We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silence & Nature”
Review of Quinta do Furao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quinta do Furao
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2013

One of the best places I visited to spend relaxed "do nothing" days. Silence is gold
Great view to the ocean & northern coast of the Island.
I stayed here to run away from the city stress and it was the perfect cure
Very good sleeping experience.
Excellent breakfast regarding the small size of the hotel. Also very good dinning experience - great food !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo-M-F-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

Quinta do Furao surpassed our expectations with its spectacular setting and friendly, welcoming service. When my husband injured his leg on a levada walk all staff, including the director, were most caring and helpful, Despite his accident, we left with only wonderful memories of magical Madeira.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in Quinta do Furao during our Levada-walk.holiday, and we enjoyed it very much!
We found a very friendly and helpful receptionist, a warm and inviting atmosphere in the lounge area with a fireplace, tables for playing cards, comfortable furniture and excellent afternoon tea.
The room was neat, we liked the style of furniture. The bathtube - very good after hiking! And we had a terrace of our own with a great view. We liked the restaurant some 100m downhill - even an umbrella was provided in our room. The a la carte menue offered a great variety of dishes, some of them organic and/or homegrown. It was prepared in an excellent way; the stuff was really friendly. Breakfast also was very nice, with a great variety of dishes (even homemade yoghurt and jam). We will certainly come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If I would rate only the hotel I would say "Very good". The restaurant is "poor".
To be entirely correct: The restaurant standard is by no means in line with the hotel standard.

I only give the "terrible" rating for places which give unacceptable service or serve food which is not suitable for human consumption, in which case I would leave without paying.

So "poor" is a tough rating for a restaurant which has excellent staff in the dining room.

What is wrong then?

The kitchen management is totally disconnected from dining standards in 2013.

We had half board, so we had the "pleasure" of undergoing their peir performance for 3 dinners, and a lunch on the first day which was obviously not included in the half board.

Why would one overcook a piece of salmon so it comes in dry fillaments?
Why would one stuff a piece if salmon with a greasy paste with a seafood taste, and then poor some kind of creamy mustard sauce over it?

One of the starters in the half board was a plate with sliced tomatoes and onion rings. Nothing wrong with that, I take this at home very often in summer. But this is a starter which is typical for a 500 peseta menu at the Costa Brava in the eighties. You can not be serious if you serve this in a restaurant with a staff in black tie connected to an upscale hotel.

One of the main courses was a "mini skewer" of beef. (They literally mentioned it was a mini-skewer, so no surprise here....). Nothing wrong with beef skewers, but that is the kind of cooking I expect at uncle John's on his garden barbecue after a couple of pints of lager. The presentation of the mini skewer in a 5kg forged iron sort of "skewer pendulum" may have been impressive in the seventies, but today it is proposterous.

The black scabbard, a very good fish commonly served in Madeiran restaurants was completely spoiled in a tempura like cooking served on rice with tasteless tomato sauce.

I am not sure if the breakfast kitchen is connected the dinner and lunch restaurant, but at breakfast they serve bread comming out of the freezer. The 1st day I had bread with a wet core of about 3cm diameter and in the center of the wet part there was about 1 cm simply frozen. As it was the 1st day, i said to myself: OK the guys had is issue with their supplier, i'll take some of the other bread. No problem. Next day they had the same issue!

Conclusion: The kitchen staff needs a Gordon Ramsey visit.

It is really a pitty , because the hotel is very good. The view from the room is breath taking. Everything is super clean and the staff is super friendly. The place is a very good base for levada walking in the northern part of Madeira, and offers a nice swimming pool and yacuzzi to relax you soar muscles after a day of walking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

what a location, what good times at Quinta do Furao ! we were wondering where to go and have a drink or meal at night, but stuck to the hotel bar and restaurant with enormous pleasure. We could even say the price was very fair, after staying in other locations on the island we'll sure be missing this one in particular !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcuenoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Reading the reviews and ratings I had expected much better. As you arrive at the road to the hotel from the advertising board you sense this is a hotel with organic roots, surrounded by organic vineyards, grows organic vegetables etc. in essence a really nice place to stay, we didn't see much evidence during our stay in fact there was only one organic wine on the list and little reference to it on the menus and only two of the four Madeira wines offered at the wine tasting came from the hotel vineyards. More could be made of this.
It's got a great cliff top location, with views along the peninsula coast line as well as a backdrop of the Madeira hills, the hotel looks great! Our first impression was a gloomy reception, with a pleasant receptionist who in our first few hours seemed to do everything, check in, take and serve our lunch order, get our drinks - were they short staffed? The lounge area is dull, pretty unwelcoming and lacks atmosphere. The one positive was the log fire which was welcomed on some stormy nights.
It's a great base for coastal and levada walks but there isn't much else around if you don't have a car. The restaurant was recommended and we were on half board. This means you get a limited set menu,rather than a la carte. The set menu has a Traditional Menu for €3.00. extra which never changed its two main courses in the three nights we were there which was disappointing. The standard menu gave three starters, main and dessert choices which did change. To be honest, they were very average in quality in general with the odd dish that was ok and even on the half board deal we still probably spent (over three nights) another €80 on water, drinks and coffees. There is an a la carte menu but we weren't offered it, you would think, even if on half board, you could get an allowance towards the a la carte menu for some variety, and it would help he hotel spend. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and offered to replace sub quality dishes, but that isn't the point is it? By the way, the restaurant is about 100m away from the main hotel so make sure you have a coat or umbrella (provided in the bedroom) as you can get soaked if its raining.
Our accommodation was on the third floor and rooms were spacious, good bathroom with a bath (great after long walks), but fairly simple in decor. The safe lock was antiquated and tricky, there was a good TV with Sky news and Wi-Fi was available throughout the hotel. We stayed during a very stormy wet and windy period and the lack of tightly closing windows left the wind whistling through the gaps like a haunted house. Nothing helpful for guest information in the rooms, not sure why not?

In summary, it was ok but not great, clean and comfortable. Would we go back or recommend, probably not, but perhaps for the area we are expecting too much? It could be great though if the owners/managers worked on selling its strengths, improving the food quality and building on a reasonable front of house team - there is however something missing atmospherically.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed 7 nights in March. The hotel has fantastic views of the sea/cliffs but the real stars of the hotel were the staff who were genuinely friendly. The location of the hotel on the north side of the island does mean it is perfect for nature lovers and walkers.

The restaurant and facilities are good, in particular the restaurant has a very wide selection of dishes and of a high quality, which is good as most if not all nights you will likely be eating there, as there is little else in the immediate area.

There is also a great little small bar in addition to the normal hotel bar, this too has some of the most friendly staff, provides snacks, (large) sandwiches, soups, etc for lunch.

We hired a car for our week in Madeira, and I would definitely recommend the same for anyone staying at this hotel (though some of the roads are quite an experience to say the least).

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Madeira.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the sea have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santana
11.8 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
12.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
16.9 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,071 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
11.2 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Furao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Furao

Address: Estrada da Quinta do Furao 6, Santana, Madeira 9230-082, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Furao 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quinta do Furao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Furao Funchal
Hotel Quinta Do Furao
Quinta Do Furao Madeira, Portugal - Santana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing