We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We stayed at Mantra as a couple from 23-Nov to 30-Nov. One of the best hotels I have stayed at so far. Perfect service. There are a few negative points, but the hotel more then makes up for them.

Lets Start with the pros:
1. Superb breakfast. One of the best I have ever had.
2. Great view from the Rooms (We stayed at WOW 322)
3. Smiling staff. Always.
4. Supreme service. And I am a very demanding customer.
5. Exceptionally comfortable beds.
6. On a hill, away from the beach (this is both a possitive and negative :))

Cons:
1. On a hill - You get a golf buggy or a SUV to your room-reception at the drop of the hat, if you do not want to walk.
2. Away from beach - You can rent a bike for 150-200 bath, car for 1000 bath. so this is not that much of the issue.
3. The way from the main road to the hotel entrence (~2 + Km), very dimly light. Drive carefully.

Out and out, you will most definately not be disappointed.

Reagrds,
Robin

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobinBakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

Worst part of this hotel is the pool area. Big bean bags squashed on top of each other in a tiny area. This obviously wasnt thought out well at all guven the size of the hotel the poor area is insufficient. It is so difficult to get a bed by the pool unless you are up at the crack of dawn. The hotels answer to this problem was to build a roof terrace with more sunbeds on top of the squash courts. If i wanted to lie out on a sunbed away frim the pool i would just use the one on the balcony.
For me one of the most important parts of a hotel is the pool especially as this hotel is not near the beach. Huge disapointment.
When we checked in we were brought to our non smoking room which stunk of smoke, now i am not an anti smoker dont get me wrong the room was so bad it made us gag so we asked to be moved and we were.
Our new room was ok the tv is not positioned so that you can watch it from bed, it is wall mounted and can't be turned which was very annoying.
In our room there were condoms and a bottle of lubrication left out, apparently this is what you get with the love room. Made the hotel feel cheap and gave me a creepy feeling of a brothel. There are children staying in this hotel too so i didnt thik it was tasteful at all.
The breakfast is very poor i dont know why people rant about the pancakes they are average and the banana pancakes come with a banana the size of your thumb, just one. The bread was covered in flies and the croissants/pastries were coverd up but when i looked behind the counter the extras werent covered so pointless.
The prices in the hotel are extortionate and seeing as you are stranded there with no other options to eat it ends up a very very expensive stay. The menus were very poor too very little choice.
The location of the hotel is very strange it is up a long and windy uphill road and unlike most thai hotels the entrance is a big let down. The road on the way to reception to strewn with mopeds and the entrance and reception area just so untidy looking.
The location is ok if you can afford to spend a fortune on food and drink and dont really want to explore. The hotel is not within walking distance of anything!!!! There is a shuttle service but its few and far between they say they have extended it but its still not great. The timings dont work out well at all.
To sum up i just cant understand what all the fuss is about. I have travelled thailand extensively numerous times and this hotel did not impress me whatsoever. I rely on tripadvisor so much to research hotels and feel let down by the ranting reviews of this place.
Also we paid for a private transfer to the airport on the way back and had to wait 20 minutes on another couple sorting out their bill issues who were then put in our "private" shuttle bus and not once did anyone apologise or enquire if we we tight for time.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Downtoearthcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Downtoearthcouple,

Thank you for your review.
We believe that opinions are subjective and of course everyone is entitled for their own. Mantra is a unique boutique hotel that has a very different atmosphere to a conventional chain hotel. This is why our motto is Cheeky with Love. We created an unpretentious hotel where Guests are invited to step outside their comfort zone and explore the true Thai culture -- for example regularly hold competitions where guests can compete with our colleagues.
Our rooms names (LOVE for example), the funky dog, our uniform, the way we communicate and the wide range of complimentary services we offer (complimentary yoga class, complimentary cooking class, free international calls, game room, children play room, movie theater, thousands of free movies) are all part of our interpretation of hospitality.

We understand that for a hotel to be loved by many it is inevitable that it will not be appealing to some.
I am sorry you did not have fun with us, hopefully on your next visit to Thailand you will find a hotel that you will like.
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I, and two of our friends stayed here for 4 nights, and we were very impressed.

The breakfast was amazing. If you enjoy chocolate croissants, you will love this place. The pool was the best of all the resorts we stayed in during our 3 weeks of travel within Thailand. The rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is friendly and very helpful. There are lots of extra perks with this resort like free yoga, and a weekly cooking class. We found the food to be a bit pricy, but it was an excellent quality, so we didn't mind paying the extra. The resort is a bit remote, but there is a free shuttle so it's not so bad. We rented scooters while in other parts of Thailand, but I wouldn't recommend it on Koh Samui. The roads are way too busy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Excellent Experience. Staff are friendly, very helpful and accommodating. Loved the infinity pool. The view is excellent as it is located up on a hill away from all the hustle. However, this means it is not possible to walk anywhere and have to rely on a regular service to local shopping, restaurants and beaches.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quackerooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Me and my partner stayed here during our first visit to Koh Samui. The view from our room (which was a Wow room) was spectacular and the large balcony was excellent for afternoon drinks. I must admit the location is not fantastic but the resort makes up for it by offering various complimentary services and activities. I tried their complimentary Yoga class run by Mike and as a first time Yoga-goer found it very nice and relaxing. The buffet breakfast was excellent.. All of the hot meals cooked to order and lots of fresh sides and continental breakfast selections. The hotel only offers shuttle service to Bo-phut and Chaweng beach which made venturing around the island very difficult. The service runs on average about every 2 hours w the last service leaving Bo-Phut around 9:30. It would have been nicer to have later services as well as services to other beaches. The biggest downside was the limited chairs around the pool w a lot of guests placing their towels to 'reserve' their seats so if you are not an early bird....don't expect a seat by the pool until at least 3pm. The resort is perched on top of a very steep hill which would make walking around difficult and quite tiresome but me and my partner thought it was good exercise. Service is excellent!!!! All of the staff were courteous, helpful and really took pride in caring for the guests. The fitness centre looks brand new...I just wish we could have had a chance to go for a swim! The bed is incredibly comfy!!! I must say it's the best night sleep I've experienced in a resort in Thailand (and I've been to quite a few!) All in all me and my partner really enjoyed our stay and would most definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Wow rooms are quite nice... Me and my partner took advantage of their promotion. No jacuzzi but love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tannie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The resort is on the mountain so I can see only the view. Even they don't have a beach, we can enjoy the room with jacuzzi and nice view. We really love the food. The breakfast included is very good. The pool beside the restaurant is pretty nice with the good view. They have fitness room and yoga class also.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theerapath P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Overall this hotel is great. Great service, great people, very accommodating, great rooms, great food and host of other treats you would expect in a great resort.

As many mentioned, it is in a remote location which limits your experience. The resort does have regular service to local shopping, restaurants and beaches, but this can be cumbersome. But it was more than sufficient when we needed to get away.

The hotel is perched on a hill, offering absolutely wonderful views, however this comes with the necessity to trek up a steep hill to access the restaurant. The hotel does provide rides up and down the hill, but this can be off-putting sometimes, but if readily available when needed.

With this all in mind, if your a expecting a remote location, this could be great place for you. I would recommend it for younger travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wynos25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
4.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £73 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing