We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“If you want guaranteed kanagaroos and the perfect...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Knights Hill, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HLINSTEAD
Sydney, N.S.W., AUSTRALIA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you want guaranteed kanagaroos and the perfect luxurious hide-away Yarrawa Hill is the answer.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Take luxurious snacks, booze and whatever you want to eat and settle in. No need to leave the building . It's superbly isolated so you will have the peace to finish writing the best-seller.
The kids can go exploring, you can cook up a storm in the perfect kitchen, and the sea is a easy drive nearby. If you don't fancy cooking, nearby Bowral is awash with restaurants. The wonderful extra about this property is the interior decoration which is so beautiful and clearly gathered with love and affection. Everywhere you look you have the perfect vista, inside and out. Michael, the manager, was extremely helpful and attentive. 1 1/2 hours from Sydney - hard to find, but that is part of the adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the seclusion
Liked least: it would have been great to have had a pool for the kids
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpiritedA...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure Magic”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We were privileged to stay at Yarrawa Hill recently for our wedding anniversary weekend, and it surpassed our expectations in every way. We knew this would be something special from the get-go, but were in no way prepared for the ways in which this property would take a stranglehold on our hearts! As the name suggests, the house is perched amidst the trees, atop a hill at the edge of Robertson, with breathtaking views across the valley to the ocean. The property has been designed as such to take advantage of the incredible light and views, with several outdoor decks strategically placed to soak in the glorious landscape.

The house itself is massive, with split levels and separate wings, each with its own self-contained living areas, including ensuites, study areas, decks and kitchenettes. It really is quite an adventure exploring the many nooks, with surprises at every turn! For this reason, the house would be wonderful for small groups or families. However, it was just us and the dogs and despite its size, Yarrawa was incredibly cosy and intimate. It was also a joy studying the memorabilia on the walls, documenting actress Miriam Margoyles' stunning career, who apparently built the house with friends, having fallen in love with the Roberston countryside while filming Babe many years ago.

As an avid cook, the kitchen was a show-stopper for me. Beautifully designed and open plan to take in the views, and perfect for entertaining. As Yarrawa is a home, first and foremost, it has all of the comforts and luxuries you'd expect and we were not left wanting for anything. The grand library in the hallway/entranceway is truly a thing of beauty and the various fireplaces throughout the home added to its special ambience.

We didn't want to leave the house, but when we did venture out, we took in the incredible beauty of the bush via the many walking tracks and look-out points around the house. Michael, the agent who manages the property was fantastic, highlighting some of Robertson's best kept (and not so well-kept) secrets in town, such as the Robertson Pie Shop and Pizzas in the Mist (best pizzas we've had, hands-down). We frequented the local hotel for a beer and enjoyed hitting the local gallery and antique trail. The locals are incredibly friendly and down to earth and despite its Babe-fame, it's a lot quieter and less 'touristy' than other parts of the Southern Highlands (such as Berry and Kangaroo Valley), which we appreciated. We really did feel as though we were uncovering a hidden gem.

Out if pure selfishness, I did consider (albeit, fleetingly) not posting this review in fear of everyone being let in on what I consider to be one of the best kept secrets in the Highlands, but it's too special a place not to share it with others. It was with a heavy heart that we left Yarrawa and made the journey home, but we've taken with us some magical memories that we will hold dear for the rest of our lives. We will be back - again and again, for it is truly a home away from home and I'm happy to say that this enchanting part of the world, in one fell swoop, has stolen our hearts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan, living areas, decks, fireplaces, kitchen, walks, views and dog-friendly.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charismic, charming, away from it all.”
Reviewed 15 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Yarrawa Hill was a charming, charismatic home. A home away from home with total privacy. Glorious views on the south coast of NSW, especially at night. We felt we were amongst the trees ,but yet so close to Robertson. A fun weekend with great friends. A wonderful host greeted us without much fuss and left us to explore this enchanting house. Thoroughly recommend Yarrawa Hill to any of our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Serenity, charm
Liked least: Beds a little too small
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2011
So glad you had a good time. Many thanks for this nice review; do come back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterbald...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want the best of the southern highlands and a view of the ocean this is the place”
Reviewed 4 July 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This place is designed so that you can enjoy the company of your friends and be sure that you will all still be friends when you leave. There is lots of space - lots of bedrooms, bathrooms, separate living areas and decks - all uniquely styled and beautiful.
Want a barbecue on the deck with a view to the sea?
Want a fantastic kitchen to cook a dinner party?
Want to find a book and relax in a quiet space?
Want to watch a movie in front of an open fire?
Want to head off for a walk in the rainforest?
Want a short drive to some great restaurants?
Then look no further than Yarrawa Hill.
There is one downside though - leaving.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cremorne
Reviewed 6 April 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Large rooms
Liked least: Not being able to use barb a que
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Large groups Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barton
Reviewed 22 March 2010 for a stay in March 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Unique location & property
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Ryde
Reviewed 11 March 2010 for a stay in October 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Luxury and isolation
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing