We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Q Signature Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #127 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Reviewed 23 January 2013

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Very nice hotel! It was a pleasure staying there! Lovely rooms and the food was awesome! We hired a motorbike from the hotel to go to the center and it was a great experience! ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------------

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimosa17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

THE RESORT


Q Signature Samui Beach Resort (www.qsignatureresort.com) is a vacation destination we would definitely recommend to our family and friends.

The resort was built over a decade ago and - as other reviewers have noted - you will undoubtedly notice much of the evident wear and tear that time (and probably the lack of a high level of maintenance) has left behind over the years.

Despite the fact that it has seen better days, the resort is remarkably and magically charming with its traditional Thai architecture & lush landscaping.

We marvelled at the many beautiful views within the resort grounds and the fabulous vistas from its pretty perch on a hillside.

The two main swimming pool areas - one at the top of the hill and the other lower at the main reception building - are both marvellous and picturesque.

A short stroll downhill and to the left of the resort is a crescent bay of Choeng Mon beach with soft white sand and shallow knee-high balmy warm waters perfect for soaking in.


SERVICE


Service was excellent.

Characteristically a gentle and polite people, the Thais are also naturally friendly, cheerful, warm and hospitable as a race ... intrinsic qualities that make excellent hosts.

There will always be problems and there will always be some other place that is better.

Most of us who have travelled frequently & extensively instinctively know that complaining bitterly & vehemently is often not the nicest way of resolving issues.

Language and cultural differences can cause additional problems but smile and be cheerful ... polite diplomacy works wonders.

You get what you give ... so be generous with your voluntary gratuities.

An extra 100 or 200 THB once a while as a token of your gratitude will go a long way towards encouraging & rewarding excellent service.

Our experiences with reception staff, restaurant servers, room maids and other service personnel were always cheerful & happy throughout our stay at the resort.


FOOD


Our holiday package deal included buffet breakfast every morning and the food was good with a lot more variety than the meals we would regularly have at home.


ACCOMMODATION


Strictly-speaking, if we applied world-class standards, it would be misleading to label the resort as a whole nor the rooms we stayed in as "luxurious" because of the lack of a high level of finese, polish & refinement and attention-to-detail one would expect when using such an adjective to describe a place.

For instance, in a truly genuine luxury accommodation - for which you would expect to pay many times more - one would expect immaculately spotless towels (unlike the slightly stained ones in our rooms); perfectly clear streak-free glass walls & windows; lacquered/stained timber that is always well-maintained; and brass/steel fittings & fixtures that are always polished to a shine ... among many other little details.

However, you would be disappointed to expect all that.

The rooms and amenities were, nevertheless, generally clean in our opinion and they were very attractive and enchanting in their traditional Thai design.

If you adjust your expectations accordingly, it would not be difficult to really enjoy the resort for what it really is ... a little jaded on the surface but still ravishingly beautiful in its soul.

Albeit its deficiencies, this boutique resort is undoubtedly a lovely gem and very pleasant & peaceful oasis when compared to the majority of other places to stay anywhere in Asia.

To put it in proper perspective, it would simply not be fair to be overly critical/demanding considering what we paid for our stay at Q Signature in Koh Samui.


UPGRADE OPTION


Although we have visited the Kingdom of Thailand several times over the last 40 years, it was our first trip to Koh Samui.

Through Expedia, we booked a week's accommodation and return flight from Singapore (where we are staying for 2 months as our winter sojourn from Canada) for 1,800 SGD for the two of us.

Taxi transfer from the airport was arranged directly with the resort for 400 THB.

After 4 nights in pavilion room #619 at the top of the hill with fantastic panoramic views, we later upgraded to villa #205 with a shared private pool for our last 3 nights.

If you are offered the option to upgrade from a pavilion room to one of their villas at the reception desk for an additional 1,000 THB a night ... just take it!

It was an offer we accepted ... much to our subsequent delight.


RESTFUL SLEEP


Yes, the mattress is very firm ... but for the first time in a very long time, both of us had the MOST RESTFUL SLEEP of our lives!!!

We are definitely going to switch to a much much firmer mattress when we get home to Canada.

If it is too hard for you, however, you could always request for some padding to soften it.


JUST A FEW WORDS


As an educated savvy traveller, it always helps to be able to speak a few useful words of the language of the country you are visiting.

Your hosts will appreciate the effort you put into learning their language and culture.

Learn to speak some Thai or - at the very least - use these two frequently spoken gender-specific phrases:

"sawadee krup" (males) / "sawadee ka" (females) = "hello (greetings)"

"kob khun krup" (males) / "kob khun ka" (females) = "thank you"

To be polite, "krup" (with the "r" almost silent) is used by males while "ka" by female speakers at the end of sentences.


WIFI


There is FREE wifi at the reception lobby and for 300 THB you can have internet access that you can take with you to your room for 7 days.


SCOOTING AROUND


We rented a scooter (with full insurance) for 5 days for 1,750 THB and had a great time riding around the island. It is just 10 minutes to Chaweng from the resort for some night entertainment, shopping & dinner and about 4 hours to leisuirely circumnavigate the island using route #4169 with stopovers at Fisherman's Village, Nathon and Lamai.

Koh Samui is only about 25 km at its widest point and the best way to explore this little island would be on a motor bike which would allow you to park almost anywhere and visit many places which are not accessible by car.

Check out Khaosan restaurant in Chaweng for good food, excellent attentive service, competitive prices ... and for people watching.

Coconuts are a major primary export from the island: the clean clear juice is fragrant, sweet and refreshing and, if you are lucky, you might even get one with jelly-soft white "flesh" which you can scrap out with a spoon and savour from inside the nut.

It helps to cool you down and goes very well with hot spicy foods.

Try it ... instead of pop, beer or wine.


KOH TAO EXCURSION


A day trip to Koh Tao island was recommended to us ... and we went for it. The ferry trip is 2 hours from Koh Samui to Koh Tao and another 2 hours back, so it might be a good idea to bring something to read/listen/watch/play enroute.

Note that the entire beach at Koh Tao is very painful to the bare feet because you will be walking on small pieces of sharp broken coral and not soft sand.

Bring your water shoes!


AIRPORT TRANSFER


Our flight arrival at Koh Samui on Bangkok Airways reminded us of the delightful small airport at Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic.

Both have been designed with culturally-specific references and - if it is your first time arriving at either island - the airport immediately sets the scene and puts you in a holiday mood right away.

If you have a pre-arranged taxi transfer with the resort, you will need to make your way to the "meeting point" ... after collecting your luggage and coming out into a small courtyard, take the sheltered passageway on the left and (unintuitively) walk away from the main arrival area for about 3 minutes to get there.

The resort is less than 10 minutes away from the airport by car.


VIDEO


Here is a link to a video compilation of our trip to Koh Samui, including footage of Q Signature resort:

http://youtu.be/cKUsdSCtWoQ

Enjoy!


DON'T WORRY, BE HAPPY!


And if you have already booked to stay at Q Signature Samui Beach Resort, don't worry ... be happy!

Have a fantastic trip!





* * * * *



P. S. Oh ... just in case the placard warning sign is missing (if you are staying in an upper level pavilion room): if you do not wish to risk falling off the balcony, be sure not to lean against the frail timber railings.

And be careful as some stairs/steps/passageways can be quite steep and slippery when wet.

Don't say we did not warn you! :-)




* * * * *

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sheratoncadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Q Sig - as usual we were overwhelmed by the warm greeting and the service at the resort.
Parts of the resort are in the process of being upgraded but it is carries out in a quiet and non intrusive manner so it did not disturb our stay.
We also had a chance to join the cooking class with the chef and had a rest time trying to produce some Thai dishes.
We will be back again :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My friend recommends Q Signature as the best resort to stay in Samui and this is true. Very welcome staff, nice atmosphere, and great accommodation. The food is awesome. Will recommend to other friends and will definitely return if we have a chance to go to Thailand again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BabyArnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were disappointed with the Q Signature because it claims to be a 4-5 star hotel and we were expecting significantly higher quality all-round. In its current state it is pretty rundown and has major issues with the room service/maintenance. Our bathroom had moldy spots, the tiles were dirty and the towels were old, thin and scratchy. We had problems every day with the room cleaning (e.g. they forgot to replace our towels one day, forgot to clean it at all another day, and left dirty towels and plates outside doors all over the resort). Not 4-5 star quality. Many reviewers have commented about the rotten wood everywhere and A/C that doesn't work too well (agreed on both). The positives about this hotel include the views (truly spectacular!!), the location, the pools (there are several on-site), and many of the staff who were extremely nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankviz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The hotel is essentially fine in terms of cleanliness, etc, Has two main pool areas (one by lobby and one up in the middle of the standard rooms), in addition there are "private" pools available to those paying a higher price for a villa type room.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

There is a nice beach about 3 min walk from the hotel. On the beach you can get massage, or visit one of the restaurants, or just take a nice swim.

There were no particular kids activities other than swimming in the pools.

What pulls down my rating is that it is clear that there is a very limited (at best) maintenance program: This means that there are many details in the hotel (in our case leaking shower hose, broken light switches, leaking ceiling in bathroom - constant dropping of water from above, missing sealing between bathtub and tiles). For a top class hotel maintenance need to be done continuously, and even though most of our problems were fixed quickly, they should not have been there at all - they are very visible to all staff working. This is, in my experience, not a problem with the staff, but a management problem. Mgmt need to take quality seriously at this level and train staff accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrdlnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

We came to the hotel on a timeshare offer which provided a week accomodation, 7 breakfasts, 2 spa sessions and free airport transfers, in exchange for attending a 90 minute timeshare presentation. Excellent value! The hotel has seen better days but is still a really nice place to stay. The staff were all very friendly, but the front desk could do with some better organization and some more English speaking staff.
The entrance road to the hotel is a bit shabby, but the hotel is fairly well located, a short walk down to the hotel beach, and a slightly longer walk around the corner to find plenty of restaurants and massage places.
Hotel offered free transport to Chaweng beach at certain times of the day. Otherwise taxi prices are quite high to travel from the hotel to nearby beaches and attractions...price collusion?
We suggest renting a car and spending a day driving around Samui. Scooters are cheaper, but higher risk...
Chaweng is packed with hotels, restaurants and clubs, great for night life, but a bit seedy during the day. Rather travel to Fishermans Village for good restaurant fare, but less night life.
The hotel has a travel agent on site to arrange trips to nearby islands like Koh Tao or Koh Phangan or to the Ang Thong National Marine Park (with the famous Emerald Lake).

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveWickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.2 mi away
Samui Honey Cottages Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
The Baiyoke Seacoast Resort
The Baiyoke Seacoast Resort
#276 of 317 in Ko Samui
32 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#4 of 10 in Choeng Mon
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Muang Samui Villas
Royal Muang Samui Villas
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
802 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
White House Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q Signature Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q Signature Samui Beach Resort

Address: 24/73 Moo 5, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £28 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Q Signature Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
q Signature Samui Beach Hotel Bophut
Q Signature Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing