We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty & picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tinto Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tinto Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pretty & picturesque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

My mum came to visit me in Colombia and we took a mid-week trip to Barichara which had been on my visit list for ages. We stayed in the nicest room at Tinto Hostel, the Mango Room which is on the left of the front entrance, is a huge room with fan, TV and open roofed bathroom with a mango tree growing in the middle. We loved our room and the little details of wooden door locks were lovely. Having a steaming hot shower under the mango tree and the clear night was heaven.

On arrival, Javier gave us a very useful map of the town and told us all the things to see and do. He also had a list printed in English and Spanish of typical food, recommended restaurants (which was helpful as the Lonely Planet's description of Barichara as a foodie's paradise was off-base as restaurant opening times were erratic and the specialty in all the places we visited was a pretty bland ravioli). Spanish is definitely a help here.

Tinto hostel is located on a steep part of the hill so inside there is a fairly steep path up to the main part of the hostel which could be an issue if you have difficulty climbing stairs.

While we didn't really use the hostel facilities, there are two communal kitchens (there were plates of green mangoes and mandarins to share), wifi and also computers, a balcony with great views and hammocks. Renovations were going on when we visited (early May) but that didn't affect our wonderful 2 night stay here.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The Mango room is the deluxe room at Tinto Hostel and worth upping your daily budget for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alittlecameo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    29
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
51
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We didn't actually stay here but the very welcoming friendly owner invited us in and let us watch the champions league final, fed us ants and offered us sweets. Wish we could have stayed here because inside it had beautiful gardens, rooms and views. Thanks for great hospitality.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eliza92677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We loved this place a lot. Huge private room, with open air bathroom that had a huge mango tree in the middle. Probably the best hostel we stayed at. We ad a kitchen almost just to ourselves, as there were two and this was right next to our room. Plenty of information, beautiful views and also very nice garden.

Very well run place, not sure how the owner does it as it seemed he does everything on his own. Well done!

Room Tip: the one right next to the gate on left
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuditAngeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay. I enjoyed my 4 nights here and Javier was a perfect host and extremely helpful in every way. Great location. My private room was clean, spacious and quiet. Not a thing i would suggest to improve this wonderful hostal. Oh, and for the record, there were no mosquitoes when i was there...

Room Tip: I took the large private room with the Mango Tree (yes) in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieInIthaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We love that hostel with its rustically architecture. We had the privet room just next to the entrence. That privet room is quite big and has its own bathroom. Be aware of the mosquitos. There are a lot of them there. We had a lot of bites, despite the net over our bed.
And watch out for semana santa (ester time). The hostel is completely booked during semana santa. And because we were close to te entrence ist was quite noising buy all the people and cars getting in and out. I am sure it is quite quieter outside semana santa. Anyway, semana santa means also that the whole town of Barichara is completely full of local people and its cars. I strongly recommend foreign travelers not going to Barichara on semana santa. But the hostel is great, i can recommend it to everyone she like to stay in hostels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Tinto Hostel is is jewel; Barichara is already a beautiful and relaxing town and Tinto makes it even better. You feel like you are in a resort. The hostel's landscaping is superb, there are corners were you can relax, awesome views and it is fully equipped with all the amenities you can expect from top lodging. Javier and staff are extremely friendly and helpful. This is one of the best hostels in the World. I have traveled all over Europe, the Americas. and Asia and nothing matches TINTO.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

My friend and I stayed in a private room with a private bath. Beautiful, funky/classic decor and the bathroom was truly unique - semi-open air, with a tree growing in the middle. Loved it. Javier was very nice and helpful and the hammocks were great to relax in. Only real downside was the number of mosquitos. Javier provided a plug-in repellant for us, but it didn't do to much, and the room really needed a mosquito net. Also - this is nit-picky, but the sheet on the bed was really small! Unless you sleep entwined in each other's arms you will probably fight over it!

However, given the high price of rooms in Barichara, it was worth it. Our room felt like a fancy boutique hotel, while we also had the friendly, easy-going atmosphere of a hostel. Buy your own plug-in, bring some repellant, and try not to fight over the sheet... and you will have a great time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank worthyquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barichara hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
Casa Oniri Hotel Boutique
#3 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Loma Hotel Barichara
La Loma Hotel Barichara
#2 of 12 in Barichara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
Hotel Mision Santa Barbara
#5 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Santos de Piedra
Hotel Santos de Piedra
#10 of 12 in Barichara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa de Hercilia
La Casa de Hercilia
#4 of 12 in Barichara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Boutique Spa Terra Barichara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinto Hostel

Property: Tinto Hostel
Address: Carrera 4 N. 5-39 | Calle Honda, Barichara, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Santander Department > Barichara
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Barichara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tinto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing