We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Samui Pier Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Samui Pier Resort
Ranked #59 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I recently styed 4 night with my girlfrind and i was a great litlle resort for people seeking relaxation and a great view of the beach and ocean.

We stayed in a beachfront bungalow (21) with a stunning wiev og the sea, beach and sunset. The room (though a little small) was functional, pleasnt and never too hot.

Staff is extremely helpfull and the owner is always willing to help you with almost anything. He gave us his cellphone number and tolled us we could call 24/7.

About the location. Bophut is an area under development and pavements are missing in some places, but it doesnt matter. It's safe to walk the streets and if you are looking for a change of scenery, I recommend going to Fishermans Village 5 minutes up the road. It is a great place for strolling, dining, drinking and gazing at the stars. Rent a scooter or take a taxi and the entire island is within 30 minutes reach.

We are definately going there again next year.

Room Tip: 19-22 are the best. 5 meters from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian_Frb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    102
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
34
142
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We booked the Samui Pier for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon trip around Thailand we left after 1 night and I couldn't get away from the place fast enough !! The location is terrible unless you want a base to use the ferry and a ghost town outside the hotel with no proper walk way/pavment, therfore this can be rather dangerous trying to dodge the cars and scooters. The beach is really tiny and no use as there are no sun beds and it is really not suitable for swimming in the sea with all the ferries and the water is virtually up to the land. The hotel pool is also tiny with about 4 sun beds so also not much point This is not a resort as claimed in the hotel name but merley a small hotel. I would suggest you do your homework before booking this place as the resort of Chaweng is much better. The bathroom shower had poor water pressure and the water didn't get very hot. No wifi connection in the rooms had to go to the restaurant to get connection, really no point when you want use the internet in the room... The hotel manager Yaniv was very arrogant in my opinion as I had booked the hotel through asia rooms and then sent an email to the hotel to check if the hotel offered a free airport pick up, which Yaniv advised they do if you stay 3 nights or more so I gave all our flight details and he confirmed back to me after several e-mails and weeks later!! When we arrived there was nobody there to pick us up and I had to make an expensive call to the hotel to so see what the problem was. They checked and said they would send a taxi, this is a totally unprofessional service. On leaving the hotel Yaniv told me in a very arrogant manner that I would have to now pay for the taxi as he "did me a favour" which was to leave me and my husband waiting at the airport for a taxi that was never going to come !! I think Yaniv needs to go on a customer service training as he clearly has no idea how to run a hotel and deal with customers in a professional manner. Having worked in the Travel and Hotel industry myself I know how the the system works and good for me as Yaniv could not fool me with his poor customer service. As I said do your homework and check out Chaweng much nicer place with great hotels and beach. Give the Samui Pier a miss !!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Macauleylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanivThailand, Owner at Samui Pier Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
In response to your abusive comments i would like notify customers of the events that took place while you visited our hotel. We did not forget to pick you up from the airport , you were waiting at the incorrect pick up point. Our driver was there to pick you up , once you called the matter was resolved immediately . With regard to your comment about no pavements and dodging scooters anyone can tell you that your comment is a blatant lie as the road that travels through bophut in front of our hotel is the newly upgraded road that is the only road that has proper paving and lighting and newly upgraded infrastructure. This is the main road leading out of the airport and accommodates high volumes of traffic , perhaps you are mistaken with another road. Bophut is an unbelievable up and coming area on koh samui and has several 5 star hotels , 2 main ferry stations and a small but vibrant night life , so to answer your comment about a ghost town i dont know what you could be referring to . You were under the impression that you were staying in Chaweng as that is what you were looking for upon your arrival. Your booking was made through a third party boooking agent and when you asked to leave i told you that you would need to ask them directly about there cancellation policy. Our wifi is free of charge and is available in most of our common areas , certain rooms are far away from this area. Another blatant accusation is our sun beds , you are more than welcome to visit our website and see that we have more than enough sun beds poolside and on the beach to accommodate all our guests.Our beach is a fully functional swimming beach and is absolutely safe to swim, perhaps the tide was high when you looked prompting you to believe that the beach is tiny , Our beach front stretches 100m . When you left the hotel without staying the minimum 3 night stay you were charged accordingly for your transfer , your reaction has resulted in your fowl and untrue comments. I strive to make each and every customer happy and welcome at samui pier resort as you can see in many of our true trip advisor comments. Different people have different choices and if you would like hustle and bustle , fireworks at night and city lights than chaweng is your choice. If you would like a tranquil and peaceful holiday to relax and have a real island feel than Bophut and Samui Pier Resort would be your ideal choice.

thank you

Yaniv Nagar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

(+) Newly Renovated
(+) Helpful Staff
(+) Great hotel restaurant -- all the food was great
(+) Right off the pier to get to the full moon party
(+) No issues with A/C and hot water in bathrooms (which are huge!)
(+) The owner can help you arrange whatever you need (private boat to the party, pre-party BBQ, Massages in your room or near the pool, daily scooter rental for a reasonable price, etc.)
(+) Free bottled water daily
(+) Very reasonable prices

(-) Walls are a bit thin

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor sea level are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimmiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This is a great option for those seeking peace and quiet in busy Koh Samui. The grounds are thoughtfully designed, with a number of chill-out areas (hammocks, verandas, etc). Rooms are rather new, good size and tastefully appointed. The food at the restaurant is very good.

There are a couple of negatives, however. Wifi is only available in the restaurant/reception area. The other thing that needs improvement is service. I had several awkward moments with the staff that impacted my ability to enjoy the relaxing environment. Upon discussing it with the owner, it seems like the situations are due to the staff's inexperience, and hopefully will be addressed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgbgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

Rooms and location not what expected. Far from Chaweng area and rooms not same as on the photos. Close to pier to go to Ko Phagnan if you want to go to full moon party.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Myself and my husband have just returned from a wonderful 13 night stay at Samui Pier Resort.

It has a lovely beach front location with easy access to the ferries to Koh Phangan and lovely views of the island.
The deluxe rooms are clean, with air conditioning and fridge with complimentary water and coffee daily.
All the staff are warm, friendly and very helpful and make you feel welcome.
The receptionist helped us get a good deal on car hire from Marisa over the road. Taxis are ok for short distances, but to see all the island a car or bike will work out cheaper.
The restaurant has a good selection of dishes that are well presented and plentiful.

Fishermans Village is a short taxi ride away and offers a wider choice of restaurants with a Friday night food market. (Great experience and not to be missed)
Big Buddha Temple is also nearby and can be seen from the hotel beach.

Weather you're just passing through or having a longer relaxing stay the Samui Pier Resort offers a good base to enjoy this beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolipopSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 7 nights and I still don't understand it!

Importantly to note - its not in Bohput, it's in Bangrat around 30 minutes walk from Bohput. It's around 150 - 200 Bht in a taxi to Bohput (fisherman's village to eat) and between 200 - 300 bht to Chwang Beach. You need this information, as the hotel is on a quiet stretch with absolutely no nice bars or restaurants close. Taxis do run past often so they are not a problem.

The room was nice enough, clean and right neat the ocean. However there were a few niggles
1. The air con worked, just not very well. It managed to reduce the temperature by around 3 degrees from outside.
2. Same again with the fridge - it worked, just not very well. Must of been about 15 degrees in the fridge.
3. Hot in the afternoon - the glass doors faced the evening sun, so the bungalow was very hot in the afternoon. With the poor aircon this was a slight issue.

On the positive side, the hotel grounds were nice, the pool small but clean and the beach quiet with no hawkers which plague the other main beach's on Samui. The food was good, with plenty of staff always on duty. It is very quiet though, both the hotel and the surrounding area.

In summary, this is a nice enough hotel for a quiet break. Not sure it deserves the high rating on tripadvisor but it's solid enough! Main downpoint is the lack of things in walking distance.

NB there is no airport pickup/drop off offered by the hotel which is a down point.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HolidayPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
0.3 mi away
Samui Mermaid Resort
Samui Mermaid Resort
#121 of 187 in Bophut
3.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cocooning Hotel
Cocooning Hotel
#81 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#69 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Pier Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Pier Resort

Property: Samui Pier Resort
Address: 30/5, Moo 4, Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 8304, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bophut
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#42 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Pier Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a funky and young beachfront resort that is located on the main pier that departs to Koh Phangan and the full moon parties. Our rooms are modern and the resort was completely renovated in October 2008. We offer a wide variety of services for your holiday needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Pier Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Pier Hotel Bophut
Samui Pier Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing