We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Moulin des Templiers
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pontaubert
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The hotel is located in a complex that used to house a water mill. It has been transformed with a lot of taste and is situated next to the river Cousin. You can have dinner (the usual menu / "formule"), which we did not take. It is a pity that it was raining when we were there, because it would have been nice to sit outside next to the river. The night was very quiet. The only con is that the room was quite small. The staff was also extremely friendly and helpful. When we told them where we were heading, they gave us tips about what to do where.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    104
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
25
168
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaune, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I just love this place and its owners, a beautiful, warm family, totally dedicated to giving the best experience to their guests. Peace, harmony, beauty of the site, and always feeling welcomed.. what more can you ask for? I keep returning there, and it feels as if this has become my second home, as simple as that. Impeccable, very clean and charming rooms, beautifully decorated with pictures of nature around, beautiful food made with love and local products by Michel and Emilie, local knowledge of all possible activities you can imagine, both cultural and historical, wine and food tasting, sports, walking, swimming, riding horses, or just resting in a magical environment.... The owners, parents, children and grand-child are all ears and eyes open listening and offering the best service I know of. Human warmth, dedication, comfort, pure joy of being there. Envoy a dinner by the river Cousin, a breakfast in the mill, UNIQUE!!! There is a true feeling of freedom there. The location is exceptional, a few steps to mythic Vézelay, the Valley of magical river Cousin, the beauty of nature, a wine region living its renaissance, a warm welcome, a quiet stay if you want, or an active one, being just near the Morvan mountains, lakes and numerous possibilities to exercise. And so much more! Unforgettable! I am French, writing in English :-) To let you know that this is the place to "recharge your batteries" and enjoy Life, just as it is...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a wonderful 5 days vacation in this highly spiritual spot!! Very beautyful surrondings, cosy rooms, Nice and clean, delicous Food! Very helpful and lovely hosts. We will be back for sure! :) Liv Wassum, Norway

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liv07072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A beautiful, cozy room, in an inn right by a creek, horses right across the lane. Our room upstairs was gracefully decorated and there was a tub in the bathroom. Gracious hosts and the best dinner of our life in a farmhouse room, right by the fireplace. Chef Michel prepared a sumptuous meal..fish buttered with caper sauce...ending with a creamy panna cotta with fresh, plump raspberries. Sitting on the banks of the Cousin in the evening, watching a family of ducks play....we felt like we were in a heavenly, peaceful location. Wished we had more time for hiking in the area, as we only had one night there.

Room Tip: We loved our room upstairs at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been staying here for more than thirty years. So I know not to expect huge rooms, televisions, ipod players and coffee machines. But I do expect, and always receive a friendly welcome, a pleasant dinner and a relaxed breakfast, often on the bank of the River Cousin.

And, really, it's all about the location. A rushing stream, an arcade of greenery, trout and salmon splashing in the water and constant birdsong, it truly is an oasis of tranquility. I hope to return on many more occasions.

If you have the time, don't miss atmospheric Vezelay and its luminous Basilica fifteen minutes up the hil or the cobbled streets of the old part of nearby Avallon, its ramparts plunging to the Cousin valley below. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Top floor, superior rooms, at €5 more, are well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roberty87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The inn is located in a very nice area by the river " le cousin". The rooms are small, there is no place to arrage the suitcases, but they are very clean. The dinner is nothing special, but anyway you get what you pay. In the mill there is no place to sit except of the restaurant area, and the lady that served us, and seemed to be the innkeeper, told us upon our arrival, that we could use the restaurant area during the time we were in the hotel.Unfortunately the second night, we found out, that the restaurant was locked. The day after we asked her why we couldn' t get iside the restaurant and she told us, in a very bad way that we are not permited to stay because we don' t eat there every day!!!! She locked the door at 9 pm and didn't allow us to use the restaurant area after dinner time because we dinned elsewhere, Our car run out of battery and we asked her if she knows a place to fix it and she only gave us a name : waldon in Avallon. She refused to give any further information, adress or telephone number. The rooms were very cold the first 2 days, and it took us to long to convince her to check the radiator. Then we found out that they didn't heat the rooms because they were waiting to heat them when the Inn was full. This happened the third day of our stay that was Easter time!!!' I don't know if she is the owner, or her father who seemed to be very gentle, but this young lady had very rude, with bad maners, and was not intersted at all for 9 people who spend in her inn 7 nights!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chvAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moulin-des-templiers, Gérant at Le Moulin des Templiers, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Bonjour, nous sommes désolé que notre séjour ne fut pas aussi agréable que nous l'espérions. Pourtant nous avons tout mis en oeuvre pour qu'il le soit : Itinéraires sur mesure tout le long de votre séjour, photocopies de cartes de randonnées, bar sur la terrasse à toute heure de la journée.
Le soir, en effet nous fermons le restaurant après la table d’hôtes (nous nous levons a 6h pour les petits déjeuners le lendemain). Vous ne souhaitiez pas manger chez nous, mais nous vous avons laissé à disposition la salle de restaurant une soirée, vous étant servis dans le frigidaire des boissons sans nous avertir le lendemain,(c'est la première fois en 3 ans que cela se produit). Nous n'avons plus réitéré cette expérience. De plus, nous avons eu des plaintes d'autres clients toute la semaine du a vos nuisances sonores en pleine nuit. Nous nous avons donc conseiller d'aller dans un bar pour boire jusqu’à 3h du matin si vous souhaitez.... Lieu plus approprié pour cela qu'une table d’hôtes familiale. Je ne parle pas des dégradations dans les chambres (serviettes qui sert a nettoyer les chaussures, propreté des sanitaires...) Nous n'avons pas apprécié votre comportement irrespectueux que ce soit du personnel, des clients et du lieu.

Hello, we are sorry that our stay was not as pleasant as we had hoped. However, we have made ​​every effort to make it so : Custom Itineraries throughout your stay , photocopies of hiking maps , terrace bar at any time of the day.
In the evening , in fact we close the restaurant after the host table ( we get up at 6am for breakfast the next day) . You don't want to eat at restaurant, but we let you provision the restaurant one evening, you being served drinks in the fridge without notifying us the next day ( this is the first time in 3 years that this happens ) . We have not repeated the experience. In addition, we have had complaints from other guests all week to your noise at night. So we have advise to go to a bar to drink until 3am if you want .... more appropriate location for this one family dinner table. I 'm not talking about damage in the rooms ( towels used to clean shoes, clean bathroom ... ) We do not appreciate your disrespectful behavior whether staff , customers and place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a room on the first floor of the hotel: the cheapest rooms they offer are on this floor. Our room was extremely small (the only place where we could open our small suitcases was on the bed), with a low ceiling and a small window. The bathroom was also small, with some kind of bath tub (but too small to stretch your legs) with a shower hose without a possibiity to attach it to the wall. The waste pipes of the floors above you seem to go through the walls of your room: you hear the water swashing down as soon as your upstairs neighbour flushes his toilet. The room was one of the cheapest rooms we could find in this area, but still rather high for what you get, therefore we give it only two "dots". If the upstairs rooms are nicer than ours, it might be worth paying the extra euros. Positive points: The room was clean, the bed ok and the employees friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haatje H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontaubert
0.6 mi away
Moulin des Ruats
Moulin des Ruats
#2 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
#1 of 1 in Vault-de-Lugny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Logis Les Fleurs
Logis Les Fleurs
#2 of 3 in Pontaubert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Dak'Hotel
Dak'Hotel
#1 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hotel de la Poste et du Lion d'Or
4.7 mi away
Le Relais Fleuri
Le Relais Fleuri
#3 of 6 in Avallon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Moulin des Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Moulin des Templiers

Property: Le Moulin des Templiers
Address: 10 route de Cousin, 89200 Pontaubert, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Pontaubert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pontaubert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Moulin des Templiers 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Riverside of the river Cousin, the ancient mill of the 12th century is situated in the régional park of Morvan. A terrace full of blossomed flowers awaits you at the edge of the river. The comfortable rooms of Moulin des Templiers have all private bathrooms are totally renoved on 2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Moulin des Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Moulin Des Templiers vézelay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing