We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A guesthouse that we will never forget”
Review of Baan Sawan Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baan Sawan Villa
Ranked #30 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Situated on top of a mountain overlooking the town below and the ocean the Baan Sawan villa was a unique place to stay. The style of the house was beautiful, the rooms well equipped. The family in charge of the villa was extremely kind a helpful, serving us the most delicious meals. The swimming pool extremely beautiful and enjoyable. We will never forget the week we spent here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mogens_Mogensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had three wonderful weeks at Baan Sawan and this was the highlight of our trip to Thailand. Highly recommended for a family vacation. The villa, pool and garden was great and fully lived up to our high expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mogensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed at the Baan Sawan Villa for 13 days and had a fabulous time there. The villa is tastefully decorated and features all amenities you can think of. It is situated on the hill overlooking the fisherman's village of Bophut and the view is great. Despite not being right on the beach, it only takes you a few minutes by car to get to the main beaches, restaurants, shopping etc.

Worth mentioning is also the hospitality & flexibility of the managers on site. They could easily adapt to special meal requests for kids and the fact that you decide when and what to eat makes it much easier (especially when traveling with kids).

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We had a truly beautiful and restful holiday. Baan Sawan is a true Sanctuary.

The house is beautiful, the pool is fantastic and the food was excellent.

Thankyou to the villa staff for their amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thaifoodguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

i stayed for 9 days in september with my boyfriend. old fashioned villa which is coming in the years.the master bathroom is really run down, the bathroom of the guest rooms - only one for two rooms - is really tasteless. there is no toilette in the living area so that guest have to go to the private bathrooms. but the worst thing on my stay was that the owner and his staff attempt to get always more money from me. one day they want to get $ 1.000,- for one extra cleaning of the two guestrooms when i had guests - so be careful!!!. finally i had to pay $ 200,- for the cleaning. the other day the towels were dirty and i had to buy new one for $ 150,-. so the staff is always in contact with the owner and try to make some extra money instead of looking of the villa and the garden. i think he really do not like to work you see it at the garden which is really untended and not watered. the other day he forget to order fresh water so we had only very brown water for 3 days. i am very sorry that i can not make a better review of my stay but i really was very unhappy. i think the owner should not rent the villa because he do not like guests.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxuryvillasandhomes, Director of Sales at Baan Sawan Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Dear G P, thank you for taking the time to write this review and bring your points to our attention. Firstly I am sorry to read that your stay at Baan Sawan was less than satisfactory.

We have not until now received any previous complaints regarding Baan Sawan which is a very popular boutique villa. We take your comments seriously and today Management have sent you a follow up email in hope to better understand your comments.

Please kindly note that at the time of the booking all Rates and Fees were indicated in the booking confirmation by Reservations. And again when Guest Relations visited you at the villa that our T&C have clear guidelines concerning any over night 'Non registered' guests.

Baan Sawan's villa team strive to maintain the high standards of service and quality and to ensure we can provide a better experience for future guests.

DOSM
Wayne Hue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We just returned from a January get away to Koh Sumui where we spent 5 evenings in this idyllic holiday home. It was a perfect retreat for our family of 5 and would also be well-suited for larger families/sets of couples as all 3 bedrooms are equally inviting. The accommodation, the breathtaking views and the outstanding service provided by Star and Levi were second to none. We were especially impressed by the on-site gourmet meals, thebeautifully landscaped, large garden, the Thai influenced decor and the impeccable overall presentation of the property. Location provides the best of both worlds - a serene retreat that is 5-10 minutes from any island action that one desires. Indeed, we had a memorable holiday that was in great part due to this luxury accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lispsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed at Baan Sawan for 6 days as part of a 4 week holiday in Thailand. Our biggest mistake was leaving this Villa until last as if we had commenced our trip here we would never have left! We travel to Thailand quite often and this was our third time in Samui in the past 10 years. We feel we know the island very well and have stayed in most locations during our previous trips. Since our time at Baan Sawan we strongly believe the Bophut Hills are the best location on Samui and Fishermans Village and the Bophut area the best for restaurants. The Villa is beautifully decorated in modern Balinese style while still retaining a comfortable homely feel. The pool is the best Villa Pool we have seen. It is almost square with an infinity edge and the most spectacular view beyond it. Star and her husbnad Levy keep the villa imaculate at all times and look after you very well. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Star speaks pefect English and has a lovely way with children (my three still speak of her fondly). We cant wait to return to this beautiful villa and hope to make it an annual holiday for our family.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
3  Thank henwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
4.4 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,573 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
3.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Sawan Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Sawan Villa

Address: 161/2 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Bophut
Price Range: £277 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
★Baan Sawan is a Legendary holiday villa on the fashionable north east side of Koh Samui. ★We are renowned for our oustanding views, impressive service and 5 star gourmet chef. ★Tastefully decorated inside and out. ★Large private Infinity edge pool and gardens. ★Compimentary breakfast and airport taxi. ★As popular now as we've ever been, Baan Sawan is a great choice for both Families and Couples looking for a truly great Holiday experience in Samui. ★Bookable DIRECT or via AIRBNB ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baan Sawan Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Sawan Villa Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing