We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for 1 night stopover but dont stay here longer”
Review of Kinnaree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kinnaree Resort
Ranked #26 of 152 Bophut B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great for 1 night stopover but dont stay here longer”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night on a stopover to Koh Phangan, friendly staff but all the rooms need a makeover, and dont expect a goodnight sleep as the planes fly directly overhead! It is however close to the big buddah pier and the staff will give you a cheap ride to get there.

Hotel is close to the airport, roughly 10-15minute drive.

Go out and get drunk at the Green mango nightclub, then passout on your rock hard concrete bed, dont worry about setting alarms for the morning as the planes at every 10minute interval will wake you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    43
    17
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
31
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Owners really helpful, friendly and efficient . Lovely large quiet clean bungalow , very close to beach. Food in restauraunt was great. Close to big Buddha ( walking distance ) fishermans village was a short taxi ride away. Very convenient for airport and ferry from other islands which is why we stayed there. Not much to do in bangrak beach but a good centre to get to other places

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellinglight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

4th year in a row in Samui for Queens Cup golf tournament. Book Kinnaree after reviews on here, we booked 5 nights in a standard room but were upgraded by the management to a sea front room because of the disruption to our holiday caused by another guest.

Really liked the staff who were always friendly and helpful and they did a better job of poaching runny eggs than most expensive brunch cafe's in Sydney eastern suburbs!

Would recommend for any one on a budget - great value.

Graham

Room Tip: Go for the expensive rooms if you can, sitting on the balcony looking at the sea is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

My friends and I visited this resort so we could have easy access to the ferry to the full moon party. This hotel is right on the beach. A short walk to the pier and restaurants. The food at the hotel is pretty good as well. The rooms are not super fancy but they are clean and the hotel is well maintained. It's family owned and the staff was extremely helpful. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nakhon Phanom, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I booked Kinnaree because my friends and I wanted something close to the pier, and airport, as well as being by the water for a good price. I was pleasantly surprised! The staff was nice and friendly and the rooms were clean. We stayed for only 2 nights, but could have easily stayed a week!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Su-Elene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Relaxed place, with decent-sized simple room on a small strip of beach. The service was friendly and helpful. There's nothing luxurious about this resort and there are many better places to stay and nicer beaches if you have the budget, but at this price, I thought Kinnaree was excellent value for the money.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank DEGAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had checked trip advisor prior to booking Kinnaree online and most of the reviews and the pictures seemed fine. We arrived, were greeted warmly and checked in promptly but once we saw the rooms my jaw actually dropped! This place was awful and the rooms stank of citronella to which I have a disliking. There was nothing left of this one lamp above the bed for the material had melted, there were blood stains on the bed linen and the bathroom was similar to a public convenience. Seriously! It was very different to the pictures and it was in need of a serious makeover. The guy at reception was so helpful and showed us other rooms but they were all as bad as each other. Even the deluxe was below par (my standards aren't high but this was a bit of a joke). The staff really did exhaust all options and were helpful. Sadly as we booked online and paid in advance we didn't receive any refund partial or full. If you want an enjoyable experience in Samui book elsewhere... unless they refurbish the rooms fully!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beadsbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.0 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
1.4 mi away
The Waterfront
The Waterfront
#13 of 185 in Bophut
978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#70 of 185 in Bophut
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#11 of 185 in Bophut
427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Pier Resort
Samui Pier Resort
#68 of 185 in Bophut
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinnaree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinnaree Resort

Property: Kinnaree Resort
Address: 73/2 Moo 4, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinnaree Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kinnaree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinnaree Hotel Koh Samui
Kinnaree Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing