We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
210
53
4
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
210
53
4
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

We will be back. The relaxed atmosphere combined with the mountain charm and the complete spa experience make for a very good experience. The food is excellent, the service quick and friendly but not intrusive, and the setting great. Not a touristy place at all: sort of homey luxury. Gorgeous scenery, nice walks, excellent pools.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dven8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2015

This was a long longed for winter vacation; the first one for me in many years and the first one ever for my young family.
A friend of us is a regular at the Sonklarhof and told us about it; he also told us that 'first someone must die before you can get a room; they are booked for years ahead by the same regulars'.
We were lucky to have been informed last August that somebody cancelled and one of the two apartments are available at the same time our friend is going; we immediately reserved for the 8 nights the apartment was available.
The hotel is, I think, 4 star and it deserves each one. One for the rooms, one for the service and staff, one for the heated in-and outdoor swimming pool, the sauna and the Jacuzzis and one for the outstanding kitchen, food and wines.
Included is a huge breakfast buffet, a lunch buffet, cakes and strudels all afternoon and a minimum 4 course dinner, not including the salad, cheese and dessert buffet.
The apartment was big enough for one couple and two small kids and just 10 minutes walk or so down the hill from the main hotel. This was a welcome forced walk most mornings and evenings; at times we felt lazy or in a hurry and drove up and down.
The ski resort is in the next valley; there is a free bus several times a day or otherwise its a 20 minute drive.
The average age is 60+, our young(er) family was a welcome and entertaining change, so we thought.

Date of stay: December 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank artalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It was our very first time in this hotel, since we have heard of its charm since ages.
And it was really a enjoyable experience. We booked the Arnika suite, with two small balconies overlooking the valley.
The overall experience was satisfactory and relaxing, including the superb breakfast buffet, dinner and the lovely light-lunch near the fireplace.
The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially Helga, our guide during the hiking. Special activities are planned both for morning hours as well as during the nights. We enjoyed a charming and chilling night walk with torches!
The complimentary SPA is very distinctive and recently renovated, as well as the outside pool, a truly gem among pines, snow and peaks!
The only point is the aged clients that makes the hotel not very attractive for youngers and couples!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara235
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Will come back to this place in this quite valley. Really enjoyed the atmosphere. Came there to relax. Succeded. Main clientele silver ager. All friendly, funny mixture of Swabians and Italians. Food and service convincing. Very good standard!

Room tip: Rooms facing north enjoy a phantastic panorama
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews