We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place”
Review of Quinta do Furao

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quinta do Furao
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A charming place near Santana, on the North coast of Madeira... The hotel is located on the top of a cliff with a wonderful scenic view.
The hotel is really beatiful, the rooms are big, clean and well-equiped. The staff is very efficient. The breakfast buffet is very good.
There is a restaurant (5 minutes walk). the food is excellent, with a large choice of meat, fishes, risottos... but a little too expensive.
An excellent address

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2013. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Despite the hotel being mostly full, it never felt crowded and the service never faltered. The restaurant is superb, even including the Sunday evening themed buffet (I normally can't stand these) The food is fresh, much of it is home grown. It's well cooked and presented. Ignore the comment about not having air conditioning. The hotel is in a very quiet location, as it's on the top of a cliff there's a constant fresh breeze blowing, and no Mosquitos, so just open the windows. The swimming pool is perfect for a daily refreshing dip, with a constant supply of clean fluffy towels to dry off.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

During our Madeira trip we had five different hotels. Quinta do Furao was the best one. The room was quiet and clean, the view over the ocean was incredible. Breakfast was very good with many different kind of teas, vegetables, cheese, et cetera. Omelets were freshly cooked according to customers wish. We really enjoyed our stay in Quinta do Furao.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank resmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Amazing location, great hotel facilities & amazing staff, worth the detour to it.
Dinner with a view, they even catered better for fussy & vegetarian eaters than a Michelin star place we stayed in Piedmont last year.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Quiet, peaceful, tranquil. Staff helpful. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, restaurant with balcony all with a great view. Rooms a little small, beds a bit hard and no air conditioning. Food was good but not as good as expected for a hotel of this standard. Not enough sun beds and umbrellas when guests arrive back from a day out.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or a terrace, don't think any of he rooms on the third floor had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I came for the weekend with our daughter, husband and 2 sons prior to a week in Funchal and we absolutely loved it. We had a charming room in the hotel and they had the 2 bed villa, with a lounge and terrace, in the grounds. The boys, (6 & 4) loved the trip to the Madeira Theme Park, especially the bungee jumping and boat lake, which is only 1o minutes by taxi. We did a wonderful coastal walk, and the setting was sublime. The staff in the hotel were outstanding, helpful and friendly. Great swimming pool too. We all enjoyed the Gala Dinner on Sunday, with entertainment, and all in all it was a terrific choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa if you have a family - there are two, next to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed 7 days in this exceptional hotel. The whole team was very very kind. We felt really welcome. Even if it is sometimes cloudy in the north of Madeira, the location is beautiful (with cliffs and water fall;-) You can reach all interesting points (Funchal, Ribeiro Frio, Queimadas , Rabacal...) very easy and fast (Besides a Tipp: prefer palheiro gardens in Funchal in stead of jardim Botanico ;-). We enjoyed our breakfast with hot and good coffee (I love it), different fresh fuit and some! fruit juice or different bap (e.g. Müslibrötchen) often outside or do enjoy an exeptional dinner, created with a lot of lovely details and a great tase. And when we came too late from our walking tour, we still get served very friendly and when it was too cold then outside, we get a blanket without asking for it.
Thanks to the whole Furao team. We have such a good time there.
Wirklich etwas besonderes ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santana
11.8 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
12.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
952 reviews
16.9 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,071 reviews
13.6 mi away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
11.2 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta do Furao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Furao

Address: Estrada da Quinta do Furao 6, Santana, Madeira 9230-082, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Price Range: £68 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta do Furao 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta do Furao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Furao Funchal
Hotel Quinta Do Furao
Quinta Do Furao Madeira, Portugal - Santana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing