We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and friendly”
Review of La nube posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La nube posada
Ranked #4 of 41 Barichara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed one night in this very elegant hotel. Everything is in the right placed, lovely yard, small marvelous garden. Breakfast was very good. We had also dinner, the food was tasteful but a bit expensive. If we visit Barichara again, we would stay there again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DimitrisKouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for La nube posada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Spent two nights here, in the small and lovely town of Barichara, while touring northeast from Bogota to Bucaramanga, Colombia. La Nube was delightful; you walk in off the street into a spartan but serene courtyard with a small water feature. Staff were helpful and attentive. Breakfasts in open air adjacent to small garden were excellent and hearty, they feed the birds in the morning and watching their antics added interest. We did not eat dinner in the Nube but regret that, as it is reported to be among the better restaurants in the town.

We did not experience any of the negatives mentioned in other recent reviews (e.g. lack of hot water, or room door being left open all day). Maybe prior reviews brought attention. Laundry service was excellent , which was welcomed. Only negative is that I forgot to pack earplugs (pretty much a must in Colombia!) and on our second night there was the tres reyes (three kings day) celebration. Fireworks in the street until the wee hours. That aside, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Just need to decide if you want courtyard or street. I chose latter though you have to expect some...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RegelC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

All in all, we found the experience to stay a weekend in La Nube rather disappointing. The rooms are very small and the interior is rather basic. During our stay, we had repeatedly no warm water in the shower. The rooms are usually kept open during the day; the cleaning lady reordered our stuff, putting it in the bag and closing it, thus creating a complete chaos inside. The service was extremely slow and unreliable, although the quality of the food was satisfactory. However, there is not much you can do in the hotel itself during the day. Based on the hotel website we assumed that the hotel has a swimming pool. When asking about it, we were informed that it is open only in combination with an appointment for a treatment in their spa - a 20 minutes walk from the hotel -, and the pool could only be used during the time of the appointment. While my wife and I chose a massage, our 9-year-old daughter and her grandmother used the rather small swimming pool - we were later charged about 30 USD for this. All in all, we thought that for this kind of rather expensive hotel, the quality the place offered was far from satisfactory.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

I stayed here last year on a short side trip from a longer business trip and was amazed by the beauty and serenity of the hotel and the surroundment. You really feel part of the community whilst staying there and it's a perfect starting location for other short trips in the region.

The rooms are very authentic and comfortable and the staff (including the director and her daughter who were wonderful throughout our stay!) very helpfull. The food was great, including the great choices in quality wines.

Highly recommended for both adventurers & romantic couples!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moraal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2011

The setting, layout and atmosphere of this place is great (and the birds that come to feed at breakfast are worth the stay alone), but some of the 'small print' unfortunately lets the hotel down. These include:
1. For the duration of our stay the water in the shower was never more than warm.
2. The hotel is branded as a 'spa' and has a very small pool. However, there was no water in the pool, apparently because it was cracked, and also no attempt whilst we were there to fix it. If you're going to be a 'spa' you can't not have a working pool just because it is low season.
3. The hotel (and some guidebooks) praise the quality of the food, but we found it average. For example, the most expensive dish - roast goat leg - was as tough as leather.
4. The service was very attentive (usually), but at times it felt fake, awkward and irritating. They haven't quite got this right.
5. The hotel manager has a ridiculous policy of insisting that all the doors of the hotel (which face the central courtyard) are open all day. This means that the maids are forever tidying your room and putting all your things away into cupboards in order to keep the view pleasing to all eyes. This is both annoying and leaves you feeling like naughty school children if you dare leave a mess!
6. The hotel has music playing all day, albeit supposedly classy music. This is annoying if you don't happen to like to artist or fancy a daytime snooze.

In short, it is a beautiful hotel and compared to European prices is great value. However, in terms of Colombian pesos it is high end and thus should focus more on some of the details - these points might sound pedantic but expensive hotels have a duty to get it right. I basically got the impression that poor management was the biggest issue.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank turkey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanubeposada, Gerente at La nube posada, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Thank you very much for your kind commentaries
The hotel spa isn´t in the place where you stayed, is actually at five blocks away in a different house that you didn’t visit.
The doors can´t never be open when the rooms are occupied, the ones that are without guests should be open all day.
One of our policies that are very clear is that we don’t allow clothes hanging up from the doors or windows of the rooms, in that way taking care of the design that you also appreciated and offering to the costumer dry their clothes in the right place under the sun.
Giving attention to another policy of the hotel, in the afternoon we elaborate the coverage, to order the room and put a candle and a flower to put more attention to the guests and making feel them really attended.
Again, thank you very much for your visit and we apologize for all the discomforts that you suffered in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Paradise on earth ¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡
A lovely town and a fantastic boutique hotel with beautiful and natural decoration, a lovely garden with hammocks and places to relax, extremely helpful staff and the lady who is director of the hotel was always available. Good guidance in all the fantastic walks to do in Barichara and around.
A place not to be missed, no wonder why it was the favorite for the authors of lovely Planet

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaCris-Colombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabiana1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#3 of 12 in Barichara
109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
Achiotte Hotel Boutique
#1 of 12 in Barichara
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
#5 of 12 in Barichara
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Portal de Barichara
Hotel Portal de Barichara
#7 of 12 in Barichara
18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#2 of 12 in Barichara
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La nube posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La nube posada

Address: Calle 7 7 -39, Barichara 684041, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Barichara
Price Range: £68 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La nube posada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can always get into space where artfully combines historical architecture of the area with the minimalist movement, where the walls smooth, perforated by double doors open, control the passage of light, creating within them a conducive atmosphere that the silence and meditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La nube posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing