We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta do Furao
Nearby Hotels
Hotel O Colmo(Santana)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monte Mar Palace(Ponta Delgada)
US$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra(Santo Antonio da Serra Machico)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Encumeada(Ribeira Brava)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Solar Da Bica(Sao Vicente)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
454
101
24
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
454
101
24
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspico ruivothe north east coaststarting pointsadjoining restaurantsao lourencoheated swimming poolwalking holidayamazing locationlevada walkingmain buildingvery nice hotelvery nice staysuperb viewsexcellent breakfastcomfortable roomsexplore the islandjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We spend 10 nights is this nice hotel. The hotel is not to big, about 43 rooms and has an great restaurant.

The employees are very friendly, in those 10 days we never saw an unfriendly face. They made us feel special and at home.

The view is breathtaking and on wednesday we had an diner in the Vineyard. Very great. madeira is an great Island and we will be going back and we will most certainly stay at the Quinta do Furao

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

One of the best places I visited to spend relaxed "do nothing" days. Silence is gold
Great view to the ocean & northern coast of the Island.
I stayed here to run away from the city stress and it was the perfect cure
Very good sleeping experience.
Excellent breakfast regarding the small size of the hotel. Also very good dinning experience - great food !

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricardo-M-F-Santos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Quinta do Furao surpassed our expectations with its spectacular setting and friendly, welcoming service. When my husband injured his leg on a levada walk all staff, including the director, were most caring and helpful, Despite his accident, we left with only wonderful memories of magical Madeira.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed in Quinta do Furao during our Levada-walk.holiday, and we enjoyed it very much!
We found a very friendly and helpful receptionist, a warm and inviting atmosphere in the lounge area with a fireplace, tables for playing cards, comfortable furniture and excellent afternoon tea.
The room was neat, we liked the style of furniture. The bathtube - very good after hiking! And we had a terrace of our own with a great view. We liked the restaurant some 100m downhill - even an umbrella was provided in our room. The a la carte menue offered a great variety of dishes, some of them organic and/or homegrown. It was prepared in an excellent way; the stuff was really friendly. Breakfast also was very nice, with a great variety of dishes (even homemade yoghurt and jam). We will certainly come back to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

If I would rate only the hotel I would say "Very good". The restaurant is "poor".
To be entirely correct: The restaurant standard is by no means in line with the hotel standard.

I only give the "terrible" rating for places which give unacceptable service or serve food which is not suitable for human consumption, in which case I would leave without paying.

So "poor" is a tough rating for a restaurant which has excellent staff in the dining room.

What is wrong then?

The kitchen management is totally disconnected from dining standards in 2013.

We had half board, so we had the "pleasure" of undergoing their peir performance for 3 dinners, and a lunch on the first day which was obviously not included in the half board.

Why would one overcook a piece of salmon so it comes in dry fillaments?
Why would one stuff a piece if salmon with a greasy paste with a seafood taste, and then poor some kind of creamy mustard sauce over it?

One of the starters in the half board was a plate with sliced tomatoes and onion rings. Nothing wrong with that, I take this at home very often in summer. But this is a starter which is typical for a 500 peseta menu at the Costa Brava in the eighties. You can not be serious if you serve this in a restaurant with a staff in black tie connected to an upscale hotel.

One of the main courses was a "mini skewer" of beef. (They literally mentioned it was a mini-skewer, so no surprise here....). Nothing wrong with beef skewers, but that is the kind of cooking I expect at uncle John's on his garden barbecue after a couple of pints of lager. The presentation of the mini skewer in a 5kg forged iron sort of "skewer pendulum" may have been impressive in the seventies, but today it is proposterous.

The black scabbard, a very good fish commonly served in Madeiran restaurants was completely spoiled in a tempura like cooking served on rice with tasteless tomato sauce.

I am not sure if the breakfast kitchen is connected the dinner and lunch restaurant, but at breakfast they serve bread comming out of the freezer. The 1st day I had bread with a wet core of about 3cm diameter and in the center of the wet part there was about 1 cm simply frozen. As it was the 1st day, i said to myself: OK the guys had is issue with their supplier, i'll take some of the other bread. No problem. Next day they had the same issue!

Conclusion: The kitchen staff needs a Gordon Ramsey visit.

It is really a pitty , because the hotel is very good. The view from the room is breath taking. Everything is super clean and the staff is super friendly. The place is a very good base for levada walking in the northern part of Madeira, and offers a nice swimming pool and yacuzzi to relax you soar muscles after a day of walking.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cocoyoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews