tiled roofs and to the rolling hills in the distance. We had a very comfortable stay, and a particularly good night sleep after the long drive from Bucaramanga.

The rooms are arranged around a courtyard garden. It is like an oasis in the city. The beauty and tranquility will strike you as soon as you pass through the front doors. While the weather is mild and the crowds not too bad, it is good to have this space at the end of the day. You can jump in a hammock, read a book or just relax.

There are cold drinks available in the downstairs dining area, which is arranged like an open air cafe looking into the gardens. You can imagine being on a finch somewhere, rather than in a town. Breakfast is served in the same area, and was very good.

We should have scheduled more time for Barichara and Achiotte into our travel plans. Our stay was too short (just 1 night). We will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtbsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel is very beatiful and the rooms are great. The service was outstanding.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amolina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We spent a fabulous night with our two kids(10,12). The room was absolutely awesome, clean, with a sky view bathroom including a nice jacuzzi. The owner had a very special treatment with us and specially our kids. The entire place is like a Paradise. Thanks Mauricio for that delicious breakfast you made for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hpinzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

we are a middle age couple, who travelles a lot in the world and columbia.
Achiotte is a really great hidden paradise in barichara, which invites you to stay longer than planned. we had 6 great nights in a wonderful great room with fantastic view to the landscape.
the owner, maurico, has the feeling to be a great host. he knows the things you need before you self know what you want ;-).
we had every evening a great 3 plate dinner in a silent, relaxt and romantic atmosphaere for a fair price.
the farewell of this place and maurico was very "triste".

thanks mauricio for this great time!
Guenther + Claudia

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#3 of 12 in Barichara
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#2 of 12 in Barichara
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
#5 of 12 in Barichara
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portal de Barichara
Hotel Portal de Barichara
#7 of 12 in Barichara
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achiotte Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achiotte Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle 5 No 3-52 | Steps Down, Church of San Antonio, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achiotte Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achiotte Boutique Hotel is a place of rest and tranquility. Where our customers enjoy excellent service and comfortable facilities, where breathe peace and in contact with nature. We are 2 blocks from the main park in the quietest area of ​​Barichara and have a spectacular view of the mountains. We wait to discover the most beautiful village of Colombia. Mauricio Ospina Villegas Owner and Sales Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Achiotte Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing