We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idyllic location-hotel has some limitations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #14 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“idyllic location-hotel has some limitations”
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We have just returned from a 6-night stay at Hansar. The location is perfect - I cannot imagine any place better; the proximity to Fishermen's Village ideal. But - the basic room which we had was just that! the shower is beautiful - all is clean and the furnishings are pleasant. The mattress on the bed is very soft and not at all good for anybody with back problems. Inside the room there is not even a chair. On the balcony there is a nice day bed, but only one other chair. An electric kettle and some tea bags were provided in the room only on the last day. There is no information in the room or in the lobby of the hotel about the Island; no instructions about the air-conditioning or the facilities of the hotel. The meals in the restaurant were excellent - and prices quite reasonable. We had a nice time, but I think that this hotel could easily improve.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,722
    416
    102
    25
    13
See reviews for
389
1,371
85
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Most beatiful location! The fishing village is perfect and beats the rowdy crowd in chewang. It is also only 15 mins from chewing if you fancy a taste of the nightlife. The village has plenty of restaurants and shops should you prefer not to venture to chewang. The hotel itself is very beautiful with the wooden interior in keeping with the natural surroundings. A stunning infinity pool. By far the nicest hotel in the village.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonesms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I visit Thailand, particularly Koh Samui, quite frequently whenever we get a chance for a holiday. We have stayed all over the island, but Bohut beach has been a favorite for the past few years due to its beautiful beach and the Fisherman's Village area (a walking street dotted with bars and cafes) with it's relaxed vibe. We have stayed at The Anantara many times and Bophut Resort once before, but after reading the great reviews about the brand new Hansar Samui, decided to stay here this time. However, the hotel has its pros and cons.
The first con is that the staff all seem a bit inexperienced. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room although there is a space for them above the minibar. I was given an electric kettle upon request but no cups, teabags etc.
Location: Excellent. Right next to Anantara and steps away from the Fisherman's village (without being actually in the village). All rooms have a direct sea view.
Pool: This is the main selling point of the hotel. It is a gorgeous infinity pool over-looking the sea, but the downside is that between the pool and the beach there is a narrow public road, so be prepared to see cars and motorbikes passing feet away from you in the pool. You need to cross the narrow road to the hotel beach. I prefer the Anantara infinity pool for relative privacy and direct access to the beach.
Room: Very stylish and good space with a large terrace. The shower takes maximum space in the room (it is enclosed by glass only so you are visible from the bed while showering) but your expectations are dashed by the so-so water pressure. Style overtakes functionality in the room design.
Food: food quality is very good.
We had an uncomfortable incident at the pool, where a noisy couple on the sunbeds next to us had been lounging and making a mess all day. By afternoon, my husband requested the pool staff to ask them to pipe down, only to discover that they were not hotel guests at all! They had been passing by on the road in front of the pool and decided to camp out here. The pool staff did not notice all this time until told by us.
I would revert back to staying at the Anantara next time due to better service and more pool privacy and 24 hour room service ( Hansar Room service ends at 10 pm).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxetraveller79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Hansar is literally the best place to stay in koh samui both in respect of quality and price!! First of all the location is perfect, a five-minute walk from the fishermans' village of Bo phut. The hotel itself is simple in structure and decoration but very elegant!! The rooms are spacious, well-furnished with beautiful views of the pool and sea!!!!The staff was very polite and helpful, catering to all of our needs. Special mention should be made to the pool which is absolutely amazing!!!Breakfast was very nice and the food at the H Bistro exquisite!!I mustn't forget the Spa where I had tried almost all therapies and felt very relaxed and invigorated!!That Thai massage was heavenly!! All and all we had a wonderful stay and we are sure to come back and recommend Hansar to all of our friends in Greece!!! A very special thanks to the manager of the Hotel, Supit Choo-in, who made our stay unforgettable!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavlosalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Having driven around the island, I have difficulty imagining that we could have made a better choice for a family stay than this good-all-round new hotel. Others have summarised the hotel's own merits, but what I particularly liked was the location – right by, but not actually in, the Fisherman’s Village, so lots of places to go for dinner within a ten minute stroll. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acer sed justus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed at Hansar in July for 4 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Everything was excellent! The room with great and spacious horizon pool, ocean view, the wonderful swimming pool in the heart of the hotel with jacuzzi, the restaurant with fresh and delicious food, also, the location with 3 minute walking distance to “Fisherman Village” where we were able to walk down the street for dinner and shopping...……

But above of all, their top service really impressed us. We were well looked after from the moment they picked us up from the Samui airport to the time we checked out. I cannot even describe how great the service was, all staff there were extremely friendly, courteous and kind, they made us feel like we were the top VIPs in the resort.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to GM –Mr. Indra Budiman, Front office manager—Mr. Samney Sin, booking manager--. Ms.Yuanpit Suknuan, the Marketing manager, the SPA manager, the restaurant staff—Art and all the other wonderful staff we met at Hansar. You and your top service and friendliness made our vacation special and unforgettable. Thank you so much!!!

We would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FJJ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We had a fantastic time when my boyfriend and i stayed here in April. The staff were second to none. Our room was realy lovely so was the pool. The hotel had only just opend when we stayed and there was building work still going on. This however did not affect us at all we never so much as heard a drill. This ment that the spa was not yet open but the hotel recomended and booked a spa just down the road for us which was lovely. We were two of the unlucky people who got stuck due to the ash cloud. The hotel were fantastic let us use the phone and let us keep our room for a discounted price.
The beach was right outside the hotel with jet ski's you can hire. The fishermans village is lovely with so many places to eat you are spoilt for choice. Koh Samui is a really island. Hire a car or jeap and drive round the island there are some lovely sights with 1 main ring road you can't get lost!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riefinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,361 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 187 in Bophut
1,845 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Property: Hansar Samui Resort
Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing