We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great staff, great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Ranked #69 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Gaborone, Botswana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value, great staff, great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in early December for five nights as a large group before our wedding at another resort. I contacted the resort via email to book the rooms (we were a group of thirteen). Everyone had different requirements as we had toddlers and guests with limited mobility. Gina and her team were absolutely fantastic. Booking was easy and efficient although we had a number of requests. Gina was so obliging and helpful. We all arrived at different points over a couple of days and Gina efficiently arranged pick-ups and drop-offs throughout our stay. The staff were so welcoming and provided us fantastic tips on places to venture out too.

My husband and I were upgraded to the suite on the beach, it was beautiful and very much appreciated. The room had everything you could need. To welcome us they decorated the room with flowers, towel swans and heart shapes.

We hired a private boat for the day and they even arranged collection from the beach at the hotel so we didn't need to do any transfers. My aunt turned 50 whilst we were there and the staff arranged a lovely cake to be delivered to her room which had her name and a kind message on it. She was very touched. Breakfast is very good, nice simple fresh buffet with friendly staff.

This hotel is really great value for the price and is in a good location close to fishermans village and makes a good spot to explore the rest of the island. The beach outside is ok but a little crowed by boats but for the value I don't think you could do better.

A big thank you to Gina for all her help and her wonderful staff!

Room Tip: The villas closer to the beach are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelaPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Micheal,

First of all, thank you so much for choosing us for your holiday and for your lovely group. Also thank you for your kind arrange and always understanding and assist us.

I myself and our team are so glad and had a big smile when reading your nice comments. Thank you for cheer up our team. We also have a happy tine to serve your lovely group and our guests. We are so happy while our guests feel like our hip resort and enjoy their stay with us.

As we always said to the team we would do the best to our guests happy and go home with their smile and safe trip back their home.

Thank you again for coming and let me know and assist anytime you have plan to come samui. It is my pleasure to always serving and greeting you.

We wish to welcome you back and see you and your lovely group soon.

Please keep us in touch and take good care.

Kind regards,

Punnpreeda Hip Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    109
    50
    26
    12
See reviews for
33
188
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
austeria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

Dear punnpreeda,

We were stayed here for a week during early-mid of December. The weather was not so good. It was mostly rainning. At first we planed to change an iternary to another destination but our booking was non -refundable and flight also very very full so we stayed here for our whole period. My bad luck again there was an electric shutt down on the island for 4-5 days and later a big thurnderstorm happenned. So ennoy and want to go back home.

Thank god, hotel has electric cause they have a generator so we safe now. I could sleep and eat well. All staffs seem nervious and always busy but they were so kind and smile to us all time we met. No internet and phone line. All the area outside hotel was so dark and so dangerious without light. 7-11 was closed and ATM could not been cash. All other local people stand out of their house waiting for a light. There are so many people in front of reception and they all busy. i ask the staff where are they from. They said hotel allow nearby people come to charging their mobile phone and allow them to use public toilet. Good job Punnpreeda for helping people.

My vacation here like a Le fuji not a tourist but all staff here make me feel safe and warm enough. Thank you all of you to taking care us. We still enjoy your hip hotel even it may not smooth as expected. We would come back again for sure to visit all of you again. Thank you nui,som,jeab,jor for your kind service.

Good Job and thank you

Antoni

Room Tip: one day for very nice view from room #304
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Antoni,

Thank you for your nice and sincere comments on our property. During that time, we are all here try to mange and did the best and wish our guests would be fine and happy with that. Thank you so much for your kind understand our situation and also understand what we try to serve.

We wish you would come back again to samui and also stay with us. We looking forward to welcome and greeting you very soon.

Best Regards,
Punnpreeda Hip Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week early December.

First the good points:
-Had an offer where we got free upgrade for staying 5 nights from a room to a villa (thank god because all the normal rooms are over a really busy main road)

- Good central location (15 mins to airport & other places to go)

- Free kayak you can use

- Located on a small beach (it isn't private like previous reviews say although it is quiet)

- The pool is relaxing place to be although very small

Now the not so good:

- As mentioned when we booked we booked the offer "free upgrade for stays of over 5nights". Got to the hotel and were shown to a really grotty room over looking the busy and quite dirty main road. Surely if we booked the upgrade (months ago) a villa should have been booked there and then not depending on availability because thats a bit of a con really since i only booked this hotel on that offer. I would have booked elsewhere if that offer hadn't been advertised.
Anyway i decided to Enquire about free upgrade and was then taken to a villa which was there only empty villa. Fair enough. Although I think I know why!

- However upon seeing inside other villas it was the worst villa and had a lot wrong with it (see below)

- Nowhere to store clothing (2 shelves in cupboard, not sufficient for a couple for a week)

- Safe did not work when we checked in. When we complained the lady came, shook the door a bit and then it worked. It kept working on and off over next 2 days, would take us a good 10 mins to eventually lock it. Really annoying. i complained again and it was eventually sorted.

- Air con is very loud and often didnt seem to work constantly. Some nights i would put it on around 18 degrees and it would feel cool for an hour and then turn off for the rest of the night so that it would be boiling. We changed the settings so that it wasnt on auto etc but still the same.

- Second to last day only bath towels given. No hand towels.

- Our room (401) did not have a DVD player, borrowed a DVD late at night only to get to room to realise not one there and gap missing where should be. Only noticed this on last day which was stormy so we phoned reception to ask for a DVD player as nothing else to do (as other empty rooms so could borrow for a day). Lady said fine but no one came to our room. Ignored us. Walked to reception and complained again and finally the male workers put a DVD player in. All rooms should have one (as stated in their brochure) so if this didn't have all room facilities they should have looked into this ASAP without us complaining.

- Last day no one came to clean our room even though we left the "please make up our room" sign on door. We needed clean towels, bins emptied and new loo roll (as you get 1 small one a day). We had to complain and later that evening someone did come and clean it after that request.

- Think there is a real language barrier here but I also don't think staff really go out of their way to help you if there is a problem. Only few staff speak good English and they are not always around. Some of the staff if they don't understand seem to walk off and ignore rather than get a member if staff who may understand. I do not think the staff were that friendly, some were, but some were very unhelpful and rude. It gave me a bad impression of Thai people. Not sure how some people have rates this hotel an the staff highly, maybe they're used to staying in places where staff are like this and so to them it's no big deal but I am used to hotels where staff treat you like a real guest and are polite.

Lighting is awful in the room we had and the bathroom had a light over mirror and toilet but nothing over shower so very dark in shower.

- Small and silly point but I noticed other villas when cleaned the towels are put into shapes/made to look nice on the bed but ours nothing. Not treated same as other customers ( maybe because we were not paying full price for our villa).

- Says all rooms have a drying line so can people not hang clothes up outside. we didn't have a drying line in our room. Really difficult when trying to get clothes dry on last day.

- When we checked in, i asked to pay the final bill in cash, the lady who checked us in said this would be fine but took credit card details then to guarantee room which was normal. Went to check out and the lady said we owed nothing because the room money was taken off the credit card when we checked in. We hadn't wanted to use our credit card on the trip unless an emergency hence why we specifically asked this at all hotels we went to. If she wanted full payment when we checked in she could have told us this and we would have paid in cash. All the other hotels we stayed at managed to deal with our pay in cash request.

I enjoyed my stay in Koh Samui but honestly I would not stay here again. There are nicer hotels around for a similar price.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyuk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 December 2012
Dear our valued customer,

First of all, thank you for your contribution in either both sides. We are sad to hear that you would not coming back and stay at our resort. Please give and read us a time to clarify all your unsatisfactory things.

During your stay at the early December ( 10 -15 December 2012) at Hip Villa #401, we have to say that there were the two uncontrollable natural accidents happening during that week. First, was the electric cable line underwater from government had broken so there was no electric from the government for 4-5 days. Lucky, our hotel have the generator which could supply the electric through all every room in our property. Only problem we face which the generator need a gasoline to operator which we have to sent some staffs for stand by purchasing the gasoline. We do not want our guests to get in to any problems regards on the lack of electric at all. We also want to keep everything as normal but we try to inform our guests from time to time to turn on and turn off the generator for saving in case the gasoline was sold out. As mention if we safe, it could stay within 10 days by manage the schedule of electric. At that time, all of my staffs been working so hard to keep guests satisfied but may I excused that They may a had time for almost 18 hours working and stand by at the hotel. When all of the guests sleep, we just schedule staffs for relax and took the shower at the hotel bathroom hotel cause their home also not have an electric. Our hotel keep also one room for staff for take a shower and rest together cause their home is no electric for almost 5 days.

They may seem taught, nervous, and hardly to smile as usually. We are sorry about that. However, we try to do at your best to make our guests safe and have a completely service as they had paid.

Second, another week we have a accident from the thunderstorm and it cause us a Lots of damage. 10 television and 8 DVD players was broken, all Internet equipment was broken, all telephone also were damaged. Luck, there was no human hurt around the area of the thunderstorm. During your requested a DVD and TV, our engineering and driver had tried to move from the empty (one that you mention as nice as for advertising) room to your room. However, it may not so convenient and fast as your expected cause during that time it was rainning and they also have to wait a bit for move things as your requested. Also for a DVD player which also broken. At that time it was a night and rainning and all shop were nearly closed. We also have to move back and forth until you are happy cause some equiment you said it was not properly and the voive not sound enough. We are here understand your situation and all natural things with my staff had destroy your vacation. However, we just want you to understand the reason behind which may help you coming back stay with us.

Abou the payment, your booking has been booked through one online agency which was a prepayment and non-refundable. All booking amount have to be charged when you make a booking. However, because of our telephone line problem so we did not get your confirm payment FAX from an agency. But we decided to hold your booking and we could charged when you check-in cuase all telephone line error.

To make a room clean also not done on the dated when guests was checking out. This was a standard policy as normal prectised. However, as your requested our house keeping had done and cleaned your room as requested.

I also have to say sorry again on the hand towel not provide you a daily properly. We would carefully manage the outsource laundry next time.

We hope your could understand us and our team. We would definately invite you to come back.


Thank you for your kind understanding.

Best Regards,

Punnpreeda Hip Reosrt Tem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Nice place with a great friendly staff, the moment we arrived they made us feel like kings, small pool but who needs a pool when you have a private beach :) we had the superior room wich was big Nice and clean. Tv ac fridge with free drinks Nice balkony with view on the big budda. The staff was so helpfull and friendly it almost made us feel uncomfterbal :) Will be back next year. The restaurant serves great food too. We heard Many people complain about the noise coming from the airport but i think you can't complain For the prices they charge, this was the best place we stayed in koh samui so far!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaykuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Our lovely guest JayKuh,

Thank you so much for your compliment and stay at our Hip resort. It was nice to hear you love to stay and have a great time while your stay. Your comment had cheer up our team and already distribute to our staff. They all said thank you and smile at their face.

Please come back to visit us every year when you come to samui. We all here definitely welcome you back and would like to greeting and serve you soon.

Best regards,

Punnpreeda Hip Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Would have been a lovely stay, hotel is right on the beach and close to airport. We stayed in a villa, room was comfortable. However our air conditioning did not work, we barely slept a wink as it was so hot in the room. We also ordered room service for dinner, which my friend and I got food poisoning, up most of the morning vomiting. Wasn't a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 920amys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Front Office Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Khun Amy,

First of all, thank you for your comments and give us an advised on the room service menu. We are so sad to hear that you are not so happy on our food. As soon as I read your comment we did checking with our kitchen regards on your order in Thai Food Menu. Both spring roll, Pai Thai prawn, and Fired noodle were cook with fresh and serve with cover right away after order. It should not because of cold and freeze of the food. Second, even this period which have a heavy raining and electrical from government always shut down and sometime it took about 3-4 hours but all material are on the refrigerator which always working and running cause we do have a generator support and provide electric all day long even electrical shut down. So food and all raw material should not been spoil. We also did checking the inventory daily for supply the food fill up our inventory everyday.
However, we deeply sorry for an unpleasant stay this time. Please come back again for a chance. Please also let us know while you stay so we would try to solve all issues at our best. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Punnpreeda Hip Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
västerås
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Punnpreeda mid November 2012 with my family for 4 nights, and stayed In a midrange room.
The Punnpreeda is on Big Buddha Beach, which is a long sandy beach in a big bay that also includes the Bang Rak beach to the west. Being a bay the water doesn't move much making it look a bit dirty.
There are a lot of boats anchored in the area and the boats leaving from the piers easily take you to Koh Pah Nang in 30 min.

The resort itself is quite small but has a good layout with the pool and restaurant close to the beach.
They serve a decent breakfast and lunch/dinner was good at reasonable prices.
The staff at the restaurant were great and very welcoming. The English is as often a bit of a struggle...

Punnpreeda is definitely one if the nicer places to stay on Big Buddha beach.

If you are in the area don't miss:
1 fisherman village. Probably the best street in Samui for restaurants and also decent shopping - beats chaweng any day of the week.
2 Cafe 69 - a small restaurant with 5 tables that serve fantastic Thai with a twist.

If staying in Big Buddha and your on a budget - the Punnpreeda is great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetallswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear thetallswede,
Greeting from Punnpreeda Hip Resort,
Thank you for your nice contribution and always cheer up our team while we are missing. We are glad to hear you and your family like our Hip resort. Please remind us as your second home while you come visiting samui.
Beach on samui is seasonal. During this month, beach may not so clean because it’s time for environment cycle to clear up the beach. We always realized and remind to clean up beach twice every day. We would like to keep all things green and clean as the green island concept for samui.
We look forward to welcome you and your family back very soon.

Best Regards,

Punnpreeda Hip Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

This is my first time at Samui, really like the atmosphere at the front desk. It looks so nice and very welcomes for the guests also the service with welcome drinks. On the second floor in the room, surprisingly, there is a space for working too. I could also have my privacy even lived with my family. Very nice beachfront restaurant, at @ Chill @ Hip, I couldn’t stop taking the pictures. ^__^

About location, it isn’t far from the centre and the beach so peaceful. We also enjoyed walking along the beach very much, in the morning. “Serene, Hip and Relaxing”

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sirinpat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerathip, Manager at Punnpreeda Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 January 2013
Dear Khun Sirinpat,

We Punnpreeda Hip resort are so glad to hear from you and we also thank you so much for your time to give us a lovely comments. We are also happy to welcome and serve you while you stay with us.

We would be pleasure to have chance to welcome you back again very soon. Please let be your second home when you have plan to come samui.

We all here looking forward to greeting you soon.

Best Regards,

Punnpreeda Hip Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
2.7 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
3.0 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
10.1 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#121 of 187 in Bophut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#81 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#59 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnpreeda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnpreeda Beach Resort

Property: Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Address: 32 Moo 4, Bang Rak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Punnpreeda Hip Resort Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Punnpreeda Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine an exotic island surrounded by turquoise seas just off the coast of amazing Thailand. An island rich in culture and beauty, yet home to a host of the world class restaurants and hotels. Koh Samui is just such an island. Imagine a community unlike any others, where people from around the world stroll in sandals and shorts along the street while mingling in shops. Where local people share stories of the past in legendary Thai style. Imagine a quaint beach resort where unique poured concrete is juxtaposed against natural Thai woods with 100 year old slant roof ceilings. Dramatic splashes of color ignite the soul while our resort's expansive windows offer views of Samui , nearby islands and the sea gently splashing on the butterscotch sand that will soothe the mind. Surround yourself with a sense of peace, love and style as you have never known at our Koh Samui beach resort. We look forward to welcoming you to Punnpreeda Beach Resort on Koh Samui ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punnpreeda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnpreeda Hip Resort Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Punnpreeda Hip Hotel Samui
Punnpreeda Hip Koh Samui
Punnpreeda Beach Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing