We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel was very nice, staff was great they spoke very good english very helpful and the place was very tidy. The roms are up the mountain but you can get a lift anytime of the day with the golf cart. You can call down from your room and they come get you. The view from the pool is awesome, breakfast was not bad a great selection. They have shuttles to the beach every hr or you can tke a cab into town. It is about 20 min from chewang and 5 min from bophut. On friday night fishersman village in bophut shuts down their streets and it is a fun street market that goes on for miles. Great for food and shopping. This was a lovely hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
234
1,033
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a family holiday, and had one of the family suites. Room was very nice, air conditioning worked, views were fantastic. Staff were friendly and efficient, and the restaurant served great food.

The location is a bit isolated though, with the resort located at the top of a hill located on the northern side of the island of Samui, which necessitated getting everywhere via the hotel's shuttle service which runs at fairly limited times, or organising private transport. Note - if you do organise private transport, ensure that you agree on a price before you leave the hotel. Likewise on the return trip.

The spa at the resort is excellent, as is the infinity pool. My children loved the pool!

A few of the things that did take away from the experience. The linens in the rooms were uniformly in fairly poor condition. The towels in particular are tending towards their "best" condition, and should really have been replaced. The water pressure isn't very good (though the water temperature is), and we gave up trying to fill up the massive stone bathtub. The water would run hot and cold randomly.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Mantra Samui. Just a few little touches stopped it getting a 5-star rating!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasualJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Staff were very welcoming and polite, very clean and spacious room. The best part is the Jacuzzi and bean bag on the balcony, and of course a 'Zen' feel bell that could be ringed and sounds relaxing. However the food serving were slow and the taste was really disappointing.

Room Tip: Pick this if you planned to stay in the hotel for a day, otherwise it will be time taking to travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

This resort is an older property which is being renovated and is trying hard to give a good standard of food and accommodation. Every room has a view over the jungle to the water, it's quiet and has a great, large wet-edge pool. The rooms are largish and while they show some signs of age, mainly they've been renovated and are nice with timber floors, big, good beds, and a sitting area. We got free good wifi and breakfasts included which were terrific - good quality, wide range of choice and great views. It sits on a steep hill but they have little golf buggies to take you around, you just ring and ask for one if you don't want to walk up/down hills. There is a shuttle service and room to park rented cars/motorbilkes.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, say so when you book. All rooms have an ocean view. We did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

4 night stay in our 10 day honeymoon...

We stayed in the Love room, and was perfect for us on our honeymoon but was a little disappointed that was no little extras(flowers on bed) to welcome us on our first night and we had to wait until 2pm for check in and our flight arrived at 09.30am. we were greeted by staff at the airport and we were transferred to the hotel free of charge for booking through the hotel.

The rooms were well maintained and the bed/pillows were extremely comfortable and highly recommend this hotel for comfort and cleanness of the room. The worst rain fall in Koh Samui the day we arrived so we werent able to use the spa as much as we would of liked as it was really windy and wet, but there was a few issues with water at front door but the management came straight away to clean up the water.

The breakfast was amazing and lots of variety to choose from each day, whether you wanted fresh fruit,croissants, thai, salads or eggs/bacon there was lots of variety and the best breakfast we had on island during our stay. The eggs royal are to die for and a must...
We had room service on one night and meals were nice but expensive to buy from restaurant and to drink by the bar but we found this with both places we stayed at.. You get better value for money at Fishermans village.

The pool is amazing looking over to the views of the island and water and its so easy to drink lots of cocktails looking at the gorgeous view. They provide towels and comfy deck chairs for customer use and we wish the weather wasnt so wet the first couple days so we could of used the sunbaking chairs more, but we did travel in wet season, so rain was expected and didnt spoil our time at Mantra.

The steep hills didnt bother us at all and the staff would take you if need to our rooms buy cart by either calling them or if they seen you walking up the hill.

We found the shuttle service to fisherman's and Chaweng very good as we still got to expore and have the luxury of the peace quiet at the same time.

The in house music was great and huge range of music to listen too and we loved listening to the music selection Mantra provided, and the unlimited overseas calls was a bonus and to be able to call and see how our children were free of charge was wonderful.

Highly recommend Mantra for there wonderful customer service, food quality and rooms were perfect. The only issue we had was cost of drinks and food a little pricey but was same at most resorts...

Room Tip: ask for room with great ocean view and not to far from restaurant as steep walk up hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanlou9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a unique hotel set back in a quiet location that just needs to tinker with some things to be perfect.

Firstly it is set up in a hill that means you cannot walk anywhere from the hotel but they provide shuttle service to both Chaweng and Bophut beaches. They need to tinker with timings of their shuttles as they had a big gap between about 4pm and 8pm when shuttles don't run so you end up waiting about if you want to go out in the evening.

We stayed in a Love room with a hottub on the balcony which was simply amazing. The room was stunning with lovely views over the sea and was almost totally secluded so only overlooked by the room next door. The only thing I could fault was they have curtains that you can draw around the hot tub for privacy but the inside of them are a bit water damaged with black mouldy bits all over them which doesn't make it very nice when you have them opened up so really they need replacing.

The room was faultless. Amazing bed, free internet in the whole hotel, free calls from the room too! A large selection of movies and music on the room TV and a free computer in the room to use on the internet. Bathroom was just as nice, wooden floors and a huge open shower with lovely shower.

The best bit was room service was free of charge so we ordered dinner in our room most nights at no extra cost and had the same menu available as in the restaurant.

The only thing that put a down side to it was we had about 1,000-2,000 baht go "missing" from our room one day when the only people who had been in was room service so I would advise making sure all valuables are locked in the safe just in case. We didn't report this as no way of proving it.

The actual lock on the door to the room was not very secure. Even when locked you could slide it open about half an inch and if someone wanted to break the door open it would be quite easy so security is something that needs to be addressed. That said, we always felt safe and secure but with the money going missing it should have better locks fitted to their rooms.

We did find on one night that the food served to our room was not great. We had to cancel one chicken meal as the chicken was mainly fat and send back 2 chocolate soufflés that came out very overcooked so they were hard and not runny. The second attempt was marginally better and we could see they had been checked but they were still not great and overcooked slightly. My gf had these the 2 previous nights and they were perfect so the chef was clearly having a bad night that night. On this night the restaurant was closed due to them having a party night so it may be the chef was busy that night?

We used the gym which was good and the sauna and steam room. They do leave these turned off though so you need to give half hour notice for them to heat up if you want to use them. The gym also provides free laundry for 3 items if you used it which was a nice touch.

Food otherwise was very good and not bad priced compared to other restaurants in the area.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and special mention has to go to "On" who was a lady who appeared to be in charge of the restaurant. Every day she greeted us very friendly and could not be more helpful.

The pool was amazing but there are only about 35 sunbeds around it so if you don't get one early then you unlikely to get one until the afternoon. Also, the pool loses the sunshine from about 2pm in November so after that time you cannot sunbath.

Used the spa and had one of the best massages ever so would recommend this.

There is not much goes on at the hotel so it is peace and quiet and you have to go out into Chaweng if you want any entertainment so otherwise the hotel is really for people who like to rest and relax and I wouldn't suggest for families with children.

I would not hesitate to go back here again as it was a brilliant relaxing week!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Be prepared to walk the steep pathway to your room, but if not there are plenty of Golf carts to assist. We requested a room close to amenities and this was granted. There are three levels of accommodation with the "Love"on the first followed by the "Cosie"and up the top the "Wow"
A new fine dining restaurant is to be built early 2014, which will add to the charm of the Resort.
The room service was first class as was the reception. We did find inconsistencies with housekeeping, which was soon overcome by a phone call.
Dining was reasonable but again, did vary according to which Chef was on. Breakfast was average - perhaps hash browns, sausages and baked beans readily available? Would suggest breakfast is not aimed at English, Australian or American guests. You can order bacon and baked beans from the kitchen. Noticed they did not replenish some items at breakfast. Still, these are only minor issues and although certainly not 5 star, we did enjoy our 6 day stay at the Mantra very much. At current rates, would certainly consider staying there again.

Room Tip: For older people (like us) request the "Love" room. Utilise the "shuttle service&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westerner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.5 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#2 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#11 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing