We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you're looking for rest and relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“If you're looking for rest and relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

We chose Harry's based on online reviews and while the stay didn't disappoint, it is time for an updated review.

Like previous reviews have said, the service here is great. We stayed during the low season and because of that we would often be the only ones at the restaurant for lunch and 95% of the time I even had the pool entirely to myself. Over three days we saw only four other pairs of guests and it was like the entire place was empty. Not to say this was a bad thing, but I'll elaborate.

There's a lot available at Harry's including the pool, sunning chairs, massage area, chill out lounge, internet cafe and restaurant, but being the low season (or just the low number of guests?) there wasn't much activity going on. I would imagine that when the place is full every person would be able to find something to do or a spot for themselves. Fortunately for me, I was able to bring my book and iPod and relax anywhere I wanted (chairs, shade and fans are everywhere). With about 20 bungalows, I would estimate that Harry's can have up to 50 guests at maximum capacity and in such a case I can see the place being crowded (though probably really fun for families). However, you could always go on a day trip (most leave at or before 9am) around Samui and the brochures are all available at the front desk.

We did have some issues with the bungalows though, like the water smelling like rotten eggs from time to time, ants and bugs in the room and being only given one towel per person which we had to use for the beach, pool and just drying off in the bathroom shower. The second bedroom is cordoned off with a curtain and when done so the air conditioner from the main room can't actually reach the second bedroom anymore.

While breakfast is included (a la carte) in the stay, lunch and dinner can be had on the premises at their restaurant or you can venture outside. If you do stay though, there's a wide variety of fresh prawn and seafood on the menu (I recommend the prawn cakes) with prices being quite low.

Some literature for Harry's also says that the property has a beachfront view, and while this is technically true, as of October 2008 there's a large wall surrounding Harry's and all the new resorts being constructed around the property. Harry's isn't on the beach and there's no direct access (perhaps in the past there was?) but Harry's can drive you there if you ask and it's a 10-15 minute walk back to the property. It's a little inconvenient but quite safe. The beach in this area also isn't landscaped, but it's quiet and you can be left alone to relax.

It's still a great property with great service and the price can't be beat. There's a large resort next door, Samui Buri, with all the amenities but at last check the daily rate was 4 times more than Harry's. With all the other new resorts being built around the area (it was construction everywhere), I'm glad I was able to take advantage of the great rates here before they all skyrocket.

I would highly recommend Harry's for families or anyone just looking for quiet relaxation. I know the two seem to contradict, but if you stay here it'll make sense.

  • Liked — The on-site restaurant was delicious!
  • Disliked — The bathrooms in the bungalows could have been nicer.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Smashing2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    78
    30
    8
    0
See reviews for
63
86
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
263 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2008

I stayed at Harry's for 3 days during October of 08. This was obviously the low season as there was maybe only 5 guests at the bungalows.

Overall the experience was excellent. Staff spoke good English and would help you with anything you asked.

The restaurant was excellent and like the room rates was very cheap. Breakfast was included every day.

Since the resort is located on Maenam beach you can expect there to be a lot less people. There were times where we were the only people on the beach for about 400 meters.

Not sure if this is new or not but although the beach is 50 meters it is a 10min walk or they will drive you there via tuk tuk. The reason this is it seems that the resort beside Harry's bought the land between Harry's and the beach.

The bunglaows are small but not tiny. The washroom also has the shower with a curtain separating it. It should be noted as this is an island the plumbing is not the best and sometimes I found the water to smell.

From the airport you can take minibus 6 to Harry's for 150baht a person or take a taxi for about 600baht. On the way back staff at harry's drove us to the airport for 400baht.

  • Liked — cheap rent/food, quiet beach
  • Disliked — water can stink at times
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

Harry's is a brilliant place, cheap price including breakfast, maybe 1100 to 1500 baht depending on season. Food is excellent and cheap. Staff are fantastic, can't do enough to help. A lovely quiet location with an excellent pool and beautiful gardens. More for families and honeymooners than party animals

Can't recommend it highly enough, you can pay loads more and not go close to this, highly underrated

  • Liked — quality of service and tranquility of location
  • Disliked — building work going on out the back but that will be finished soon
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Albany_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2008

We are very glad that our first contact with Thailand was with Harrys and their staff. The Bungalows are very clean and nice. The service is better than any other place we visited during our stay in Thailand! If you are looking for a nice quiet place to stay in Koh Samui, this is it. Sawadee...!

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maryCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.9 mi away
Amarin Samui Hotel
Amarin Samui Hotel
#21 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.2 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Florist Resort
Florist Resort
#19 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Samui Heritage Resort
Samui Heritage Resort
#85 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pinnacle Resort Samui
Pinnacle Resort Samui
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shangri-La Bungalows
Shangri-La Bungalows
#13 of 52 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant

Property: Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
Address: 26/9-5 Wat Napralarn, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#39 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harry`s Bungalows & Restaurant Hotel Koh Samui
Harry`s Bungalows And Restaurant
Harrys Hotel Koh Samui
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing