We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Spent two nights at this beautiful Quinta. The views are breathtaking, the food at the restaurant and in the hotel( breakfast and snacks ) is exceptional value and high quality.The rooms are spacious and decorated to a very high standard. I did not want to leave, I will return one day soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilypots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    90
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
334
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gevelsberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Quinta do Furao is a wonderful place for spending a walking holiday in Maderia. It has fantastic views, comfortable rooms, excellent food and very friendly staff. We used the hotel as a starting point for hiking trips in the area, but also enjoyed the hotel pool and sauna. The hotel is nicely located but you should have a hired car to ensure that you get to all the interesting places. If you arrive in the dark, it is rather hard to find the small road that leads to the Quinta. The road sign can be seen better that the hotel sign. Watch out to that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed two nights in this modern hotel - one of the more expensive of 10 visited outside of Funchal at about £150 per night B&B but provided the pool robes, quality toiletries,bedtime biscuits etc. Nice grounds with clifftop walk, and reconstructed traditional home, and good restaurant. Small indoor pool with part roll-back glass roof, jacuzzi etc, and tables set for games. Excellent buffet breakfast that was well topped-up, but with limited sitting area inside (it can be a chilly wind or cloudy in the morning in October). Ate well and with attentive service on terrace of restaurant on first night ; on second tried to seek out alternatively in Santana- there is not really anything as the town caters for daytime day visitors- the Tripadvisor suggestion is little more than a cafe/bar- and empty in the evening. So we tried hotel restaurant a second night eating inside at about 8.30pm - a far poorer experience as we waited over 50 mins for two simple first courses in what was now a nearly desserted restaurant as terrace tables were empty, and another 30 mins for mains. The organic chicken was off but an alternative non organic bird was offered (I notice no price reduction on bill)- restaurant prices on the high side for Madeira outside Funchal. Recommend a car.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallportions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Our stay in the beautiful hotel QUINTA DO FURAO, overlooking the coast of the ocean, was wonderful! We spent two unforgettable weeks with a very personalized service, excellent food and a very nice and clean room (Junior Suite). Our 2.5 years old daughter was treated like a princess! The view from our room and the restaurant was second to none. The well maintained park invites you to walk... The hotel's location in the small town of Santana is great! We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adisito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruxelles
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

A charming place near Santana, on the North coast of Madeira... The hotel is located on the top of a cliff with a wonderful scenic view.
The hotel is really beatiful, the rooms are big, clean and well-equiped. The staff is very efficient. The breakfast buffet is very good.
There is a restaurant (5 minutes walk). the food is excellent, with a large choice of meat, fishes, risottos... but a little too expensive.
An excellent address

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week in August 2013. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Despite the hotel being mostly full, it never felt crowded and the service never faltered. The restaurant is superb, even including the Sunday evening themed buffet (I normally can't stand these) The food is fresh, much of it is home grown. It's well cooked and presented. Ignore the comment about not having air conditioning. The hotel is in a very quiet location, as it's on the top of a cliff there's a constant fresh breeze blowing, and no Mosquitos, so just open the windows. The swimming pool is perfect for a daily refreshing dip, with a constant supply of clean fluffy towels to dry off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunn am Gebirge, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

During our Madeira trip we had five different hotels. Quinta do Furao was the best one. The room was quiet and clean, the view over the ocean was incredible. Breakfast was very good with many different kind of teas, vegetables, cheese, et cetera. Omelets were freshly cooked according to customers wish. We really enjoyed our stay in Quinta do Furao.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santana
13.1 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,857 reviews
11.8 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
16.9 mi away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 86 in Funchal
875 reviews
13.2 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,040 reviews
11.2 mi away
Albatroz Beach & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta Do Furao Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta Do Furao Hotel

Property: Quinta Do Furao Hotel
Address: Achada do Gramacho, Santana, Madeira 9230, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Santana
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Quinta Do Furao Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quinta Do Furao Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Furao Funchal
Hotel Quinta Do Furao
Quinta Do Furao Hotel Madeira, Portugal - Santana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing