We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra Samui Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,869)
Filter reviews
1,869 results
Traveller rating
1,202
471
132
50
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,202
471
132
50
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslove roomsteep hillinfinity poolwow roomsshuttle serviceshuttle busesyoga classesfree shuttlegolf buggiesocean view roomour honeymoonfisherman's villagethe main roadlarge balconybreakfast was amazingrent a scooterbophut beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
898 - 903 of 1,869 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I just returned from 9 nights at the Mantra Samui hotel. Initially on arrival late on the first night from the airport we were a little anxious about the remote location (even though we knew in advance it was on top of a hill) as in the darkness at night it have the impression of being a long and steep winding road to get up the hotel...but when we got to reception and were greeted by the friendly staff and taken up to our cozy room by golf buggy, we were put at ease.

The cozy room itself was very impressive! Huge, clean and we particularly loved the fantastic view of the sea, palm trees, Bophut, infinity pool and bar/restaurant area. The balcony was massive and the room felt like a suite due to its massive size! The air com was not always quick to cool down the room after a long time away from the room (as the air con is automatically turned off) so this is a minor gripe.

We used the shuttles to get to Bophut and Chaweng, however as consistently mentioned by others reviewers, we felt the shuttle times were inexplicably at strange and randomly inconvenient times, especially in the evenings. Hence, we relied quite heavily on taxis to get to the various locations around the island.

The breakfasts were great and we enjoyed the variety of eggs, pastries and cereals. At times, we thought the breakfast staff were a bit forgetful and would make mistakes with our orders, but overall were good.

The staff on reception were consistently outstanding! Very courteous, helpful and organised all of our tours and sometimes bespoke requirements effortlessly. We really cannot commend them enough.

The swimming pool was genuinely luxurious - huge in size and a fantastic view from the edge out across the bay.

The cocktails weren't of a high degree of quality and a bit overpriced.

We mainly were out in Bophut, Chaweng or some other place in the evenings, but did have dinner in the hotel a couple of times which was very good...especially the Thai dishes and the Tiramisu dessert!

We were a little disappointed that the hotel only had 1 restaurant, even though it was advertised that a second was being built...no sign of this. Also, the van in reception was used as a makeshift trip brochure stand, not the coffee and pastry dispenser as was advertised. In addition the sofa loungers advertised in the website photos at poolside were non existent in reality and replaced by standard loungers. Overall, we thought a bit of false advertising was at play, a little bit naughty...

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the resort, it was very relaxing and comforting to return to the hotel after a day/evening's adventuring. The staff in reception were exceptional, however the service at breakfast and in the restaurant area could be improved. We did also meet the general manger Robert, he really made an effort to talk to us (and the other guests), and we could tell he really listens to feedback and goes to a lot of effort to make the experience comfortable for all the guests. I hope he can take on board some of the comments in this review, we will most certainly be recommending the resort to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Dear Madneep,

Thank you very much for your kind review!

I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay in your COZY Room and that you found the breakfast great!

I am also very happy for your constructive feedback. Exactly because we listen to our customers, we have decided to changed the lounge chairs by the pool. While many people loved to old beanbag style loungers it was a common request and we were happy to oblige.

Similarly the VW van in the reception was underutilized as a a coffee house and this is why we decided to convert it into a tour bus - this information is available on our website as well!

I take the fact that you mention that there is no sign of the second restaurant as a big compliment to our engineers and their ability to work in silence. The second restaurant (as it will be a semi open air restaurant - is clearly visible (already has some of the furniture installed - and can be found next to our yoga room. During your stay the gas company was installing the lines so I am very please that you did not notice the little noise.

I am very thankful for your review and comments and really wish to have you back with us!
Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My partner and I just spent five nights at the Mantra and we were impressed with our stay. We were in a LOVE room that had views over both the infinity pool and Bophut bay. The view was stunning from the room and amazing from the pool.

The food at the restaurant was reasonably priced compared to Australia and the quality was excellent. We were impressed with the dinner that we had on the first night and the various lunches. The breakfast was fantastic with plenty of options, I even tried a Thai breakfast one morning which was very tasty.

The cocktails weren't anything special and not that tasty and very overpriced when there are plenty of other options in town that are 1/3 of the price and very good.

The LOVE room was cosy, we did have to ask for a blanket since there was just a bed sheet on the bed when we arrived. The staff were helpful and arranged this on the day we asked. The hot water and pressure was temperamental which made for some painful showers with boiling hot water one minute and cold water the next. There are large shower heads in the showers are useless with the lack of water pressure. We were on the top floor so this may have effected the pressure. There is a minibar but the prices are a little outrageous, ie a small bottle of vodka was around 580THB.

There is unlimited free bottle water provided and more can be asked for on request, we really appreciated this and made use of this service. We finished about six bottles a day on average due to the heat outside and brushing teeth etc.

The WiFi wasn't that bad, it does the job but the speeds were flakey at times and you do have to sign in regularly. This really wasn't an issue.

There are unlimited free calls from the room phone to any number world wide, this was extremely useful when you weren't able to get someone on Skype etc. If the Mantra can do this, so can other hotels.

The staff at the Mantra were very professional and very helpful. We didn't have any issues or meet any unfriendly staff. They always had smiles on their faces, were willing to help you out and we even ran into one at the Big Buddha who remembered us and said hi. The staff do a great job at the Mantra and really make the stay there special. The staff spoke excellent English and if they didn't understand, they quickly grabbed someone else.

The location of the hotel is a little out of the main area, there are free shuttle busses which are very handy and save a lot of money on taxi rides. We were quoted around 300 to 400thb from Bophut and more from Chaweng back to the hotel with extra charges at night. The shuttle busses could be better timed in the evening though as you have to wait about four hours between drop off and pick up eg 5pm to 9.30pm.

The hotel is on a hill so be prepared to do a bit of walking up and down but the view is worth it. The staff will offer lifts on the golf buggy if you ask or will pick you up if you're walking by. The view you get from the hotel, you just won't get from a hotel that is on the bottom.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and I'd happily come back and recommend this place to others, it does have a few improvements that need to be made and we did notice that they are doing a lot of maintenance around the place as we did travel there during a low season. We were enticed by the 65% off deal that they had by booking more than 30 days in advance which made it a very competitive rate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrisishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We've stayed on the 20-25 April. What a great experience! We booked through Mantra website and got complimentary picked up from the airport. We had the Cozy room, the room was very large and spacious, nice view and not far from the pool and restaurant.
There are 2 beds in Cozy room. King size bed which is super cleaned but I found a white stain on the day bed's sheet so we decided not to use but for our luggage.
We had dinner at the restaurant for 2 nights and found that the price for food was a bit pricey ( compare to the restaurants outside ) but for the happy hour was great. Food quality was great.
Housekeepers were very nice and polite. Only one thing to mention is when they came in and clean the room they're not suppose to fold up all of the guest clothes or move guest personal care things in the bathroom. I know they did a very awesome job but housekeeper never touched guest personal belonging please. Other than that, all perfect!
The staffs were totally helpful esp. Meena she's helped me a lot. Thank you.

We will definitely meet again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahandZurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The Mantra Samui Resort, Koh Samui Thailand, this place promised everything and delivered, honestly can not fault the place, staff first class, 24hr service food, pool, gym. The shuttle service was most welcomed and more to make your stay memorable.
To Robert and staff thank you.
Don't forget to have the club sandwiches available with afternoon drink's.
To new arrivals be surprised, there's more to this place than meets the eye.
Boris & Gertie Braini
Kensington Vic Australia.

Room Tip: Top rooms (wow) bit of a walk, middle section close to endless pool and restaurant.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We are 2 adults and 6 children and we stayed at Mantra in two Grand Family Suites in 9 days. We are frequent Thailand travelers and this hotel beats all the other hotels we've ever stayed at!! First of all, we are amazed about the hotel area especially the views. We really appreciated that everything, even the pool was open 24 hours (not restaurant) and we loved watching movies at the movie theatre. This hotel is in the mountains but thanks to the available golf carts and free shuttle bus service it was very easy to get around. Our suites were very big and delightful and the beds and sofa were very cozy and we appreciated the free international calls. The wonderful Ubuntu restaurant served us the best 5-star Thaifood ever and the wonderful staff, especially the very nice and friendly Tor, took very good care of us.Tor was really the North Star among the other stars and when we celebrated our birthday at the restaurant he helped the kids with a wonderful surprise cake and served it with a Happy-birthday song. That made our birthday evening memorable and very special. Tor also teached the children to make elephants and birds out of napkins and they became very good friends with him. We have never experienced that a general manager socializes with the guests as much as the very nice Robert Mayer at Mantra does. He created a great atmosphere amongst the guests and staff with special events at the restaurant. When there was a barbecue night, our daughter got the chance to get up and sing a song and afterwards he showed his appreciation with a very nice letter. The reception staff is very helpful with all kinds of stuff. This is really a relaxed 5-star hotel, not the stiff kind of hotel where you can barely breathe. We will really miss Mantra and we can't wait to get back again!! With love from the big family from Sweden

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigfamily6189878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews