We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL THE BEST EVER HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Savoy Calheta Beach
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on- Trent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“STILL THE BEST EVER HOTEL”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Hello fellow travellers,
Well, what can I say!
I reviewed the hotel Calheta beach earlier this year in March, with a heading, Best hotel ever, and indeed it still is. In fact, its even better, and eventhough the hotel is classed as 4 star, we have to give it 10 stars.
All the staff are really kind and helpful right from the start, infact immediately you walk through the door on arrival. The reception / bar / and dining room staff are all fantastic and will go out of their way to make sure that you enjoy your holiday. We cannot pick fault with any staff in hotel Calheta beach. They make you so comfortable and relaxed.The food is great with a good choice, buffet style and if one likes the cakes of Madeira, then you have got it made.
Beautiful pool area and pool bar. Bar staff speak good English. You can sit and relax at the pool and just enjoy the Madeirian sunshine and get yoourself that perfect tan. It never rains in Calheta during the summer monthes, so no need to worry about that. Rooms in the hotel are very good and very clean with good spacious balconies. Sea view rooms are recommended for seaview and poolview and give a lovely view of the Marina next to the hotel. These are the sunnier rooms and fully air conditioned,eventhough you can get a nice breeze off the sea.
The beach is also lovely, two facing each other with like a lagoon in the middle. There is also space to play tennis or ball on the beach.
In the hotel, there are three bars, one at each end and the poolbar. The lookall bar has entertainment untill 2am and the hotel entertainment is untill around 11pm each night and is very good entertainment. Something different every night.
Calheta beach hotel is an excellent hotel if you are seeking a good quiet peaceful hotel and of course a good nights sleep, but if one is looking for all night drinking and entertainment, then this is not the hotel for you, nor the area of Calheta, as its a very quiet area. 9 See also my review for Calheta.)
You can get out and about from Calheta. There is a hotel mini bus service to the city of Funchal for 17.50 euros return. This leave hotel 3 or 4 times aweek from 09.30 to Funchal and picks you up at 5pm. You get a good 7 hours and drop off and pick up is just yards away from the tourist area. Plenty shops and a park, and you cannot get lost.
You can get boat trips from the Marina by the hotel, and there is public bus stops outside the hotel, which is said to take longer to Funchal, but is an interesting ride. Hotel bus is quicker and a lovely driver and speaks clear English. Bus station in Funchal will take you anywhere on the Island. Watch those bus times.
Last of all, Calheta beach hotel is perfect for famillies and older people who want a peaceful holiday and a quiet night. We recommend all-inclusive, as the drinks can be expensive. All- inclusive is from 10am-10pm, and sandwiches in the afternoon to keep one going. Lunch as a good variety of fish in the dining room and is served at 1pm -2pm, and dinner 6.30pm - 9pm.
THREE CHEERS TO ALL THE LOVELY STAFF. Keep up the good work. Hope to see you all again soon. God bless to you all. Thanks for that perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are the sunnier side with poolview. Good spacious rooms. Bath and shower. Cool breeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    290
    139
    31
    18
See reviews for
152
385
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Having stayed all inclusive at many hotels around the world, our overall impression from 2 weeks all inclusive in a mountain view room was good, we could not fault the room or the cleaning staff. The waiting staff were fantastic and really went out of their way to make your stay memorable, What the point of the restaurant managers were we do not know, all they managed to do was slow the whole process down.Our suggestion would be to promote Ligui as she knew what she was doing and was always ready to help you with a smile.
We did feel disappointed by the quality of food at dinner as it was very much the same every day with little flavour, also we were made to feel like 2nd class citizens with regards to the drinks package, if you were pay as you go your cocktail was delivered with fresh fruit and umbrella, if you were all inclusive just the drink and you could only get the drinks before 10pm then you had to pay. Who stops drinking at 10 when on holiday!!!!. What they also don't tell you is that the a la carte restaurant,(13 euros token) barbecue or "look all" restaurant is not included in the all inclusive.The entertainment was very good "The animation" team organising it were very good, in particular, Waynne, who's energy & enthusiasm was incredible.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank andyreggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first-ever 'resort-hotel' and it was less frightening than we expected. The entertainment every night was largely inoffensive - some of it was quite good! And it finished reliably at 2230hrs to get family-sleep... We took a 'self-catering apartment' (in contrast to the mostly 'all-inclusive' visitors) - you would struggle to manage much more than breakfast and sandwiches using the provided facilities. The air-conditioned room was quiet and clean. The sandy beach adjacent to the hotel complimented the hotel's own pools - our daughter spent more time in the water than out. Local facilities are good (supermarket, bank, pharmacy, restaurants, etc.) - though we were very happy to have a hirecar to see more of the island. The weather in Calheta was always just a little-bit better than the rest of the island, it seemed :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just back from a 10 day stay in Calheta. Hotel was lovely and staff really friendly. We had a ground floor room overlooking the road, bit worried about this as had read comments on noise from road, we were not bothered by this. Room was on small side but as we spent most of the time by the pool this was not a problem. Food was excellent. We went on two trips booked through hotel and these were very good. Would definitely go back to Madeira and would stay here again.

Did read review regarding entertainment going on till 2am, experienced this once and not actually from hotel but bar next door. Hotel entertainment excellent and finished around 10.30 - 11.00 pm.

Room Tip: Don't be put off by rooms not having sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This hotel is very well located on a lovely little man made beach. The area is very quiet so if you are looking for a relaxing holiday this hotel is perfect. Close by there is a supermarket, bank and pharmacy as well as a small marina with a few nice restaurants. The food for me in the Hotel was brilliant, plenty of choice and all very fresh and tasty. But as a vegetarian, my wife found the food to be very limited. On one night every salad option contained either meat or fish and the Vegetarian main meal was a giant bowl of spinach!! All in all though the hotel was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a top floor sea view room which was excellent..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

This lovely hotel surpassed all our expectations. Having read the previous review about rooms away from the bar area I totally disagree about any noise as the entertainment finished dead on 2230 and it was not loud. This was one of the good things about the holiday, quiet and peaceful. The entertainment suited the clientele.
The food was superb and the bar service excellent. The two young men behind the bar work their socks off and always with a smile.
The entertainment during the day was very good and unlike some hotels we had been to before, we were not pressurised into taking part. The hotel was quiet and very clean, staff friendly and efficient. Example of this our air con was not efficient but once reported it was fixed within the hour and then the staff checked it was OK.
I would strongly recommend the jeep safari that runs on a Sunday a great day out and lots of fun.
The hotel is relaxing and peaceful. Across the road is a supermarket and chemist so very convenient if you need anything. There is a Marina next door and it was a nice stroll from the hotel. Here you can get a trip to go dolphin or whale watching.
We were all inclusive and could not complain about choice of food or drink. Snacks were put out and ice creams although not free all day were put out twice a day and the quality of the ice -cream was top notch.
All in all this was possibly the best relaxing holiday we have ever had. The beauty of this island certainly took our breath away.
Would we return? Absolutely yes indeed in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caro1NorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Good clean modern hotel, but full of all inclusive customers, and as there is nothing in walking distant, they stay in the hotel drinking all day!
If you have a car the west end of the island is out standing for walking an wild life, but beware you will be charged parking - at airport rates! You also have to pay for beach towel.
The spa pool is stone cold!
On the plus side the local restaurants are very good, but in is very isolated

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar by the beach the noise goes on until 2 in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-surreyKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calheta
0.4 mi away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
13.9 mi away
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
Pestana Ocean Bay Hotel
#32 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
22.3 mi away
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
Vila Gale Santa Cruz
#2 of 5 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Enotel Lido Madeira
Enotel Lido Madeira
#22 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,335 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
15.1 mi away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Calheta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Calheta Beach

Property: Savoy Calheta Beach
Address: Vila da Calheta, Calheta, Madeira 9370-133, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Calheta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calheta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Savoy Calheta Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Calheta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calheta Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel Calheta
Savoy Calheta Beach Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing