We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #16 of 185 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Mantra. We stayed for a total of 10 nights in Koh Samui and chose to spend our last few nights at the mantra based on the trip advisor reviews. We wanted a bit of luxury so didn't hesitate in booking.
The hotel itself is lovely and the gardens and pool are stunning. I did however feel the area for the loungers is very small in relation to the size of the hotel and is quite cramped.
We stayed in a love room and the facilities such as music and movie library, large balcony and free international calls were great; however I didn't feel the room lived up to my expectations. The bathroom was small and was showing signs of wear and tear. The finishing touches for a 5* hotel were not as expected. For example the shower walls were painted rather than tiled and therefore had watermarks/splashes all over them, and the worktops in the bathroom were wooden and painted black as aposed to a marble/granite/laminate and this therefore didn't feel very 'luxury'.
The bed was comfy but the black platform around the base of the bed was certainly not and made getting in and out of the bed quite difficult! It would also be nice to be able to watch TV in bed which is currently not possible. A simple bracket so that you can position the TV would be an easy solution.
The food was lovely but more expensive than eating in Fishermans village however the service was good.
My main criticism was the location. I was aware it was on top of a hill and had read the reviews, however I was not prepared to be so far off the beaten track! I think this is mainly as we were totally spoilt for the beach side location and short stroll from the Fisherman's village in the resort we stayed in for our first 7 days. Yes the views at the mantra are beautiful, but it did not make up for the lack of not being able to stroll to the beach or wander into the centre of Bophut whenever you wanted. I did not like having to plan your days around the shuttle service. The evening shuttles into Bophut were 4pm (a little too early for dinner) or 8pm (a little too late for dinner). The staff however did give us a lift to the bottom of the hill so that we could catch a taxi on several occasions. The taxi drivers did seem to think that they could charge a premium to take you back up the hill, as you were unlikely to trek up the steep dark hill on foot.
Would I recommend this hotel; unfortunately not, unless you are happy to be a captive audience or hire a car/scooter. There are so many hotels to choose from in Bophut with fabulous beach side locations in spitting distance from the centre of Bophut.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma_1278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

818 - 824 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just stayed for a week in July 2013. Everything exceeded expectations. The location on a hill provides stunning ocean views and nice cooling breezes. Well presented airconditioned rooms with free wifi and phone calls. A free regular shuttle service gets you to (and back from) two other villages easily. The staff are helpful, well trained and very friendly. Host "Robert" is always on hand for advice and a chat. Restaurant food very good. Chef Jump does a great cooking class. Breakfast is open for hours and is excellent. Good bar, a large infinity pool and also a great gym. Free golf buggy transport at all times to get around the site. Great value. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 65kram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We had a wonderfull time here in May, with our kids: Laurens, Wouter and Lonneke. It is a quiet and beautiful resort. The shuttle bus is perfect, although it takes a good planning of your day. The staff is very helpfull and friendly. The restaurant is okay, but a bit more expansive than the restaurants in Bophut.We enjoyed the serenity and wonderfull treatment in the Spa. The gym has very good equipment. The resort itself, with its steep hills, is a good training as well. But as stated in other reviews nescessary to get rid of the calories you take at breakfast. We hope nto come back in the future. The place is enjoyable for older children ( ours are 15-18y ), maybe a bit less for younger children.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred200258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Robert heads an extraordinarily dedicated and well trained team at this steep hillside resort, quiet and away from the madding crowds. Our party of six has just spent 8 nights there. An older member had two new knees and one of our teenagers had his wheelchair/ walker! However we never waited more than 5 minutes for a buggy and the staff fell over themselves to help our group.
SERVICE is the key to the resort's success.
The resort affords panoramic views across the treetops towards the village and sea in the distance. it's about ten minutes into town by the shuttle service and if your schedule doesn't fit theirs, just ask for the time you need. EVERYONE tries to do what you request so there's no need to complain after your visit - ask during your stay for whatever you want/need.
The restaurant offers a diverse and interesting menu for all meals and isn't expensive by our (Australian) standards.
Of course it wasn't perfect - we agreed the towels weren't '5 star' for example. However if I'm reporting an overall impression from our group, it is that the staff lift the resort to five star because they make you feel welcome and special and absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
YES - we should all like to come again and YES - we encourage you to enjoy the hospitality of this Mantra resort under the leadership of its manager, Robert Mayer. congratulations and thanks to all for a relaxing and memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helsan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

As two youngish females this place is not party central which after bust paying is exactly what we needed amazing high tech rooms fantastic horizon pool swim up bar and the food was to die for we took cooking classes and daily bus trips to chaweng and Bhoput and the staff were nothing but amazing - unblocking the toilet - doing 2am bug catching expeditions and arranging and helping us get to and from full moon party safely truly amazing place would def go back with the boyfriend or with friends perfect !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shay-z1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for 3 nights at the end of june. Where do i start with this place?? the overall experiance staying at this hotel was just amazing.

Check in -
We emailed the day before and they picked us up from the ferry in a lovely airconned car, free of charge! when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by smiley faced employees with a cool towel and ice cold drink for us both.

Love room 132 -
Unbelievable!!!!
the balacany was huge with two sun beds on for relaxing and a jacuzzi bath which was lovely to cool off in and chill out + the view was amazing/ The bed was massive with a gong behind it which i liked to hit as hard as i could each morning :) the tv had a lot of built in music and films, along with free internet + wifi, and the added bonus of free international calls which i have never heard of in any hotel before.

The pool -
the infinity was the best i have ever seen with views you only see on post cards!! free towels to use with lots of sun beds which we never had a problem finding one what ever time we went to the pool. it also has a swim up bar which is always nice!!

The food -
The breakfast was great, you could order all different eggs and then the rest was buffet style, u could also order freshly made coffee which were top notch.
we had dinner in the restaurant every night and everything that we had was to die for!!
For lunch we would order room service and eat on our giant balacany, they didnt charge you any extra for room service so you pay the same as in the restaurant!!

Everything in the hotel was always spotless and every little detail had been carefully planned! and the hills are not as bad as everyone makes out, but if you are feeling lazy you can just hop on one of the golf buggies that the staff use to cart you around.
Hope to go back in the near future!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: stay in a love room for the jacuzzi on the balacany, you wont want to leave the room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbishy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights last week. The staff here were amazing and could not do enough for us.
As most people put on here the location is a bit out of the way with many steap hills. In saying this we made the buses work for us and they were always on time going to and from the resort.

On discussions with a few other guests it is probably not quite 5 star. The bathroom floor had white marks everywhere on the floor(not sure if this was soap scum or it just needed a fresh paint), the towels were quite old we had one that had a hole in it, the air con leaked water a bit and the privacy screen around our outdoor tub was mouldy.

The bed was quite comfy and the room size was pretty good.

The breakfasts were quite nice and the staff were always there to help you with requests. The coffee was actually pretty good and was barista made every morning.

Overall it was a nice place to stay but not quite 5 star. If u go there expecting 4 star you will have a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morry1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
6.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
4.1 mi away
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
#18 of 104 in Chaweng
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#3 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
4.6 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#15 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £73 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing