We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a dream come true”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Our stay at Mantra was great. We were picked up from airport on time and brought to hotel. Hotel is located on quite big hill, but we knew this before we booked our stay, so it wasn't a surprise. The location is great and terrible at the same time. It's great because of the view, it's breath-taking. And it's horrible because of the hight, I don't recommend you to go up just by yourself. It's not a disadvantage though, because you can book free transfer to Bophut or Chaweng few times in the day, they will take you with air-conditioned shuttle bus. If you are afraid of walking up to restaurant or pool, or going down to the reception, don't be. They will take you up and down with a buggy car with a pleasure.
Mantra team is more than just great. They are all nice, helpful and always with smiles on their faces. They helped a lot by dealing with our problems. They are people who care about the guests. I witnessed situation when they helped an older man came down the stairs before even asked.
Then the food. Best regards to the chefs. The food is amazing, tasty and it's served like a little piece of art. And the coffee is delicious. We didn't have wait a minute to get a table for breakfast or dinner.
We stayed in Cozy room, with day room and separate bedroom and spacious bathroom. Room is bright, big and just like its name - cozy. Air condition worked well. There was TV/PC in our room with movie list, but we haven't time to watch it.
I really recommend yoga classes. Great experience.
The pool. That's true that there is little room around pool area. If you get up early you can easily get a bed. But if you don't you can use the sun terrace, and there always were empty places.
I don't think I could imagine our stay better than it was. Thank you Mantra Family it was a pleasure spending our time with you

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magdalena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2013

Finishing up a 10 night stay and will miss the genuine kindness of all staff. Nothing was too much trouble! Loved our room, excellent breakfast and absolutely not put off by the location(some have concerns re distance to bophut and steepness of hills).
Maybe the only thing they could possibly improve on is the provisions for children. Currently they can supply a babysitter for about $15 (aus) an hour a supervised childcare/kids club would be my reason to keep coming back..... Thankyou to the staff at reception especially the girls(my 3 year old boy fell in love many times over.....) And a special thanks to Tay at the bar who gave my other son a very thoughtful gift!

Room Tip: cozy rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nonighnighs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I'm writing this review after spending 3 days at Mantra and still two days remain. This hotel is situated at the hill top and not on the beach. However, they provide you with shuttle services, which are great. The view of the hotel is spectacular and you feel as if you are at the top of Koh Samui. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. The staff really takes good care of you and their breakfast is just amazing. I've stayed in several hotels but none match the breakfast, which Mantra provides.

Just try out Mantra and you would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Cozy room, which is recommended!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kunalsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Ok so this is our final night in a Love suite after an amazing 4 night stay. Overall the hotel is a great way to get away from it all with a combination of magnificent views, scrumptious breakfast and great service, with a smile :-)

Initially we thought that the reviews exaggerated how far away the hotel is from Bophut, they aren't wrong! You can walk to Fishermans Village in around 45 mins but we only did it the once! We suggest you take full advantage of the free shuttle busses, they're always very prompt!

Our Love Suite was very contemporary, great size and included a jacuzzi bath, with a balcony that overlooked the views of the coast. Our only suggestions are to not charge for the Illy coffee machine (or provide instant coffee sachets also) and adapt the TV bracket so that you can watch the TV in bed - the choice of films is great!

Room Tip: If you want an even better view, go for a WOW room behind the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We just finished a six night stay at the mantra for our honeymoon. We loved it. The main attraction to the Mantra is the view. It is spectacular , and in my mind it overshadowed the fact the hotel is not on the beach.
The staff were so friendly and always willing to help, whether it be booking restaurants, booking day trips or even a simple buggy ride up to your room when walking seems to be "too much". .
The pool was another major attraction and it was so nice to paddle away whilst looking over the bay area below.
The Mantra has an awesome "vibe" that is all about relaxation and a little bit of cheeky humour mixed in........we loved every minute. Sad to leave

Room Tip: we stayed at the very top of the resort, it meant a bit further to our rooms but we also had a bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 10 days and loved it. The service is fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. The refreshing shots of freshly squeezed juices were perfect and so refreshing during the midday sun.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katblackburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here for a 2 week long getaway, that could just as well have been 2 months! I figure I will divide the review up into different sections to make it easier to cover it all!

Transfer: We were picked up by the hotel at the airport, who also handled all our luggage. Had a nice comfy ride to the hotel, where the staff took our luggage to our room while we checked in.
Same when we checked out, left the luggage in the room for the staff to handle, and the driver brought us pretty much straight to the gate in a comfortable SUV.

Reception:
Always nice when you arrive after a 24 hour flight to be greeted in the open air, get to sit down in the couch, get the cold drinks and warm towels to freshen up with while the luggage gets taken to the suite. A very warm, kind and informative check-in where we got the info of things to do, breakfast time etc. then driven to the suite in a cart and the receptionist showed how the tv/internet etc and all worked.
Whenever we wondered about anything, it was always help with a smile and finding the best possible solution for us.

The Suite:
Have to admit it's nice to arrive to a suite with a 2 person private hottub on the porch filled with rose petals and flowers, as well as the very comfortable king size soft sunbed outside.
The room was beautiful in an oriental modern design, with flatscreen tv, lots of films you could watch for free from the harddrive on the computer.
What has to be mentioned is that you also get free international calls. So it was nice for us to be able to call home and let them know we arrived safely as well as share the experiences with them.
Bed was also very big and very comfortable, plus they had a herbs brazier in the room so it always had that nice smell to it. Also nice with the little gifts and touches to it left in the mornings..not to mention when we arrived and there were a bouquet of flowers as well as rose petals and flowers laid out beautifully across the bed.
The room is very spacious, with a good feel to it, loved that mix of modern and traditional asian.
Nice touch with the 2 basins etc so we both could get ready at the same time. Only downside with the bathroom is that unless you are quite the exhibitionist, with a swing door you don't really have any privacy there. Of course can be easily solved with the other one lounging outside, but still, would've been nice with some privacy there.

Breakfast:
A very nice view from the breakfast restaurant, with a wide selection of great quality food. They had everything from european pastries to traditional thai, fruits, salads, fresh youghurts as well as different hot dishes they made for you as ordered. Great selection of any kind of coffee barista made and delivered to your table or fresh leaf tee. In addition to some fantastic eggs made to order.

Ubuntu Restaurant:
Given the location of the hotel, unless you ate while out exploring the island, or took a rather expensive cab ride, the Ubuntu were the only option. We ended up dining there probably around half the time, or ordered something extra because we got hungry. Food there is very good however, with both italian dishes as well as their own twists of thai style. We quickly had our favorites so we ended up ordering quite often and could never complain of the quality. Side note, the prices there aren't different to other restaurants around, and with the quality of the food, it's a pretty good option. Still haven't been able to forget that glazed pork rib, and wished I had the recipe for that one!

Location:
Yes, it's up on a hill, make that a really steep hill. My girlfriend wanted a bit of excersise one morning and decided to jog down and get some drinks and go back up again. Lucky for her she got a lift on the way back up again, since that was one killer trip. On the resort, going to the rooms, pool (which has that amazing view) or the restaurant, it's one REAL steep climb, usually got the pulse up just going up that climb. However, for those who aren't fully mobile, you can always just call the reception and they will have a cart waiting for you and drive you up, and there is also a button at the restaurant beside the pool to call for them to get back down again.
There is also a shuttle bus going to and from both the Bophut as well as the Chaweng beach several times a day.
If you want a quiet romantic getaway, it's the perfect place to stay. However if you do want to go clubbing and partying late into the night, be prepared to pay out alot to the taxis that are really expensive.

The Spa:
Was REALLY amazing, we ended up going there pretty much every day after we tried it out. I have had some back problems, and my therapist devised her own treatment to focus on the trouble areas, my girlfriend loves the foot zone therapy, and said that she had never had any therapist come even close to the girl who treated her. Wished to thank both of them for amazing service, but unfortunately we have forgotten the names by now..but we do hope the tip we left behind will have conveyed it to them!

Conclusion:
There are alot of really good 5 star hotels in Koh Samui, and while exploring the island we did find one or two that could be interesting to try out at some later time, tho we are going to go back to the Mantra on our return trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank David-and-Marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,087 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#2 of 185 in Bophut
505 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#11 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £64 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing