We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Manager - Lost our reservation”
Review of The Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lodge
Ranked #96 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I booked and paid for a room at The Lodge a day in advance via Agoda. Upon arrival, there was no record of our reservation and the only room that was available had 1 bed, whereas the room I had booked was a penthouse room with 2 beds to accommodate 3 adults. The front desk staff was confused, but friendly. She offered to get the manager on the phone and that's where things turned really sour.

The manager was not at all apologetic and acted as if this mishap was my problem to deal with. She kept yelling that they had quit taking Agoda reservations "10 days ago" despite my having paid for the room the day before. I asked her to find an adequate alternative to the room I had booked, and her response was that the room they had available could have been mine, but that I "wouldn't have it." (Because it would not sleep 3 adults!). She made no offer to help me get a refund for the room (which I got via Agoda, very easily) or even help us find a room at another hotel - which is standard hotel practice.

The woman working the front desk did walk around and try to find places, but they would not have paid for the room as most hotels would when they make an error like this.

In the end, I hung up the phone with the manager and left. We quickly found a friendly, accommodating hotel just down the street for our last night in Koh Samui. I'm still a little angry that this whole episode cost me 1-2 hours of valuable beach time on my last day in the beaches.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank KW1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

The best location in Bo Phut. Situated at the end of the main street, and at the same time, on the beach. All 8 rooms have sea view and balconies facing the sea. The hotel is well run, but lacks a bit maintenance here and there (but no big issues). The location is perfect, the beach on one side of the hotel, the main street at the other side. Lots of good restaurants just footsteps away. The Frog & Gecko Pub is in the next building, but we did not experience any noise. You practically have everything you need within 1 minute walking distance, supermarket, beach, shops, restaurants. This is our favourite hotel in Bo Phut, we also stayed there in 2006, and will stay here again if we return. This time we stayed in December, unfortunately the wind was quite strong so there was not swimming conditions due to quite high waves. The staff are very nice, but there is room for improvement regarding the service in the restaurant (our eggs at breakfast were not fried properly and were more or less fluid, we asked for them to fix it without any luck - but there might have been some language challenges). The manager was very helpful, she gave us complimentary breakfast for the whole week and even drove us to the speedboat dock. Great value for money!

Room Tip: There is a shack in front of the hotel at the eastern side, destroying some of the ocean view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gromness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed with my wife 12 days back for 3 nights. Fisherman's village is a good place to be in. The lodge is right on the beach, staying in pent house room we were thrilled with the view, breeze & sound of sea. only problem was the stairs to go up two floor - narrow & steep. there is no room service. Staff is good & co-operative, food reasonable-there is multiple options in fisherman's village.
Beach is clean, but sand is not very fine, sea looks brownish - not blue as in chawen beach. If you like to bathe & swim in sea, then Bophut is not for you. If, like us, you love walking in peace on the beach, lodge is the place o be in.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_acm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great place to stay while in Koh Samui. Koh Samui was a super busy island. The Lodge was a great escape and we had a fantastic view from the balcony to the ocean. Fisherman's village is a fun place to wander around in with lots of shopping and good restaurants.

Room Tip: If you are into fitness, go to the Yogarden that is close by for great yoga too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Me, my father and my sister stayed at The Lodge last month for 4 days. It was definitely the best hotel we saw during out trip in Thailand. The rooms are big and clean with nice forniture. The view from the balcony is stunning and the staff is welcoming and always really helpfull! Thank you so much..we will never forget this place :)

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Maela2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My wife and I spent a week at the Lodge in October 2013. What a charming little place! We had Bonnie at the Yogarden put together a package for us which included accommodation at the Lodge. the staff were excellent - very attentive, very friendly, and accommodating. we stayed in the Penthut #2 which is on the higher floor complete with a comfortable bed and beautiful balcony overlooking the beach. The room wasn't overly large but it certainly met all our needs. This is not a 5 star accommodation but we knew that going in and it provided excellent value for money. The restaurant downstairs was very good - we indulged in the curries, spring rolls, a few of the sandwiches, and breakfasts. Drinks were cold and refreshing - mojitos and margaritas being our favourites!

The location is fantastic - within walking distance of everything in Fisherman's village. Directly on the beach too. It was nice to sit out front for a couple drinks after dinner and just watch the bustle on the street. If you are looking for luxury I would look elsewhere - The Lodge is a charming, affordable hotel that provides a warm personal touch. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Penthuts are great - top floor and big balconies. Not the best for people who have trouble with sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbrown10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Cheap and cheerful boutique accommodation right on the beach in "Fisherman's Village"
Impeccably clean with beautiful, polite and attentive staff. Free bottled water every day, fruit on arrival, bath and beach towels, option for 3 meals a day and inexpensive. Lovely view from ac'd room, also with ceiling fans, fridge and safe.
If you are after a 5 star resort with all the bells and whistles this is not the place for you but we enjoyed our 3 starred "The Lodge" far more than the 5 star resort we stayed in prior and price was not our big issue.
Would return

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. Higher floors private balconies, ground floors small shared lawn area 5 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madeleine671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0 mi away
MM House
MM House
#48 of 104 in Chaweng
28 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
Baan Bophut Beach Hotel
#60 of 185 in Bophut
317 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#20 of 185 in Bophut
996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#76 of 185 in Bophut
207 reviews
3.4 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge

Address: 91/1 Moo 1 Fisherman's Village, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £11 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge Hotel is a small and affordable hotel, fantastically located on the beach and in the heart of Fisherman's Village in Bo Phut, Koh Samui. All of its 8 en-suite rooms have balconies with unobstructed views across the sea to Koh Pah-Ngang. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Koh Samui
The Lodge Koh Samui
The Lodge Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing