We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Kookas, loved Cairns”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I spent four days of our month in Australia at Kookas, and it was perfect. The room and service was everything we could expect, with a pool for a pre-breakfast swim. We snorkelled on the Great Barrier Reef and did the magnificent railway trip to Kuranda and the Skyrail down to Caravonica, all organised by our wonderful hosts Marlies and Bruno. Public transport is reliable and cheap. The walk to Edge Hill township for a meal is very pleasant. If you want to walk to town via the Botanical Gardens, as we did, the Tobruk public swimming pool is on the way. If you like beer, have a schooner (or two) at the Grand Hotel and you might catch happy hour as we did, and get live music too.

Room Tip: The King rooms with a balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Paul K,
Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Kookas B&B and loved Cairns and its surroundings. We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards,
Marlies & Bruno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

While my wife and I stayed at beautiful Kookas, the charming, very polite Swiss host Marlies helped us in a perfect way to find out, recommend and book the activities, that we were interested in: Great barrier reef diving tour, great barrier reef flight, antique train to Kuranda. As we had a rental car, the remote, quiet place outside of Cairns city, was no problem for us. We could park our car just in front of our appartment. Returning the car at the airport was easy, as we did not have to pass the heavy morning traffic of the city. The appartement, overlooking the green valley downwards to Cairns, was neat, quiet and clean. The pool was clean and refreshing. We liked to stay with Kookas and Marlies very much.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Sascha. Thank you very much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a lovely time at Kookas B&B and enjoyed visiting all the beautiful places around Cairns. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns. Kind regards. Marlies & crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Kookas is not actually in Cairns, but in Edge Hill, a satelite town very close to Cairns. Since it is not frequented by many tourists, it does not have as many restaurants and other facilities as Cairns. Kookas is on the edge of the town, if you want to grab something to eat you have to walk for about 15 minutes.
The room is nice and clean, though small. I feel the price is a bit too high, $95 per night for a single room, so far out, is too much in my view.
The owners were not at home, Sylvia, Marlies' sister took care of me. She was very polite and attentive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear ZsoltB. Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor. Edge Hill is a quiet suburb of Cairns and our B&B is within walking distance to the Botanical Garden as well as to some very nice restaurants and coffee shops. Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We really had a good stay at Kookas. Silvia took extremely good care of us and helped us out with the booking, directions etc. the place has a swimming pool too!

Location: The location is 10-15 mins from the airport on Edge Hill (cab fare is about AUD 25). its not walking distance from the city so renting a car is suggested otherwise you will end up paying the cab fares! the place has parking facility.

Rooms:

we had booked the king bedroom. it was a beautiful room overlooking the valley. all basic amenities were provided including kettle, milk, water etc. the rooms were extremely clean too!

Silvia also helped us book the barrier reef tour including to and fro transfers. Overall a very nice experience staying at this place and completely worth it!

thanks Silvia :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gean2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear gean2011. Thank you for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a delightful stay at Kookas B&B and that you appreciated our services. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns. Kind regards. Marlies & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

This was our startingpoint of our Australian journey. We couldn't wish a better start than at this B&B. The hostess helps a lot to explore tbe surroundings and we received good tips/information. We really recommand this B&B. The rooms were perfect, the breakfast even better and the view was terrific. There was even a pool to relax. It is close to the airport and close to Cairns city.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Arthur F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Arthur F. Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a delightful start of your holiday at Kookas B&B and enjoyed visiting all the beautiful places around Cairns. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Marlies & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

A lovely home, as a business traveller I understand the importance of a good nights sleep away from the road noise. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend kookas to any business traveller. Kookas is on a hill overlooking vast bush surrounds, breakfast is well presented assortment of fresh tropical fruit, museli, toast and freshly brewed coffee. a good start to the day. the accommodation is clean and comfortable. Very welcoming and professional

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Tiena P. Thank you very much for your recent feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Kookas B&B and recommend our place to other business travellers. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next business trip to Cairns. Kind regards, Marlies & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Kooka's very much. Silvia cared for us in a very personal way and helped to organize a wonderful snorkeling tour to the great barrrier reef. On return we could enjoy the nice swimming pool in this excellent area with the view to the rainforest where the kookaburra visited us. We enjoyed the breakfast with fresh exotic fruits with the nice view from the deck

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear Lucia B. Thank you very much for your excellent feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you spent a wonderful time at Kookas B&B and enjoyed our surroundings and service. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Cairns. Kind regards, Marlies & Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Address: 40 Hutchinson St | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: £72 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing