We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Restaurant in Samui”
Review of Ad Hoc Beach Cafe

Ad Hoc Beach Cafe
Ranked #83 of 444 Restaurants in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Kanuhura, Maldives
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Restaurant in Samui”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is our second time on Samui and this was our first stop. We visited 16 times during our 3 and half weeks and each time was amazing. We have dined in may other restaurants throughout Samui and this never fails to disappoint. It is a short walk from the Fisherman's Village and offers breathtaking views of the bay.

The food is delightful & with particular reference to their Ceasar Salad (And dressing), Grilled Salmon with Wasabi Mayo, Black Angus Steak with Gorgonzola Sauce or the Teriyaki Steak. The service is second to none and we want to thank Yuri (Owner), Ying, Nok & Bang for their thoughtful & attentive service.

The only down side I could say is that it deserves to be busier!! (Not that we minded!!) There is simply no comparison to anything else in the Village where you pay the same if not more money for a lesser standard of food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    43
    16
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, wonderful staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from lovely meal at Ad Hoc. View is beautiful and staff are utterly charming and helpful. They prepared a special dish for my toddler with no fuss. My sea bass was cooked to perfection as were my french fries. Cocktails were great and loved the chocolate fondant for dessert. Great staff, wonderful views, interesting menu and will definitely recommend for those who like good, unpretentious fare.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank beeleelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good find....”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had several meals at Ad Hoc, all of them very good. The Lamb burgers for lunch were excellent and we had to return for a second time for dinner a couple of days later to please our adult children! Even though the burgers weren't officially on the dinner menu, the staff made a special plan...really appreciated! A lovely setting and service was good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Taste sensation with a view!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We love Adhoc, the food, the setting and the ambience are always superb. The staff are always friendly and attentive. The location is great if you want a quiet meal away from the hustle of Fishermen's village and Chaweng. And it is a short walk from Fishermen's village.
We always return to this restaurant when we visit Ko Samui. Tim & Yuri are fantastic hosts and love to share their knowledge of Italian wines and food.
In 2012 we held a pre-wedding dinner for 28 people at their restaurant with a 3 course menu and drink selection. It was excellent, the food and the staff were consistent throughout.
Our favourite dishes are: Beef Carpaccio, Pumpkin with boccocini mozerella, beef short rib, sea bass with brown rice, lamb shoulder, and for dessert the chocolate fondant and tiramisu.
We always go back and cannot wait till the next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AminaGavin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love this place”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We love this place. It was truly our favorite dining experience from our trip to Koh Samui. So much so, that we went back a second time for lunch.

Yuri has created a beautiful experience and atmosphere in her restaurant.
The restaurant is one of casual comfort with most seating available in the open air. Details like the candle lit lanterns, open french doors and three super friendly cats add to an already picturesque café.

The view of the sea and the light here at sunset should not be missed. The colors are absolutely brilliant.

We loved the food here. Everything tasted perfect. We also very much appreciated the great, warm service, and our chats with the charming Yuri.

Ad Hoc is a must if you are visiting Koh Samui.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ad Hoc Beach Cafe also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Surat Thani, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Ad Hoc Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing