We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The friendliest hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaweng Tara Resort
Ranked #111 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Sevenoaks, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The friendliest hotel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

I can never really be bothered to leave reviews about places i stay and stuff but this hotel deserves it! Never in my life have i encountered such amazing customer service. This family run hotel is clean and spacious and brilliant value for money. Its quiet as its set away from all the craziness but close enough to go out every night. Your rooms cleaned (plus fresh towels and sheets) every day, theres a laundry service, its close to the beach and you have a fridge, safe and tv in your room. Theres no restaurant in the hotel but if you do fancy a night in they deliver anything in Thailand! But the best thing about this hotel is honestly the people. The family who own it are all so lovely and the main man running it is the nicest person ive ever met. good English and will go out of his way to help you. He even gave us his car free of charge for 3 days!!!!!! I can't explain how comfortable he made us feel........so you'll just have to try it yourself.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancescaR1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    19
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
24
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I was fortunate to stumble upon this hotel. I walked in late in the evening and was greeted with a smile and given assistance immediately. One of the owners treated me warmly right away and set me up in a spacious, clean, extremely comfortable room. While the hotel is not on the beach, it's right across the street from the beach and resorts that are happy to have you patronize them with food and drink. There is plenty of beach access, as well as stretches that are open without having to go to a resort. The hotel is a short taxi drive away from the main strip of Chaweng. At Tara, I had my laundry done, and was given good advice on how to visit the other islands. I was also assisted by the elderly mother who is the main owner and who couldn't have been sweeter in her demure and helpful way. This is a great value for the dollar. Many hotels here are very corporate but this was a little family that welcomed you. It also happened to have the best bed I have slept on throughout my travels in Southeast Asia. I felt rejuvenated when I left.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PickyNewYorker426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

The owner is friendly and pretty helpful. He upgraded room for me to superior room on the second floor. The room is big and the bed is comfortable. However, the bathroom is not so clean (Bath tub, spray hose) There're fridge and cable TV in room. There's no restaurant in the hotel. If you want to eat at some places nearby, you need to walk uphill about 5 minutes to the reasonable price restaurants and to the convenient store ,which is pretty dangerous because there's no footpath. You have to share a way with vehicles. At night it's quite dark also. I recommend you to walk to the right from in front of Chaweng Tara hotel. There's good restaurant in Impiana hotel nearby where you can also enter the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junemitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed 13 nights at this hotel. Perfect cost effectiveness - 1000,- Baht (about 25,-€)- for me. I don't need a pool, only a quiet, well airconditioned and clean room with a little safe and a reliable chambermaid. There was always (24 hours) somebody on duty at the reception opposite the entrance. Therefore I felt very safe here too. . Extra services like laundry and some breakfasts and beers were charged reasonably. My room number was 405. As other reviews stated before: Very friendly and helpful staff. A family run hotel. I felt always welcome and at home here. It is of course a professional friendliness, but nevertheless a very pleasant experience. I wish we had more of this attitude towards customers in Germany.
The hotel's internet access downstairs was unfortunately out of order for the time being there, but WLAN/WiFI for my iPhone worked perfectly.

I would book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FullmoononChaweng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We are here on our honeymoon and didn't have the budget for a fancy resort but we didn't want to chance it in a guest house. Chewing Tara was a great compromise...it's a great location, great room and great service without all the bells and whistles we didn't really need for this leg of our trip. The hotel is located directly across the street from a quiet beach lined by a few resorts and several quaint beach restaurants and bars. The hustle and bustle of Chaweng proper is only a short 5-10 minute cab/scooter ride away and both of these are easy to come by. We are grateful for the fre wifi and the helpful staff who arranged for laundry service for us and recommended/booked two day trips for us to enjoy while we're here. Perfect for travelers on a budget...but not on a shoestring.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NCGrif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed here for just one night on our way to Koh Tao. The hotel was situated just across the road from the beach at Chaweng Noi. The rooms were modern, simple, large and clean. It's easy to hop on the back of one of the buses that come by on a regular basis into Chaweng town on the night time. Staff are friendly and provide towels for the beach. They have a little shop in reception where you can buy snacks, cans of pop and beer. If you want to be near a nice quiet beach but still within a short distance to the nightlife of Chaweng then this hotel is ideal. You can’t beat the room rates, it was very cheap for the location and ideal for our short 1 night stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

What this family run hotel might not have when it comes to location and amenities, it has so richly in service, friendliness and authenticity. This family - mama Tara and papa Tara as I call them, will do everything for you. They are the nicest people I have met in Thailand. And I've met many nice people in Thailand. Believe me, you will not regret staying at this hotel. Just make sure to ask for the right room. They have rooms to the busy road and rooms to the quiet tropical garden.They have plain rooms with all the basic things you need: big fridge, tub, shower, TV etc. And they have luxury rooms. Your choice. No, the hotel is not on the beach, but it only takes a few minutes to get there. And no, it has no pool, but all the hotels on Chaweng Noi beach have pools and they will let you swim in them as long as you buy a few drinks. Chaweng Noi is not a busy beach. It's small, quiet and beautiful, the water is clear, there's a sala and a few bars and restaurants. All you need for a peaceful, relaxing time. Oh, and by the way - go up to the Jungle Club to enjoy a meal, a swim and the stunning view. It's right behind Tara. Order the jeep to come and pick you up - no ordinary car will take you there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spirits-in-the-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
First Residence Hotel
First Residence Hotel
#40 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.4 mi away
City Dance Hotel
City Dance Hotel
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MM House
MM House
#47 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nantra Chaweng Beach
Nantra Chaweng Beach
#71 of 104 in Chaweng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Tara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Tara Resort

Property: Chaweng Tara Resort
Address: 6//36 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi | Tambon Bophut, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chaweng Tara Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaweng Tara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Tara Hotel Bophut
Chaweng Tara Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing