We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Boutique resort in Bophut for couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hansar Samui Resort
Ranked #13 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Me and my wife had a wonderful time at the Hansar.

The good things about this place :

- Sleek and pure design:
The whole place feels very clean modern/contemporary with a touch of Asian design, very spacious and every room is facing the sea with floor to sealing windows. This is a big plus compared to other resorts nearby. (We walked on the Bophut beach extensively and I can guarantee you most of the other resorts have a clumpier design and dont feel as open.

- Hotel layout :
Again compared to other resorts, the Hansar has a very big rectangular access to the beach, no obstruction from trees / buildings. Basically there is the beach, an infinity pool almost the size of the Hotel and directly behind are the rooms all facing sea and pool. This makes you feel much more comfortable and spacious when at the pool or on the beach. The guest/room number to beach/pool size ratio is definitely a Big Big plus.

- The minus:

- The design and openness of the rooms also have disadvantages :
Both toilet, shower and bath tub are part or the room and mostly transparent with glass design : this is great for couples like us, but I can imagine the nightmare for parents with kids or other relatives sharing one room and trying to have a little privacy.

- This one is a subjective view not really a minus.
This hotel is very modern and contemporary. Its boutique but we sometime had the feeling that we could be anywhere around the tropic. So for people looking for something more exotic and local on Bophut, there is the Zazen at the far end of Bophut ( we had a very nice diner and a tour of the place) and this one is definitely the exotic one. but again if you like chill and openness definitely go for the Hansar !

Little secret we discovered during our stay :

The XL sea view is fantastic value, almost double the size of a regular roughly 800 sq foot instead of 500 for only 20% extra charge.
We highly recommend you to try to book 1209 or 1309, those XL rooms are right in the middle of the resort with definitely the best view of all. (we requested the change to 1309 once we were there and got fulfilled after the 2nd night). Very nice gesture from the management.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sourire-ambulant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,356)
There are newer reviews for Hansar Samui Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,740 - 1,746 of 2,357 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2011

Fantastic hotel with fantastic staff.I like the location the peacefulness the modern chic and also that its not such a big hotel.The area around the pool and beach cant be more peaceful.I had to remind my kids not to be too loud.

The only problem we encountered was that we had to get our boys to leave the room as the tub was in the middle of the room and there was no door in the shower.This hotel seems more suitable for couples.Thankfully we opted for a seaview XL size was appropriate for us with two young kids.

All service staffs were professional with lots of initaive and very attentive with a ready smile 24/7.
However, I think its a little over priced and the breakfast spread could have been wider.

Still it was a wonderful 3 nights and will be back if ever in Samui.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgpsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2011

A great hotel in every way: the staff are superb, the hotel has an excellent chef, and the rooms are beautifully furnished, apart from the complicated light switches.
As it's on the beach, be prepared for nightly fireworks to go off with a bang.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grecoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My family (a family with small children and grand parents) stayed at Hansar over New Year's Eve and had a very good experience.

<Facility>
The room was spacious, overall great design, but there is no elevator. If you are traveling with small children, you need to leave your stroller at the reception and walk up the stairs with your children and belongings.

<Service>
All staff is Thai and there were only a few who could speak fluent English. There were occasional “lost in translation” experiences in the dining. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and made our stay very special.

<Room>
Since we stayed during high season, we often came back to the unclean room after a long day out and had to request to clean. My parents who stayed next door never got a welcome fruit basket. Some lamps in the room were broken, and despite our request to repair, they were never repaired. There is no children's program available on TV. If you are traveling with children, be ready to get a protest or bring your own media. There is a lighting and power outlet on the balcony, so we could browse Internet or read books when our children were sleeping. The thick curtain prevents any noise from the hotel bar, Fisher's Village or New Year's fireworks. There is no bath tub in the sea view room, but the shower is large enough for the whole family to fit in. If there is a teenager in the family, it might be a problem. The shower is open and the dividing walls are clear-glasses.

<Dining>
Despite the excellent food and selections, the service at the breakfast buffet was problematic during peak hours in high season. Because every cup of coffee is made fresh from espresso machine on the second floor, waiting for one cup of coffee took forever. By the time the wait staff brings it down to the ground floor, it was usually spilled on the tray and lukewarm. We were often seated at the sofa upstairs where our small children could not properly sit and eat, because they had to hold a plate on one hand. If you want to enjoy breakfast with full attention of the service staff, get a table before 8 a.m.

<Pool>
There were only a few guests without iPad at the poolside. The children's swimming pool is conveniently located next to the pool bar, so we could sip Tom Yam Martini (a MUST at Hansar! Best martini ever!) while watching our kids play with the sand next to the children's pool. Music is very nice (not loud, smooth jazz). The towels for the deck chairs were not provided unless we asked. Many beach towels had holes. There is a plenty of deck chairs for all the guests and there is no "towel war" to reserve a chair in the early morning like in other hotels nearby.

<Internet>
The wireless connection is fast and free. During peak hours around 5pm, the connection was extremely slow.

<Location>
Great location, right next to the Fisher's Village. Taking an evening walk in the fisher's village or a short walk to 7-11 were always fun for the whole family.

All in all, I highly recommend Hansar for families with children. The hotel design is modestly modern, and we loved the clean and quiet beach a few steps away.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We selected this hotel through a 3rd party website and suffered an initial mix-up in our reservation (basically we were not expected at all), which induced some last minute accommodation and quite dampened our initial enthusiasm.

However the staff, most particularly Sam and Supit and the ladies of the Spa quickly turned the situation around and ensured we had a very relaxing and pleasant time for the rest of our stay.

Hansar Samui's architecture is very well thought through and all the room have a view on the swimming pool and across the ocean, they are roomy and comfortable, each with its own balcony equipped with deck chairs and beds to relax. The swimming pool is gorgeous and so are the restaurant H bistro and chill lounge bar. The food at the bistro is quite notably above Samui standards and well worth a try for its original and tasty take at Thai and italian fusion. We dined there twice and really enjoyed the experience, as much for the setting as the cuisine.

The Spa is fantastic and the therapist are expertly trained in their craft. All in all Hansar Samui was a perfect place to unwind and take a break from city life.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobDeZoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I was there to attend a friend's wedding. The wedding reception was held on the beach under the stars, with great food from the hotel. Definitely one of the most romantic weddings I have attended :)
As for my stay, I enjoyed it thoroughly. The hotel is very well designed, with lovely use of materials. What is also great is the generous verandah that overlooks the swimming pool, out into the sea. The view from our room is superb!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hueyjiun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at the hansar samui with our 1 year old toddler and friends who had a 10 month old. Fisherman's village is a very pretty location away from the crowds at chaweng beach. The resort has an extremely pretty pool and is right on the beach. The rooms though smallish are very pretty. Get the XL as the regular room is very small. Served an excellent breakfast and when they found out we were vegetarian they prepared delicious thai dishes off the menu.
The staff was extremely friendly and the resort should be great for honeymooners or couples. Now the cons:
1. Extremely small rooms with sharp edges all around. Children would get hurt all day.
2. Very little to do for families with small children.( No playroom only pool)
3. They charge 300baht to got to chaweng beach while everyone else has a complementary shuttle.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abjam21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
0.1 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.2 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 184 in Bophut
1,605 reviews
3.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,497 reviews
3.8 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#6 of 184 in Bophut
1,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansar Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansar Samui Resort

Address: 101 / 28 Moo 1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bophut
#10 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bophut
#12 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
#19 Family Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £127 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hansar Samui Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just 10 minutes from the Island's International airport, Bophut Beach's newest 5 Star Resort features 74 luxuriously appointed rooms with unobstructed ocean views, free wireless internet access and oversize balconies. A leisurely stroll down the quaint cobblestone 'walking street' adjacent to the resort, is the vibrant Fisherman's Village, with its antique wooden shop fronts, chic cafes and atmospheric seaside bars. The name Hansar is taken from the ancient Sanskrit language and translates to mean happiness and joy. The concept and philosophy of Hansar Samui is to deliver an experience to each guest that is happy, memorable and enjoyable. Hansar Samui is about living life in full colour and finding joy in every moment. Hansar Samui offers luxurious, beachfront, spacious accommodation with unobstructed sea views from every room, and supersize private balconies and oversize daybeds for outdoor living and entertaining. Open plan yet intimate, each room has been artfully finished with teak floors, terrazzo bathrooms and local textiles to provide a sense of place. Chic custom furnishings, large flat screen TVs balance the design's natural touches with a modern flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hansar Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hansar Samui Hotel Bophut
Hansar Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing