We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely chalet in cairn's forest. We really enjoyed our stay in this bed and breakfast. Marlie and Bruno are very welcoming! Rooms are spacious and clean. And the breakfast is just amazing! We'll come back for sure!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank koikoille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Customer from Casablanca,
Thank you for your great feedback on tripadvisor. We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Kookas B&B and loved our tropical breakfast. We look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Cairns.
Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
144
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
164 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We have stayed in Kookas BnB for 3 days and loved it very much. The room was very spacious and clean, including everything we needed.
The breakfast which Marlies prepared every day with the tropical fruits, was outstanding
We highly recommend this BnB as well as Cairns which is a fantastic city with lot's of things to do... We had a great holiday here

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flexair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear customer "Flexair"
Thank you so much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and your lovely lady and we are glad you enjoyed Cairns and its surroundings.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards,
Marlies & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We arrived on a flight from Syndey and after a 15-20 minute taxi journey we arrived at Kookas which is set on the hillside (Edgehill area) over looking Cairns. 1st impressions were very positive (especially as I had missed the fact that there was a swimming pool when I booked!!!), the house is set in quiet location with fantastic views from the large balcony looking out over the Cairns area.

We were met by Bruno and Marlies who showed us around and took us to our room. The room was clean, tidy and more than suited our needs.

It was our first visit to the area, so Marlies was more than happy to give us lots of advise on places to see and visit during our stay. She drove us down to edgehill and left us to have our first evening meal. Whilst we were out Marlies helped out further by booking us onto a couple the local tours for the following few days, most of which had pre-arranged pick ups from outside of the Kookas B&B (We went on the KSR Railway up to Kuranda, a day trip onto the Barrier Reef and finally the South Tablelands and Paronella Park - all great days out)

Breakfast was served on the balcony which made for both a great start to the day (fantasic morning views) and also quite and education as it was the first time I has tried or even heard of some of the fresh local fruits!

Finally when we left Bruno was kind enough to take us back down to Cairns airport

Thankyou both for a pleasent stay and if we come back to the Cairns region we will certainly look at staying with you again

All the best

Gary and Ness

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Gary and Ness. Thank you very much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a lovely time at Kookas B&B and enjoyed visiting all the beautiful places around Cairns. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns. Kind regards. Marlies & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at Kookas in early March 2014. The apartment was spotless, roomy and well furnished. Marlies and Bruno were welcoming and friendly and extremely helpful hosts. Enjoyed the facility of the swimming pool. The breakfast was the best we had had in Australia(at the end of a 6 week trip). Edgehill is on the right side of Cairns for the airport, Kuranda railway and the Botanics, as well as having a choice of restaurants(particularly the pizza place).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Tony S,
Thank you so much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you and your lovely wife had an enjoyable stay at Kookas B&B and loved Edge Hill, its Restaurants and the Botanical Garden.
We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards,
Marlies & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My wife and I spent four days of our month in Australia at Kookas, and it was perfect. The room and service was everything we could expect, with a pool for a pre-breakfast swim. We snorkelled on the Great Barrier Reef and did the magnificent railway trip to Kuranda and the Skyrail down to Caravonica, all organised by our wonderful hosts Marlies and Bruno. Public transport is reliable and cheap. The walk to Edge Hill township for a meal is very pleasant. If you want to walk to town via the Botanical Gardens, as we did, the Tobruk public swimming pool is on the way. If you like beer, have a schooner (or two) at the Grand Hotel and you might catch happy hour as we did, and get live music too.

Room Tip: The King rooms with a balcony are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookas-55, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Paul K,
Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Kookas B&B and loved Cairns and its surroundings. We look forward to welcome you again on your next trip to Cairns.
Kind regards,
Marlies & Bruno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ismaning, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

While my wife and I stayed at beautiful Kookas, the charming, very polite Swiss host Marlies helped us in a perfect way to find out, recommend and book the activities, that we were interested in: Great barrier reef diving tour, great barrier reef flight, antique train to Kuranda. As we had a rental car, the remote, quiet place outside of Cairns city, was no problem for us. We could park our car just in front of our appartment. Returning the car at the airport was easy, as we did not have to pass the heavy morning traffic of the city. The appartement, overlooking the green valley downwards to Cairns, was neat, quiet and clean. The pool was clean and refreshing. We liked to stay with Kookas and Marlies very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Sascha. Thank you very much for your great feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a lovely time at Kookas B&B and enjoyed visiting all the beautiful places around Cairns. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Cairns. Kind regards. Marlies & crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Kookas is not actually in Cairns, but in Edge Hill, a satelite town very close to Cairns. Since it is not frequented by many tourists, it does not have as many restaurants and other facilities as Cairns. Kookas is on the edge of the town, if you want to grab something to eat you have to walk for about 15 minutes.
The room is nice and clean, though small. I feel the price is a bit too high, $95 per night for a single room, so far out, is too much in my view.
The owners were not at home, Sylvia, Marlies' sister took care of me. She was very polite and attentive.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsolt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kookasbnb, Owner at Kookas Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear ZsoltB. Thank you for your recent feedback on TripAdvisor. Edge Hill is a quiet suburb of Cairns and our B&B is within walking distance to the Botanical Garden as well as to some very nice restaurants and coffee shops. Kind regards, Marlies & Bruno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edge Hill
2.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
2.7 mi away
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
Cairns Sheridan Hotel
#20 of 64 in Cairns
333 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
3.5 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kookas Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kookas Bed & Breakfast

Property: Kookas Bed & Breakfast
Address: 40 Hutchinson St | North Cairns, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kookas Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lush, cool surrounds of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast make this the perfect place to enjoy the warm climate of North Queensland. Nestled in tropical Rainforest of Far North Queensland on the foot of Mount Whitfield in Edge Hill it is the best spot for your relaxing holiday in Cairns.The superb architecture of Kooka's Bed & Breakfast makes the most of the property’s magnificent surrounds. An inviting, open deck leads you out from the lounge and towards the expansive views of the south. Discover the refreshing pool, the tropical garden, or simply do nothing at all – it’s all yours to enjoy.All rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated and screening ensures for comfort all year round. Each room features air conditioning, ceiling fans, smoke alarm and separate entry. As well as Coffee making facility, fridge, TV & DVD player.Kooka's Bed & Breakfast is located in Cairns, your gateway to the magnificent wonders of Tropical North Queensland; the Great Barrier Reef, World Heritage Rainforest and great Australian Outback. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kookas Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kookas Bed & Breakfast Cairns Region/Edge Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing