We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find in the middle of Barichara”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A great little hotel in the middle of Barichara - really friendly owner who speaks good English and is one of the best hosts we have ever come across - so helpful & friendly and cannot do enough for you. We were on our honeymoon in November 2012 (travelling around Colombia - including 3 nights in Barichara), and we we stayed in Suite 2 which was beautiful. The breakfasts were also good - homemade cheese, homemade jam, and even home grown coffee - amazing! Barichara is a small town - the Achiotte is about a 2 minute walk from the central square, and very peaceful too. Barichara was somewhere I was struggling with, regarding hotels, as nothing looked that appealing, but I am so glad we found Achiotte Boutique Hotel!
thankyou!
Rachel and James Whittaker

Room Tip: Suite 2 was great - nice spacious room, and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelinNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest .. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2012

I was a bit put off when the person who greeted us (Mauricio had to go to Bogota for the weekend) wasn't expecting us to arrive until the next day. Fortunately this didn't seem to be much of a problem and our room was ready quickly.

I loved the open shower/bathroom (room #4). I could see birds and the sun shining through the leaves while showering, but unfortunately it meant I got bit by mosquitoes a few times and they easily entered the room. I was expecting mosquitoes and had my repellent, but you can't always be 100 percent covered (got bit on my eyelid while sleeping at night). The hotel would be perfect if there were mosquito nets over the beds.

In the morning they put out fruit for the birds making for good photo opportunities, quite a few species come around. The man who takes care of the dogs also knows a lot about the local birds, he would be a good source of information for bird watchers. The hotel is such a great place to relax anytime of day, but especially at night. The lights create such a beautiful environment in the courtyard, the furnishings and hammocks have a simple elegance, and Dali the cat will lounge around with you. Definitely a great escape in the most beautiful town in Colombia!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Hotel Boutique is somewhat of a misnomer. It is not a hotel; it is a B&B. Hotels have someone in reception all the time; at this B&B it is only on occasion that management is around.

When I checked in originally, they wanted to give me a room right by the entrance which I thought would be noisy so I asked for another room and the staff member went to talk to Gloria and Gloria said that I could stay in another room further inside. Although she did say that it was for more than one person as there were two beds in that room but since I didn't want to stay by the entrance, she would let me stay there. Unfortunately in that room there were mosquitoes so I asked the staff member if I could switch to the room next door which didn't have mosquitoes but she said it was for several people as there was one queen size bed and then a bunk bed. Perhaps I could have insisted on talking to Gloria but I didn't push the issue and the staff member told me that I could plug in the mosquito deterrent to help out with the mosquitoes. While putting my suitcase in the room, there were so many mosquitoes at least five that I was bitten a few times in the few minutes I was there. I wanted to go out but when trying to lock the door, my key got stuck in the door so I couldn't close the door but the staff member told me she would be able to get the key out. However, when I returned four hours later or so, the door to my room was still open and the key was still stuck. At that time, another staff member was there and she was able to help me get the key out. I didn't feel that great that my door had been open for hours but I suppose it was ok because at the time, there were no other guests (the only other guests, a couple, arrived in the evening). When checking in, I asked about a laundromat and was told they could do my laundry and I had asked how much it would be and they said about 12,000 pesos and they would do it inhouse. Around 6PM, I asked about my laundry because when I made my reservation I had only booked one night and although when checking in I asked if they had availability if I wanted to stay additional nights and they told me yes, but upon thinking about all the mosquitoes I decided it was best to only stay one night. The other staff member wasn't sure where my clothes were and said Gloria would be back later and she could help me. An hour or so later, they found my clothes but they hadn't hung them up at all; I think the other employee had not only forgotten about my stuck key but also about my clothes. Also I found out that I had to pay 15,000 instead of the 12,000 which was the original quote and I feel it was a little unfair because my clothes were returned wet to me so I don't think they should have increased the amount. (The reason I wanted my clothes was because I was going to take an early bus to Bucaramanga so it would be too early to get them in the morning.)

All and all I got over fifteen mosquito bites from staying at this B&B. So if you tend to get bitten a lot, I don't recommend you stay in the garden rooms. Besides the one room by the entrance and the two rooms in the garden, there are three suites. I spoke to the couple staying in one of the suites and they said they didn't have mosquitoes in their room, so if you can afford the suites, I recommend them instead. Personally though I would stay elsewhere because breakfast is in the patio and there are mosquitoes there as well so it is almost impossible to avoid being bitten and one can't wear repellent at night and I got several bites at night despite wearing long pants and long sleeve shirts at night. Also in my garden room, around 6 PM, I saw two six inch bugs in the shower area. I suppose since it's a garden, there will be some bugs in some garden rooms and that's another unfortunate drawback.

The hotel has six rooms and if they are fully booked, and you are a single person or couple you may have to stay in the room by the entrance because the other two regular rooms are for people traveling with friends or families.

The positive points are the very nice showers and soap.

Although the people are nice, and the shower is nice, I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you tend to get bitten by mosquitoes or you don't like bugs. I walked around town and other hotels didn't have huge gardens so they were no mosquitoes there.

Room Tip: There are many mosquitoes in the rooms. I don't recommend it if you are the type of person who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sigulda158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.
Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen to break .. We have solved the problem of mosquitoes, thanks for your opinion, was invaluable. The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.


Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The booking process: I wrote to four hotels in Barichara to make a reservation. Only the Achiotte hotel replied to me in a timely manner.

The location: Great location. There are hotels just outside Barichara, but I recommend staying in the town.

Hotel and rooms and garden: Enchanting, tasteful, peaceful, and generously proportioned.

Breakfast: Exquisite: Homemade guava jam, milk for the coffee from the owner's farm, juice and fruit from the garden.

Best of all: Mauricio and Gloria who took such good care of us: suggesting what to see and where to eat and arranging an English-speaking guide for the walk to Guane. Hotel and rooms and garden: Enchanting, tasteful, peaceful, and generously proportioned.

Breakfast: Exquisite: Homemade guava jam, milk for the coffee from the owner's farm, juice and fruit from the garden.

Best of all: Mauricio and Gloria who took such good care of us: suggesting what to see and where to eat and arranging an English-speaking guide for the walk to Guane.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My wife and I had a very relaxing stay at the Achiotte Hotel. There are hammocks and chairs all around the leafy garden so that you can disconnect from the rest of the world. Apparently, they will be constructing a swimming pool in the near future which will be a nice addition.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "standard superior" room which offered a great view. The highlight was th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My husband and I recently went to Barichara for a long weekend and couldn't have been happier with our stay. Like the village, the hotel is wonderful - very simple and rustic yet absolutely beautiful and perfect for a relaxing stay. Our room, one of the suites, opened out onto a large veranda/balcony with lovely views and hammocks to relax in. The courtyard is beautifully maintained, boasting plants like 'achiotte' and various bird species. The service was great and very personalized. From the initial reservation to the meal times, everything was handled with great care and attention to detail. The food was delicious, not just the home-made jams (mora, uchuva and guava) served for breakfast, but also dinner, which needs to be ordered in advance but is well worth inquiring about. The hotel only has six rooms, I believe, so it felt much like our own private getaway. We felt very spoilt and look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The suites are excellent, overlooking the hotel courtyard and village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The hotel is lovely & in a great location. The only negative we had with the hotel is the room that we stayed in was right next to the front door/road, so was a little noisy & had no private outdoor sitting area/balcony/verandah. Other than the hotel was wonderful, the rooms very spacious & the open air bathroom was great. Breakfast was very good - would recommend if you are travelling in the low season/weekdays to have dinner at the hotel as well - a lot of restaurants were closed when we were there in March - even on Friday & Saturday night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MayteSara, Propietario at Achiotte Hotel Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2015
Google Translation

Gracias por su Excelente comentario, estamos encantados de haberlos tenido con nosotros y que nos hayan elegido para su descanso.. Los esperamos siempre en esta su Casa en Barichara.
Un cordial saludo.

Thank you for your excellent comments, we are delighted to have had them with us and we have chosen for rest ... The ever hope this your House in Barichara.
Warm regards.

Mauricio Ospina Villegas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#3 of 12 in Barichara
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#2 of 12 in Barichara
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
#5 of 12 in Barichara
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#11 of 12 in Barichara
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portal de Barichara
Hotel Portal de Barichara
#7 of 12 in Barichara
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Achiotte Hotel Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achiotte Hotel Boutique

Address: Calle 5 No 3-52 | Steps Down, Church of San Antonio, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barichara
Price Range: £36 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Achiotte Hotel Boutique 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Achiotte Boutique Hotel is a place of rest and tranquility. Where our customers enjoy excellent service and comfortable facilities, where breathe peace and in contact with nature. We are 2 blocks from the main park in the quietest area of ​​Barichara and have a spectacular view of the mountains. We wait to discover the most beautiful village of Colombia. Mauricio Ospina Villegas Owner and Sales Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Achiotte Hotel Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing