We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”
Review of ibis Samui Bophut

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ibis Samui Bophut
Ranked #45 of 186 Hotels in Bophut
dudley
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good for the price”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had stayed in chaweng first. Then moved to ibis, really like fishermans village lovely restaurants food fanatic at all restaurants we ate at. Stayed 3nights at ibis and will be coming back a further 1 night at the end of our holiday. For the price we paid its a bargain.
Clean rooms nice pool area. The building does lack a bit of the holiday feel due to the size of it and looking more basic compared to some other resorts along the front but there probably triple the price. About 20mins work to fishermans village beach hard to walk along as very gritty.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne21p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina S, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear jayne21p,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at ibis!

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our pool and the cleanliness of our rooms.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best wishes,

Katharian S.
ibis Samui Bophut
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    721
    258
    77
    39
See reviews for
369
623
131
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location, clean, well maintained grounds- we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! They keep the rooms clean and tidy, breakfast is good with lots to choose from and an egg station. Pool is very nice and is on the beach. Highly recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Courtney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina S, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Courtney B,

Thank you very much for the short but complimentary review posted on Tripadvisor!

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay here at ibis Samui Bophut. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed our pool, rooms and breakfast.

What is indeed unique about ibis Samui Bophut is the location directly on the beach.

Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best wishes,

Katharina S.
ibis Samui Bophut
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in early March. The hotel is not in the heart of the tourist precinct, which was a relief for us as we had just been in Phuket for 5 nights and was keen to just relax.

When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed with a big open reception area. The staff weren't too friendly when we arrived though. We got our room card and got taken to our room...which is quite compact. We were on the ground floor and our mini balcony had a view of concrete and a fence. Plus when we only opened the door for a few seconds, mosquitoes flew right in. We called maintenance to get this fixed and their solution was to spray Mortein in our room, over our bed - wait 10 minutes and then go back in to see a bed of dead mosquitoes in the room.

Our bathroom was nothing but a small hole in the wall. There was no shower screen or curtain and the drainage was poorly designed. So when we took a shower, water was going over the toilet and sink areas. Ugh.

But all is saved with the location. You are seconds away from the hotel pools which overlooks the beach, to which the hotel has it's own private section. This was definitely the highlight and the reason why I'm giving it 4/5 rating. On the beach, there are locals who are selling street food and at night, the restaurant next door has a beachside seating area. We were lucky to have dinner when it was seafood grill night - everything there was perfect.

The breakfast buffet is just the right size - not too limited but enough for you to think about what you want to eat.

Around the hotel, there is an ATM out front, a Family Mart just a minute down the road and were probably about 20min walk to Fisherman's Village. There are a few massage and local restaurants but we didn't try this.

Checkout again was dismal with poor customer service. All I needed was for my cash deposit to be returned and eventhough I had been attended to, I had to wait 5 minutes because she was going through paperwork for someone else. This was frustrating as our airport transfer was waiting for us.

Summed up - come for the local touch and the beachside experience. Perhaps also ask for a room that isn't on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't on the ground floor and in the buildings that are closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cici-N247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Spent 10 days in a standard room with garden view - was small but very clean and perfect for our needs. Great value, worked out to be GBP30 a night.
Rooms were cleaned daily and they replaced the beach towels too. Small balcony and bathroom but no complaints. fab air-con and free safe and daily bottled water.
The pool are is just amazing for a 3 star property - right on the beach. 4 pools to choose and never an issue with getting sun-beds. Always loads free.
Breakfast was poor that was my only complaint.
The Pool bar offered 2 daily happy hours for beer, smoothies and cocktails-delicious. they also served delicious food and had a huge choice of both BBQ, European and Thai food. Service with a smile and reasonable prices.
Alternatively there was the lady selling food from the Kayak just on the beach outside the hotel-v cheap and delicious.
Hotel has a massage area offering a huge variery from GBP5 an hour oil massage. I had the Wat Pho and Thai which was great- warning they pull you and move you around and even stand on you a one point.
Free Wifi throughout the hotel and use of 3 Pcs in the lobby area.
Check-in/out was quick and they were very helpful.
I loved this hotel and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it.
10 minutes walk to the Fishermans wharf area which is a must. Friday night market there is fantastic and decent prices.
Taxis close by and can pre-book at the excursion desk.
Supermarket opposite.
Loved this hotel thank you Ibis

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina S, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear cles22,

Greetings from sunny Samui!

Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review of our hotel!

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is a pleasure to know that you appreciate the location of our hotel, the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of our staff! As well as our swimming pools and our free Wi-Fi!

Unfortunately we are sad to read your comments about the breakfast. Please accept my sincere apologies for this matter.

At ibis, our goal is to provide great service and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices.

We appreciate the 5 star rating of ibis Samui Bophut and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Wishes,

Katharina S.
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel situated on the beautiful beach of bophut.

Close to the quaint Fisherman's village offering a huge choice of chilled out bars and restaurants.

The staff were very polite and amenable, especially Kathy who was very knowledgable about the island and always gave me a lovely welcome and smile.

The rooms were immaculately clean, not the best of views on my first visit but for the money I was paying I didn't expect the ritz, however this improved on my second visit and I was given a lovely view of the garden with ocean glimpses.

The food is very reasonably priced, very tasty and nicely presented.

The beach and pool areas were very clean and there was no shortage of loungers to relax in.

The hotel seemed genuinely environmentally focused and has adopted many methods to reduce its energy use plus other schemes to reduce its impact on the local environment.

Would recommend this hotel to couples, families and business travellers, I am sure you won't find better for your dollar!!

A lovely hotel and an enjoyable stay, I would definitely return.

A++++ Thank you

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Richyr001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina S, Guest Relations Manager at ibis Samui Bophut, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Richyr001,

Greetings from sunny Samui!

I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to write such a kind review about ibis Samui Bophut.

We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is a pleasure to read that you appreciate the location of our hotel, the cleanliness of the rooms and the friendliness of our staff! Thank you very much for your kind compliments.

We would also like to thank you for noticing and supporting our planet 21 project, to reduce the impacts of the hotel on the local environment.

I am happy to hear that you had a wonderful time in Koh Samui!

We appreciate the 5 star rating and the recommendation and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,

Katharina S.
ibis Samui Bophut
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Our phone in our room has been broken for the last 2 days of our 4 day trip. 3 different guys have tried to fix it and they have not tried to accommodate us to another room or give us another phone or anything for the inconvenience! It has been difficult trying to book tours with not only the PHONE not working but the WIFI is extremely SLOOOOWW and it continues to log you out randomly.
The KETTLE provided looks disgusting and hasn't been replaced in 5 years+.
The room is small and has very little counter space. You are not provided with a hand towel, face towel, shower cap, or other things normally provided at hotels.
The restaurant is OVERPRICED and service is sllllooowww.

I would not recommend this place nor would I stay here again.

WARNING: do not go shopping in the markets in fisherman's village (20 mins away from hotel), they x2 the prices here compared to Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Phucket, and Koh Phi Phi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sher88zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
429 reviews
4.4 mi away
Imperial Boat House Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#13 of 186 in Bophut
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#9 of 30 in Mae Nam
535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
719 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Samui Bophut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Samui Bophut

Property: ibis Samui Bophut
Address: 197 Moo 1, Rob Koh Road | Bophut Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#34 Family Hotel in Bophut
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#55 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — ibis Samui Bophut 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright, bold and trendy, with an idyllic beachfront location and views, ibis Bophut Samui has it all.250 modern rooms, each with WiFi. 24 hour reception. Food and drink, day and night.Ten minutes from the airport and five from the pier, the hotel is packed with things to do.Sunbath on the beach, sip a cocktail at the pool bar, spoil yourself with a massage or explore the authentic fishing village nearby on a bike...The first international three star hotel in Bophut Beach, ibis Bophut Samui, is a refreshing island paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Samui Bophut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bophut Samui Hotel Bophut
Ibis Samui Bophut Ko Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing