We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Japanese food in town”

Haruka Japanese Cuisine
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Edge Hill
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Lunch Tue-Sat 12:00-14:00Dinner Mon-Sat 18:00-22:00(Last order 21:00)
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A friend took me here because as she puts it "the best Japanese food in town". Well I beg to differ. Everything about the food is quite average if not less. We ordered Bento box each so we could sample variety of dishes. The tempura batter was uncooked, the green beans still raw, the Sushi rolls were so so, the noodle dish was tasteless and what's with chunky pieces of pork in Miso soup? The strong taste of pork meat ruined an otherwise subtle taste of miso soup. The atmosphere was also ruined by a screaming child and some loud-talking adults. I'm in no hurry to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank LaLiaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haruka_edgehill, Manager at Haruka Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you LaLiaLuna-san for your honest review.
Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our lunch box.
We will consider and improve what you pointed.
We are really appreciated your visit and honesty review.

Manager of Haruka Japanese Cuisine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

I have only dined for lunch a few times so far, but loved each meal that I ordered. Excellent portions, great taste, friendly service, and unbeatable value. Will definitely be back for more!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Stuklemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haruka3124, マネージャー at Haruka Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Thank you for your nice comment.
Please tell us your favorite Japanese food next time at HARUKA.
See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I dined on the Deluxe Lunch Set for $22. I had trouble fitting it all in, but managed to, because it all tasted so good. The service was friendly and timely. The décor and atmosphere were pleasant. The flavours of the various dishes that made up the Deluxe Lunch Set, were reminiscent of the small local restaurants I frequent, when in Japan. Genuine Japanese flavours. I look forward to dining at Haruka again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HowManyHotelsCanAMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haruka_edgehill, Manager at Haruka Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Thank you for dining and reviewing this awesome comments for us.
We all are just glad you have enjoyed our meal. Yes, the deluxe is a tasty huge pack, you may try our Obento Box next visit that variety of weekly special keep your taste buds entertained.
Looking forward to seeing you again @Haruka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The amount of food you get for your money here is the smallest at any Japanese restaurant we have ever eaten at. (7 pieces of salmon sashimi each smaller than a 50 cent piece for $13. Assorted tempura for $22 had 2 prawns, 2 small thin pieces of fish equal size to about a credit card, 3 green beans, 1 small broccoli floret + 2 other small bits of veggie).
The quality of the food was quite variable from some excellent salmon sashimi, to some on the same plate that were terrible. A "good luck" chicken teriyaki sushi roll had chicken that didn't taste properly cooked.
Service was quick, but the food came at all the wrong times. We had finished half of our mains before the rice appeared.
$99 (including a $25 bottle of wine) was not good value. There is another Japanese restaurant up the road which is hugely better value and has much better food.
The only attraction was that you get to sit out in a tarmac'd carpark!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara_Barnes1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haruka3124, マネージャー at Haruka Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for coming our restaurant.
We will strive so that a customer can be satisfied.
See you soon again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

The chef here authentic and the flavours are a result of that. Best Japanese food this side of Tokyo!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Builda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haruka3124, マネージャー at Haruka Japanese Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Thank you very much for the wonderful comment!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haruka Japanese Cuisine also viewed

Edge Hill, Cairns Region
Cairns, Cairns Region
 

Been to Haruka Japanese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing