We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2010

I stayed here for eight days, towards the end of the slow/rainy season. Very quiet, and relaxing mood around the hotel. Free WiFi that worked everytime. Nice small weight/exercise room with free weights, treadmill, and eliptical. Loved going to the Chill Bar , which, is just above the restaurant, in the evenings. The resort is fairly new, maybe just 1 year and a bit old. Great quiet location, just on the other end of the fisherman village main street. Nice fairly sized pool, restaurant,and poolside bar. The restaurant offers great diverse buffet breakfast, plus you can order too. I had free breakfast with my agoda booking. The hotel staff were all very friendly and attentive. Room was large with fantastic view of the sea. The hotel has a nice beach directly in front, about 20 feet from the pool. The speed boats from the scuba and kayaking trips I took dropped me off on the beach in front of the hotel. Would highly reccommend this hotel for couples. Bophut is a pretty quiet part of Samui. There are lots of restaurants/shops/Thai massage, and a few small bars in the fisherman's village, which is about a five minute walk from the hotel. You can get to the crazy part, the bars in Chaweng Beach, of Samui in 10 mins from taxi if that's what you want. Never went myself, as there are other parts of Thailand to do "the bar thing". Just came to Samui to relax and dive, and that's what I did, besides eating a lot of inexpensive seafood. Would stay here again on my next diving trip to Samui.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quintona67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,677
    401
    96
    24
    13
See reviews for
371
1,336
83
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

I am a regular user of Trip Advisor, but have never posted a review. Until now. Having had such a fantastic experience at the Hansar Samui, I felt I should share this and give Supit (the hotel manager) and his team the credit they deserve.

Previous reviews describe many of the hotel's attractions, so I won't repeat them all. However, a few things that stand out that I particularly want to mention:
* Supit and all the team at the hotel are genuinely lovely and friendly people. They work incredibly hard and make you feel relaxed whilst being extremely attentive and will go out of their way to cater for any request you may have.
* Supit personally showed us some of his favourite beaches on the island, drove us into Chaweng and took us to the airport for our return flight. He is passionate about his clients having a fantastic experience at his hotel, and was always found chatting with guests and offering helpful advice.
* Happy hour at the beach bar was always good value and fun - predominantly down to Bird and his cocktail making skills.
* The rooms are as good as they look on the website. The balcony is a great asset, and many an evening was spent with a beer overlooking the pool and the beach. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and insect repellent were provided in the rooms - which was a lovely touch.

Admittedly the beach at Bhoput wasn't the best I've ever experienced - it was shingly, but with the large infinity pool at the hotel this was no issue.

Fishermans Village is small and traditional - plenty of choices of restaurants and bars, most of which are good quality and reasonably priced. If you want a large vibrant resort, with Starbucks and McDonalds then Chaweng is for you. Kroa - Bhoput, Kyoto and 56 restaurants were particularly impressive and well worth a visit.

A heartfelt thank you to Supit and the whole team for making our holiday a memorable and special experience. Good luck with everything and we hope to return to your beautiful hotel again some day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prague
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

this hotel is perfectly located on the beach, feels private but within short walk distance to bars restaurants, shops of fisherman village. i will return there soon, hopefully in high season it is not to crowded, since restaurant, breakfast place seems small for a hotel of over
70 rooms. definitely one of the best hotels on samui island. friendly staff, great pool, no complaints at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom007prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

I am a long-time Starwood hotels loyalist with platinum status. My friend convinced me to try this hotel this time. It was absolutely EXCELLENT. Personal service, good location with traditional Thai delivery. Also, good WiFi for those urgent work matters. I am already planning my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

With the exception of 2 minor things, the only flaws with this hotel are beyond the hotel's control. The staff are numerous and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, the happy hour cocktails at the beach bar wonderful, the breakfast good if not grreat and the pool is simply stunning. But I'm afraid we really weren't that excited by Samui itself, or Bophut. I know I've been spoiled, but if your looking for a beach getaway, beaches in Australia and the Greek Islands are much better than Samui. The sand on Bophut and Chaweng was gritty and the incline into the water very steep. I don't mean to be picky, but apart from the beach, Samui really doesn't have anything else to do. Whilst Bophut was thankfully quieter than Chaweng, it was pretty run down and when it rained, the street flooded. The saving grace was the hotel. The only negatives were a toilet door made of wicker (no couple needs to hear those noises) and the tv signal dropped out a few too many times. But the bed was soft and comfy and sitting on the balcony sun bed overlooking the beautifully manicured grounds and that amazing pool was wonderful. Oh, a final note. Despite what the guide books say, the wet season does not end in November - the locals said dry season starts in January. But the rainy afternoons were cured by excellent coffee in the chill out bar overlooking the Gulf of Thailand. If I return to Samui, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4leaf1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Ups:

- Room is as expected - great view of the gulf and the monsoon shower is a hit

- Grounds are well maintained

- Restaurant is superb

- Good customer service - attentive and personable

- Not many guests

Downs:

- Beach is naff - but I guess it's stock standard for the gulf - the resort pool makes up for it though

- Immediately behind the resort are a few third-world style paddocks littered with trash (you see these when walking to your room)

- The immediate village (Fisherman's) is trashy - lots of bogans milling around and creating a road hazard by riding mo-peds at walking speed

- The November weather seems erratic...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

The Hansar was a fantastic hotel. All the staff were so friendly and helpful, they all knew are names, which made us feel special. Bird, the bar man made fantastic cocktails and entertained us throwing bottles around. The manager, Supit, was always on hand to make sure we were having a great stay. Would definitely stay here again, when we go back to Samui.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW201007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
SALA Samui Resort And Spa
#1 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,093 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#3 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Property: Hansar Samui Resort
Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#9 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing