We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped property with a stunning view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Calheta, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
olivier t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped property with a stunning view”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent 10 days at this property with our 3 children and everybody loved it. The house is very comfortable, well equipped and offers direct access to a private beach. The swimming pool was large enough for us all and we certainly made the most of it. If you are after a quiet property with beautiful views out to the sea then this could be the one for you :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you very much:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JGrant22
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning view, good house - VERY HARD beds”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed the stay at this place.... I will write the most difficult things first because that is why I couldn't give this place 'excellent'.
a) Mattress - I have now suffered a bruise ribs from too hard mattress. We tried as a couple two of the beds and the one in the upstairs bedroom is a bit - ever so slightly softer than the one downstairs. Combined with very lumpy pillows - you do not sleep as well as you want
b) Lack of supplies - we have rented 15 houses/apartments in the last year on a 10 month travel sabbatical and this is the FIRST place that did not supply the simplest things like garbage bags for the kitchen garbage. There was no kitchen roll, one roll of toilet paper per bathroom (no extra). Zero things like salt, pepper, olive oil, cleaning supplies should you spill something on the floors. We complained and asked for this to be sorted and it was done the first night - the price of the villa lends itself to the owner providing some simple things that you shouldn't have to buy to keep his place 'tidy' and 'clean'
c) Do not rent a big car - you MUST have a small car to navigate the road to and from this villa. I read the previous reviews and thought it was an exaggeration - it is not. This road is very steep and we put a huge dent into the too big car and had to exchange it. Thankfully we never experienced having two vehicles on the road at the same time. The rule apparently is who is going up, must reverse down.
================
Positives - the pool is wonderful and heating it you pay for extra is worth it.
The views are outstanding and the house is well maintained.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we will certainly pass on your constructive comments to the owner.
The drive down to the villa is steep and we would agree that a smaller car is the sensible choice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievably Amazing!”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Wow! What an amazing, beautiful rental.
The pictures don't do the astounding views justice - it's incredible.
The layout of the property is great, very spacious and most things you could wish for.
We had to buy a lighter and firelighters for the barbecue, although we left them at the villa so hopefully another traveller will benefit from that. Toilet paper was provided, although hand wash, washing up liquid, and amenities such as cooking oil and salt we absent (not that travellers should necessarily expect those things - but advising so you know what to bring).

There was a beer and a bottle of bubbly in the fridge on arrival, fresh fruit and a Madeira cake - for all of which we were very grateful!

We were absolutely stung by appalling service from Dollar/Hertz car rental and after a 2hr wait they said they'd run out of cars (despite us having booked in advance!) and we would have to have a 9-seater van. We ended up getting a Skoda Octavia estate car which was far too big for driving around the small local roads - especially the road to the Villa itself for which a small car is better suited - in fact we left the car at the top of the hill most days for fear of not navigating the path successfully or having to reverse halfway back if meeting another vehicle. So I'd say avoid Dollar (and Hertz who they go through) and avoid large cars! Even if you're used to a large car, you'll need nerves of steel at times!

Having said that Acacio Rodrigues who met us en-route to the villa and opened up for us (late I might add after the car facade! - but still with a smile!) has advised that the path is being widened soon. The owner, Alberto also has an amazing restaurant which Rodrigues drove us to one evening - and back. Nothing was too much trouble. Acacio was amazing. He even spoke to the airport staff at Hertz on our behalf and arranged a smaller car for us.

Alberto's restaurant was fantastic and we were offered complimentatry drinks on the night. Furthermore, because we had parked up the road to the villa, Alberto even met us on departure and drove us with our bags the short distance up the road. Fantastic service.

We will absolutely go back to Madeira again and to stay at Villa Do Mar 2 if it is available.
It is one of the best holidays I've had in 20 years and in no small part due to the fantastic hospitality and amazing surroundings.

The beds are very 'solid', so if you're used to plush, squidgy, beds you might want to put a few blankets on to cushion the hardness. I like a hard bed although perhaps a little softer than at the villa.

The Villa also has WiFi at approximately 8mb/s - and satellite TV in the living room and main bedroom. The channels available were in several languages and we certainly found a number of English language ones to watch of an evening.

At the villa are numerous leaflets and books describing things to do and places to go on the Island. The one thing worth thinking about ahead of arrival is where you'll buy any food for the week. We found that there are a number of Pingo Doce stores on the island which are equivalent to the Aldi/Asda/Tesco stores in the UK. Apparently there is a local independent supermarket/store but through experience we often try to find a convenient big store for a main food and amenities shop at the start of the week. Pingo Doce served us well in this regard.

I can't recommend this Villa enough.
If you are fortunate enough to find it is available for booking when looking at your next holiday I would say book it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views amazing
Liked least: Bed too hard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2016
Thanks for your super review and we look forward to your return visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great property in an amazing location”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a lovely time in Madeira at Villa Do Mar II. The villa was new, well equipped and nicely designed and decorated. The location was awesome with 180' sea views without being overlooked. The service from Acacio was also excellent. We would certainly go back there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The secluded location
Liked least: The drive from main road to property (although this got easier with practice)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2015
Thank you for you kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete N
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Delightful and extremely well designed property with spectacular views!”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from 12 days at self-catering Villa do Mar II and we loved it so much we did not want to leave! This is a totally private villa nestled on the side of a cliff overlooking a private beach with spectacular views of the unlimited expanse of the Atlantic Ocean. The sea is almost within a stone's throw of the property. Looking out of the windows in several of the rooms makes it feel like you're on a cruise ship because all you can see is the ocean!

The swimming pool was perfect for pre-teen children - one end deep enough for an adult to stand in, the other end very shallow, and large enough to play and swim in. The weather in Madeira in high season is so pleasantly warm and humid that the pool was essential to cool off!

The facilities of this recently new property were very well designed and immaculately clean. The modern well equipped kitchen was a joy to use (but keep it clean to avoid ants), and it was also great fun to cook in the BBQ (effectively an outdoor wood oven). It really helped having free wifi in the villa also. Did I mention that you can see the sea from inside? - I have never seen such an amazing view from a kitchen anywhere else!

We loved the way the villa has been thoughtfully, carefully and colourfully decorated - even the colourful chimney above the outdoor brick fire! It really is a bright and happy place.

It was great to have access to the private beach (shared with the other local properties) literally directly below the villa, accessed via a nearly vertical wooden staircase down to a series of stone steps. This included use of the reasonably equipped beach house. This grey pebble beach was great but the waves can be very strong so take care when paddling as the waves can easily carry pebbles in them. (There is a man-made sandy beach in nearby Calheta).

The villa is close to the resort of Calheta - great for dolphin watching trips, restaurants, shopping and the Pingo Doce supermarket.

This was our first visit to the stunning island of Madeira, and we definitely want to return and stay in this property again. My top tip for Madeira: get used to enjoying seriously steep hills all over the island (apart from the Via Rapide motorway that uses tunnels to carve straight through many of the hills). The section of track down to the villa from the road is certainly narrow and very steep, but we quickly got used to it - tip: keep your car in 1st gear all the way down as well as up it; if you hire a small car with a less powerful engine then keep the revs high enough to get up the hill up to the road when leaving the villa so that you avoid stalling the engine in first gear on the steepest sections.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2015
Wow! What an absolutely amazing review - thank you so much. Reviews are always very improtant and as this is a new rental for this summer, they are even more important. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay in the villa and that you fell in love with the island. Come back soon, we are waiting for you. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skyliteee
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location and wonderfull Villa!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We really enjoyed our Time at this beautifull Villa! The Villa is big and has 3 Sleeping rooms with each of them having a bathroom. For my wife, my child and me, this was more than enough space! :) The kitchen ist big enough and holds everything you need to cook for yourself, which we often did. There is a nice barbecue place that we used as well. The living room is big as well and has fully glass windows that provide a wonderfull view over the ocean! That is the best thing and one of the main reasons why we chose this Villa: The seaview! Not only the view is astonishing but you can hear the sound of the waves all the time! That was so nice! The pool is also a great addition to this villa. The garden is nice and adds to the beauty of the area! The Villa has a private access to the private small beach 70 meters below the house and that was something we did not expect and seems to be a great addition since its not easy to get access to the sea on Madeira.
We were very happy to be invited for a free Dinner by the owner of the house. They have have 2 restaurant, Villa do Peixe and Villa do Carne. We were invited to Villa do Peixe and did really enjoy our time there! The food was just perfect and more than that the waiters were very kind and helpfull! There was also some live music and folclore dance at the time we went there! What a nice surprise!
A big thanks to the kind Owner for that and as well for the fruit basket and the Madeira cake we were given for free as well upon our arrival!
:)

Thanks also to Mr. Rodrigues who welcomed us and drove us to the villa. He was always helpfull when we needed something.
:)

After all, for us who were in Madeira for the second time this year, this was and is the perfect place to be! We plan to come back to Madeira one day and this will be our location to stay!
:)

Thanks and best wishes,
Andy
:)

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for your super review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Villa Do Mar II and hope to welcome you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuergenF1
Nuertingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Vielen Dank für Ihre super Kommentare. Wir freuen uns auf Ihren Gegenbesuch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing