We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edge Hill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Edge Hill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 May 2009

A wonderful B&B - highest recommendations. Really has everything that one would want in a B&B. Jessie, Julie, dog and kids are great. Lots of room to spread out (we are a couple, and thinking of bringing a mom next time). Downtown Cairns is not a great place to be if you are over 25, and it was no big deal for us to be away from the downtown scene. Staying in the tropical garden by the pool was the equivalent of staying in a resort - that said, busses to/from the city stop around 5PM, and it may be worth renting a car just to get around (Julie was great about dropping us off places, It was great to stay in a B&B where there was room to spread out. Don't expect a lot to do at night - beer and wine is in the refrig at a nominal fee, and thus a drink and a book is how you can expect to spend your evening. Although the Wifi was not working well when we were there, I understand that it is fixed, and that is a big advantage. It is a short walk to one nice restaurant, and pretty good pizza and very good Thai. However, restaurants are not all open 7 days a week, so ask re: food. Eating by the pool is a special treat. Great garden. Be aware of rainy season. Overall, Stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunnieowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2009

We were recommended to this wonderful B+B by friends but did not realise the exent of the welcome that we wqould receive from Julie and Jesse. It was like having our own flat with all the conveniences of a small kitchen, plenty of room, a great breakfast with fresh fruit every morning. We received plenty of advice on what to see and do and help in getting to places. Did we miss not being in the centre of Cairns - no.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iansoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

This is not a B&B, this is a home away from home. More specifically, you get your own 1- (or 2-bedroom) apartment. A very cute and elegantly furnished apartment with a small living room and dining room that is perfect for a romantic getaway or a family of up to 4. There’s a small pool in the backyard, and words can’t even say how cute this place is. When I walked in, I immediately fell in love with the place and felt at home. And I’ve traveled a lot and been to many hotels.

It doesn’t stop there. This B&B has many amenities and Julie and Jessie (the owners) will help you out if it doesn’t. It has sun block, beach towels, and bug spray.(Look under the sink). Really, a home away from home. All this to prepare you for your one-day tours, which they can book for you. If you do do a tour, definitely check out Billy Tea Daintree rainforest – that was really awesome tour recommended by Julie.

There are two things one should be aware before booking at this place.

1) Location: The B&B is located about a $12 taxi ride away from downtown Cairns. It is not in downtown Cairns, so if you don’t have a car, it can be a bit isolated. So budget in taking a taxi back if you do book certain tours. And do stick around downtown Cairns at night, they've got good massages in the night market!

2) Internet access: It was hard to get wireless here. Jesse and Julie were very gracious about letting me use their own computer, but it wasn’t as accessible as I’d like it to be.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2009

Dear Tripadvisor member,
Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you stay, hope the rest of your travels went well and that you are home safe and sound.

Just wanted to let you know that we have fixed the wireless internet connection problem. Turns out the modem was faulty and the signal was intermittent.

Kind regards
Julie and Jesse Low

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

Galvin's Edge is a two-bedroom suite in the bottom of the Queensland home of Julie and Jesse Low and their three daughters. It is wonderfully appointed, quiet, and you look out on the handsomely landscaped pool area of the home. Julie provides the makings for a lovely breakfast - including fresh tropical fruit - and you can have it at your leisure.

Julie can book tours, and make suggestions, for you with a pick up at the door.

We were there during the "wet tropical" season, and even with all the rain we enjoyed ourselves. There are a number of take-out restaurants close by as well as the tourist designations along the esplanade.

All in all, a totally perfect place to relax and to enjoy the beauties of the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2007

Galvin's Edge Hill Bed & Breakfast features an absolutely stunning setting. It's a two-bedroom self-contained ground floor apartment in a typical old Queensland house surrounded by lush tropical plants and flowers. Hosts Julie and Jesse Low and their three daughters live upstairs and can recommend and book all sorts of tours and trips from Cairns, with pick-ups from the house. The apartment has a large living area with kitchenette, and a private area of patio in the lovely garden with table and chairs for outdoor breakfasts which feature Julie's huge tropical fruit platter; try an evening take-out from one of the Edge Hill restaurants, a five minute walk away - we liked the Naked Nut for excellent food and wicked pavlova. The best feature of the garden is a freeform swimming pool, landscaped into the planting, and a welcome cool-off from Cairns' tropical climate. There is television, a phone, and a wealth of information on the area and the Great Barrier Reef. We had such a warm welcome and so much help from the family, and not only did the apartment meet every possible need, but the garden and pool were just stunning. We left very reluctantly !

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropicallows, Owner at Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelFavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galvin's Edge Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 61 Walsh St, Edge Hill, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Edge Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Edge Hill
Price Range: £56 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Cairns’ oldest & finest Queenslanders, located in quiet, leafy Edge Hill, five minutes drive from downtown and the airport. Relax in your own private two-bedroom apartment (we only take one booking at a time so there’s no need to share). Enjoy our magnificent swimming pool and gardens. Three minutes walk and you’re in the village of Edge Hill with restaurants, local shops, the Botanic Gardens, rain forest walks, and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galvin's Edge Hill Bed And Breakfast Cairns Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing