We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil haven with a beautiful cat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa de Campo do Pomar
Ranked #1 of 5 Santana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A tranquil haven with a beautiful cat!

My review is a bit overdue, we visited 'Casa De Campo Do Pomar' mid September, we booked a two night stay. As we normally stay in 4/5 star hotels, so we were not quite sure what we would find, as we do not usually visit this side of the island, but I do trust the reviews on 'tripadvisor'.
What a lovely surprise! the villa's are laid out on a hill giving you lovely views, it is also very peaceful.
We were in a studio, which was quite adequate for two days, but I would choose a one bed apartment next time, as we loved the look of the one with the hammock.
Lovely comfy beds, wonderful fresh bread each day delivered to your door and continental breakfast in the fridge, ( we would have liked a few eggs, as my husband doesn't eat ham) but this was not a problem.
Teresa and Estavoa make you very welcome, unfortunately we didn't get to sample Teresa's cooking as she was working the two days we stayed, but we were recommended to a good local restaurant, (which I will review later).
So useful information:-
You do need a car, the town of Santana is quite near, the villa's are clean, comfortable and practical, but quite a few steps up and down to reception and the entrance, not really suitable for someone with walking problems. Also no swimming pool.

Also 'Yellow' the cat is a beauty (visit's at breakfast time) and 'Luna' the dog very tiny and sweet.

Room Tip: Not somewhere suitable for small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yazmin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day holiday at Casa de Campo do Pomar in Madeira and for the first time felt compelled to write a quick review. The accommodation which is excellent value for money is located in a quiet but picturesque corner of the island (meaning it would help to have a car during your stay here to explore the island. Public transport is a bit limited in this area). Having said this we didn't have a car which brings me round to the reason why I'm writing this review and that is the hosts. Either Teresa or Estavoa couldn't have been more helpful. They drove us to some fantastic lavada walks nearby and collected us afterwards each time. They recommended and drove us to some lovely sea water lido's and wonderful restaurants and even got us a discount wherever we ate and were always available to answer any questions we may have had. As other reviewers have mentioned it's a very nice touch to have freshly baked bread left outside your door every morning and food left in your fridge. We also ate a delicious home cooked meal by Teresa with all the other guests on a couple of occasions which was great value for money and a fun evening. For a peaceful, relaxing holiday with a bit of walking thrown in this makes an ideal place to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Wasn't expecting too much for the price we paid, but Theresa the owner was brilliant. She was passionate about her corner of Maderia and the accommodation she was offering. Theresa was there for us from the time the arrived until we left. In fact she said if we had problems during the rest of our holiday, we should call her. We walked lavadas where we couldn't take our car, so Theresa took us to one end and picked us up the other. In fact, on one occasion there was a family problem so her son collected us and he was equally as nice as his mother. Every morning there were three loaves of homemade bread on our doorstep. In fact we had to ask for less as it was just too nice to leave, but just too many pounds to take back to England. We ate out one night but Theresa took us and the restaurant owner gave us a lift back. Another night Theresa cooked us a typical Madeiran meal and delivered it to our cottage. It is the perfect location for walking and the perfect place to stay if you are a walker.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieandDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Our first impressions were how friendly our hosts were. This is a family run establishment where they go out of their way to help you and make sure your holiday is a good one. Your breakfast of homemade jam, yogurts, cheese, ham, milk, milkshakes are ready in your fridge on arrival and a huge bowl of fruit in your room. Fresh bread is delivered to your door daily. The kitchenette is nice for a little cooking if you want to but I would highly recommend evening meals skillfully prepared by Teresa and Estebao and eaten around a large table with the other guests. A good time to swap stories and enjoy the company of the other guests and the hosts. They have also arranged numerous discounts with local attractions so let them know where you are going as they may have vouchers. On our last day there all the mattresses were renewed giving us an even more comfortable nights sleep. If you are looking for a value for money establishment with a personal family feel I would heartily recommend Orchard Cottages and thank Teresa and Estebao for a lovely time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We spent 5 nights at Casas de Campo do Pomar.
The location is great if you are looking for a quiet place with easy access to many great levada hikes.
We booked a studio but were upgraded to a very nice one bedroom appartment with its own little terrace and tiny tropical garden overlooking the lush surrounding countryside.
This is a perfect mix between the autonomy you may have by renting an appartment and the warmth of a B&B.
Estevao and his children made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They provided us with helpful advice, offered to pick us up from one end of a trail and take us back to our car at the beginning of the trail, made sure that we had everything we needed and generally made us feel at home.
Everyday, a supply of ham, cheese, butter, milk, tea coffee and homemade jam was left in the kitchen for breakfast the next day. A tasty freshly baked home-made bread was also left at our door every night. The appartment was cleaned every day.
There are enough ustensils in the kitchen so that you can cook a proper meal if you wish to. Estevao provided us with the addresses of several nice local restaurants. Since his wife was not around, we did not have the opportunity to have dinner there.
We hope to be back and enjoy dinner with the family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StelitaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Serge V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Janita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santana
1.7 mi away
Quinta do Furao
Quinta do Furao
#1 of 3 in Santana
530 reviews
8.9 mi away
Solar Da Bica
Solar Da Bica
#1 of 5 in Sao Vicente
139 reviews
6.3 mi away
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra
#1 of 1 in Santo Antonio da Serra Machico
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
11.2 mi away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#35 of 88 in Funchal
2,950 reviews
10.8 mi away
Vitorina Corte Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Campo do Pomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Campo do Pomar

Address: Sitio do Lombo do Curral, Santana, Madeira 9230-103, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santana
Price Range: £37 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de Campo do Pomar 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Casas de Campo do Pomar" are located in Santana in the Northern part of the Island of Madeira. In this District, breathtaking views and unique cultures are prominent and are the reason this side of the island is becoming known worldwide as a UNESCO Biosphere National Reserve.In Santana, among other activities, we can find the Theme Park of Madeira, the Typical Santana houses and the renowned Levada walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa de Campo do Pomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Campo Do Pomar Madeira, Portugal - Santana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing