We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glamorous Boutique Hotel. Luxury in every detail.”
Review of The Scent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Scent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 152 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amarante, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Glamorous Boutique Hotel. Luxury in every detail.”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed one week on this hotel, in April/May 2011.
The hotel belongs to Relais & Châteaux and it really deserves that.
It's a boutique hotel with a lot of details you can enjoy with your senses.
All the rooms are very well decorated and our, in particular, had a great sea view.
The hotel grounds are beautiful and well mantained.
The swimming pool is diferent from the normal, since the material in which it is made is a noble one. Pure luxury! Besides, the swimming pool has a wonderful sea view, also.
The restaurant is top! Beach front, tranquil, exquisite and delicious food... so romantic if you have dinner here!!! It seems like you are being bless by the stars!!!
The breakfast is a la cart and it's really a finding. Everything is fresh, tasty and refined.
All the staff (specially restaurant's staff) is very kind, helpful and nice. They provide all that you can need and all the concierge service you may request.
The hotel is street faced, in a not very beautiful area, but, inside of it, you don't notice this fact.
The beach, itself, isn't good. It has quicksand and the water is not clear. We stayed the most of the time on the swimming-pool and went several times to the hotel's sister resort - Peace Resort, on Mae Nam Beach. The hotel provides free shuttle bus service to Peace Resort and to Fisherman's village. But we rent a motorbike, in the hotel's front and go riding. It's safe and more funny!
The only thing we didn't like was that the room was quite small and the air conditioning didn't work properly in order to refresh the space. Besides that, the air con was right in the front of the bed, which was harmful to our health. At night, the room is too hot and become unbearable to be there without air conditioning. And if you turn the air conditioning, you'll get frozen as the air con is right on top of you...
The hotel management MUST improve this!

Room Tip: Book a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    115
    27
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
221
15
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel has ticked every box for me, excellent staff, excellent rooms and a beach view to die for. Pure paradise.
We stayed in the sea view room and had our own private hammock which over looked the sea. If you are looking for a romantic trip away this is the place to go. The food was amazing as well. We had breakfast and lunch there every day it was so good! Also the hotel had 2 canoe's that you can use for free.
They do offer massages however there is a spa next door as well (which I have been to every time I go to Koh Samui) and this is also a great get away. There is parking outside the hotel (3/4 spaces) so although its a little far away from most things they offer a vast range of car hires from the hotel which was much cheaper than getting taxi's every where!
The lady on reception is amazing as well. So helpful.

This has to be the best holiday I have ever had and will hopefully return again.

Room Tip: The second floor room in the far right corner over looks the sea however we also noticed a couple on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic0Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There was a horrible thing happened when I stayed in the scent hotel.
We put our wedding rings together in our room when we went to snorkeling.We didn't go out for dinner but stayed in the hotel and ordered room service after snorkeling. The day after,before we changed to another hotel,we found out there was only my husband's ring left. After serval times research,we could't find it. The hotel manager told us that they'd do the investigation and would keep updating me if they found anything. I basically sent two emails to them everyday but their answer very slow. I really don't feel they take this case seriously so we decided to report this to police station. The day we went to police station,the General Manager of hotel showed up with a a bad attitude. He said that I should wait till they can find anything on their side. I should't accuse their staff is a thief. They need longer time to do the investigation. BUT!! they can't deny that my ring just disappeared in the hotel. And how can they ask me to give them time since I was just a tourist. He even told me: I lost my wife's ring,my child's gold ring, Jessie...bad things just happen.
My wedding ring was gone in your hotel and you just told me " bad things happen"??? To me,Its really unacceptable!
Those two rings were always put together,mine with serval small diamond but his not.
The only reason that I can think is someone took it away. The only person who can enter our room besides us would be the housekeeper,we locked the room before we went out and never went out again since we back from snorkeling.
This thing happened at 01/07, and I need to send them email to ask how's the investigation going,and they always said that they can't find anything. They never report updating news to me!
I'm very disappointed,not just because they can't find my ring but also their attitude.
So,if you wanna choose this hotel,please do not bring any value thing or you'll definitely regret!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We agree with all the reviews.. I would be repeating myself. The first impression is disappointing, a small grey building with the typical electrical spaghetti that seems to be unavoidable in Thailand everywhere you go. There's no grand driveway and entrance, but that's where the disappointment ended. We stayed there last week, in Room 112 which was the European styled room. The bathroom is as big as the room, beautiful antique brass fittings. It was on the ground floor, central to the pool area. The breakfast is a la carte, so no big mass produced food buffet here and quite an well known restaurant worth a visit even if you're not staying here. The property is tasteful, small, with small details that make it unique to any other property. Yes, the beach is not great, but for a relaxing wade, sitting under the umbrellas and dipping in the pool, it is sufficient. Its not far from Fisherman's Wharf, motorbike hire is just across the road. The fragrance hits you when you walk in, thus the name.... I would definitely come back. Maybe stay in the front rooms, upstairs for the full beach view.

Room Tip: This is not a grand resort, rather more like a grand home, that you have been graciously invited to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeavemeinBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I took vacation here. I stay at room 221 on second from at the end. It has the best panorama 180 degree view of the bangrak beach. For the price of this room ypu can't get any better of a view and space for this price. I like this room for one reason It's vintage style room and this room has it all. When you walk into this room it's like stepping back in to time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidnuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScent s, Executive Assistant Manager at The Scent Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Davidnuu,
Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

With Kind Regards,

Mayuree O.
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

There's completely call SMALL LUXURY RESORT...Just 13 rooms are uniquely by the design. Restaurant are the best in Samui. Best ABF ever I had in my life. Not far from airport & Chaweng Beach. Every convenience stay especially you can buy Karmakamet. You can walk throughout the hotel with fabulous aromatic scent. FAbulousssss

I will be back soon :-)

Room Tip: Choose beachfront room will make you memorable stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_fabbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I traveled on my own to Samui for some quiet time. I knew nothing about the layout of the island, towns, or beaches. What I did know was that I didn't want to stay in a touristy, dirty, and noisy area.

The Scent ended up being a great choice. Architecturally speaking, it is very attractive and quaint. The pool is not large, but great for a cooling dip. The rooms are well-appointed and styled with panache (and a great scent). The restaurant and bar area are open and well attended - but not cheap by Thailand standards. Frankly, the breakfast is priced way too high. I chose not to include it in my rate (long-haul jet lag always messes up my eating schedule for a few days, anyway).

If you are looking for a hotel with a great beach to swim, this is not it. The coast off of Bangrak is very shallow and mostly clay. The beach itself is great for a lay-about, and the water is warm, but walking on the clay-sand to get deep enough to swim is not a great experience.

Just up from this hotel I found one of those great family-run seaside restaurants that keeps bringing me back to Thailand. Though you CAN walk to many restaurants near this hotel, I gave in after two days and rented a scooter. I thought it was a dangerous idea at first - but I ended up having a great time riding all around the island.

The old Fishing Village is just up the road - with many restaurants to keep you satiated. If you want to day trip over to Chewang, it takes about 15 minutes by motor scooter. I wasn't impressed with Chewang - it met all of the bad criteria I listed at the start of this review.

Thailand... it has a way of taking you far outside of your comfort zone while simultaneously relaxing you more than just about any other destination.

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash and get a sea-side room with outside access. They weren't available when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasG1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
1.5 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.4 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#14 of 185 in Bophut
2,327 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 185 in Bophut
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#11 of 185 in Bophut
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#2 of 185 in Bophut
1,095 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#6 of 185 in Bophut
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scent Hotel

Property: The Scent Hotel
Address: 58/1 Moo 4 Bangrak Beach, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Scent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as “ a Secret World” ...The Scent Hotel is located on theisland of Koh Samui and is situated on the most tranquil and serene part of Bangrak Beach northeast of the island. The hotel is 4km drive away from airport and 6km from the famous Chaweng Beach.With 12 rooms and 3 suites, this beach front hotel was built with a warm atmosphere of the ancient Indochina and Colonial cultured look to give all a nostalgic stay. A choice of European or Chinese or Local styling in any of our units will bring you back in time and a taste of living the elegant era. All rooms and suites come with either a pool view or the ocean view. With the exclusivity of the pool and the beach within the property, you will be accompanied by the great cuisines of French, Mediterranean and local Thai dishes from Le Jaroen Restaurant.As part of Relais & Chateaux every stay is designed to awaken your senses with our secretly blended aromatic fragrance, elegant looking colonial beach front building, suites that bring back the elegant old living style and a restaurant with a sublime setting serving up tasty local cuisines combining contemporary and traditional creations. So set aside a date with us and make it your most peaceful and memorable stay.Be enchanted and come to our world......” A Secret World...” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Scent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scent Hotel Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing