We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach restaurant”

Starfish and Coffee
Ranked #3 of 16 Coffee & Tea in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice beach restaurant”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We ate here several times when in Koh Samui last month. The food is simple but very tasty and the service was quick. Very nice to sit on the beach or on the balcony overlooking the beach. For the price we found this restaurant really reasonable and have always had good meals there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    170
    63
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tring, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“OK lunch stop”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stopped here for lunch, looking for somewhere reasonably priced and quick simple food. The restaurant was quiet (at 2.15pm) and we were shown to a sea view table. The food turned up quickly, and was pretty good, simple but well prepared. Breaded calamari, spring rolls, Thai beef salad (nice and spicy, rather than tourist strength!), but too much mayo on the apple salad although nicely prepared in a pineapple skin. Slightly better than average, probably a 3 1/2 stars. Right behind the restaurant they have a mini watermark with inflatables for little kids to play on while you dine, nice touch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Greasy food”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted to eat at cafe 69, only to find it wad closed until the 3rd of August. Starfish and coffee looked cheap and was on the beach. My wife ordered cridpy pork with calle, while I had spare ribs with fries. Her pork was rubbery and my ribs did not have much meat on it. Not our best meal in Samui.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpdoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were there last week and had a very good meal while sitting in the restaurant, overlooking the beach and water. The view was great and hearing the waves come in was very nice. The food was good. Started with spring rolls which may have been the best we had during our week stay. Prices were reasonable with no added Vat or service charge which was nice. Service was very good as well. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice location, but not the cleanest”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had planned to have lunch at the restaurant, as we found a review on another platform, but after having ordered drinks and having used the toilets, we decided not to have lunch there.

When the drinks arrived, the ordered watermelon blend was a total disappointment. I tried the first zip and tasted a sour, strange taste of too old water lemon. I ordered a soda instead and asked for the check. Surprisingly the watermelon blend was not on the bill. So I am not sure, whether they realized that it was not good, as I did not drink it or if they knew it was not good and thought, they would give it a try. Anyways, as it was not charged for, it was not a bad experience, but since we were not happy with comfort of the chairs and the overall cleanliness, we do not rate the place too good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Silvio W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Starfish and Coffee also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Starfish and Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing