We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its Ok - but not even a point more” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #24 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Its Ok - but not even a point more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed 5 nights at Mantra with my parents (58 and 61 y.o.) and we choose the Mantra because of the pricing and the reviews here.

First of all the arrival hall was a bit crowded and the direct parking in front of the reception and all the cars and much to many people are really not a nice atmosphere to start the holiday. After a while we where told to wait one hour more at the bar, because the rooms was finish yet (12h45). So we waited and the rooms we got where with no view at all behind the wall of the 307/308 Gym. So all in all the room is in a very - like unclean and refurbishment needed condition. Even the bathroom was really not nicely done and in a aged condition.

What is ridiculous is the extremely packed pool area - there is no privacy at all possible and the pool itself has just a view into the bay but nicely done is something else then. There are at least 50% too many sun beds around and the pool area is much to small for the size of the hotel. This only works for people with really no pretensions. Further, the breakfast is really the worst I ever saw in Thailand in a so-called 5 Star hotel.

Finally only the staff was friendly and helpful l like usually in Thailand and a nice to mention point. But even here - after requesting a bottle of wine at 00h45 in the lobby - we were told that they only provide food and no drinks by night. IMPOSSIBLE for a so-called 5 Star Hotel. I would rate the Hotel as a very AVERAGE 4 Star Hotel, with a 3 or 4 Star clientele.

We were here for sure the first and last time and the fact, they check in stuff did realize that I live in BKK I would expect a better room than the worst one - this is no advertisement in BKK for Mantra at all. A very disappointing place!

Room Tip: So please do NOT accept 307 and 308 -- NO VIEW AT ALL.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DR_M_ASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear DR_M_ASIA,

Thank you for leaving a review about your stay.

I am truly sorry that you did not like the room you have booked. What I am even more sorry for is that you did not let my colleagues know about it (they have made a courtesy call to check if everything is ok on the first day of your stay).

As you can see from previous reviews we always do everything we can to accommodation Guest to rooms they would fully enjoy and if Guests let us know that they would like to change we try to make that happen - and usually succeed.

The rooms that you mentioned are located on the building that is on the top of our property (on the ground floor) and in the past two years we did not have any complaint about the view. While one fo the room has partial view the other has a full view over the sea.

Your room was not available at 12.45 because our official check in time is 14.00. and the Guest who previously stayed in the room only left at 12.00. According to our records the room was available for you before our official and published check in time.

Thank you for your comment regarding the wine. While our kitchen is open 24 hrs a day - our bar closes at 12.00 - or as long as Guests stay in the restaurant. While until now no one has requested a wine from our restaurant menu after that time - we provide an extensive mini-bar. I will talk to my colleagues about having a selection of wines at the reception in case someone would like to order from our restaurant menu.

Thank you for this suggestion!

Robert: r.mayer@mantrasamui.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,057
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
234
1,033
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This place is the perfect location for a quiet getaway. The staff couldn't do enough to help out and were so friendly. The resort has a well equipped gym/ sauna. The pool has amazing views, and the food from the restaurant was incredible.
The only thing to be wary of when booking is its location- it is deceptively far away from the beach and if you struggle when walking up hill you're going to have a hard time at this hotel even with their courtesy shuttles.
Again- we loved our time here and will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Best rooms for views are 111 and 112 for the 'Love' rooms and any of the poolside 'cozy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

This property took my breath away the moment I saw it. The staff is extremely helpful and courteous. They gave us a room and asked if we were ok with it. We asked politely to have our room changed and BOOM within ten minutes our room was changed with a spectacular view of the ocean! The rooms come with free internet, kitchen and an amazingly comfortable bed! The view from the pool alone could be your reason to book this hotel. Also an amazing library of movies to choose form on their TV. All in all the best resort/ hotel i've ever stayed in! Definitely coming back here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cabeca79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had an amazing time at the Mantra. The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay wonderful. Every meal was a delight - especially breakfast. The setting of the hotel, high on a hill, added to an overall excellent experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We booked in for 10 nights in December but only ended up staying for 8. Problems with '5 STAR' rating this hotel has been given I will begin to list below.

Pool area - ONLY HAS SPACE FOR 30 GUESTS. Whilst the hotel can cater for 150 people. Loungers were taken very early on in the morning, with people saving them before they had even finished breakfast, We managed to get a bed twice on our holiday.

Food - Is very substandard. A lot of the things on the menu was not available when we asked for them. They constantly got our orders wrong. One example of bad food was a beef burger that would not have fed a three yr old child. It is no way 5 star food (pictures shown). 3 at best with over inflated prices. Most of the food seemed pre packaged food, Burgers were not homemade and do not cost a lot to make yourself. The pasta was pre bought making eating at this hotel expensive and bland.

Rooms - We stayed in a love room. A constant smell of sewage in the room as the drainage was in the bathroom under the shower. There was a tea light under the sink are obviously to combat this problem however not one was there provided tea lights for this. We had to sleep with the light on that also put the extractor fan on during the night to combat the awful smell. Shower, was the word shower experience of my life and I have stayed in budget hotels and had better than this supposed 5 star experience. It went scalding hot to cold in about 2 minutes, constantly. The entire duration of the holiday. The in room tv's were not rotational so you could not watch films whilst in bed. The hard drive the provide with a library of movies had a funny connection which my husband had to fix everyday to make the move appear normal and now out of focus.

On site movie theatre - This always smelt of stagnant water so who would want to sit in there for 2 hours to watch a film I don't know.

The hotel seems to want to be a eco resort, asking you to save water, to not request sheets and towels to be cleaned more than every 3 days. However they then have Jacuzzis on balconies and the house maids run the taps in the bathrooms for ten minutes whilst they are cleaning the rest of the room. The Jacuzzi you actually cannot even use, since the water trickles out going from scalding to cold yet again. To fill a Jacuzzi would take 1hr minimum. Hardly economical or helping the environment but yet the Mantra is all about saving water. Go figure. The curtains around the Jacuzzi are pretty disgusting, mould all over them.

The location of the hotel is at least 4km from the beach. You cannot walk this. The location of the hotel is just completely un practical to people wanting be able to leave the hotel on foot.

Good things about the hotel are that most of the staff seemed friendly enough. Rooms are a decent size although run down. The view from most of the rooms is amazing. Breakfast was good with a good selection. The shuttle bus service is good however they could be at better times, especially in the evenings. The gym is very good. If you are a gym goer you will appreciate them gym, you can also get protein shakes here.

This hotel has the facilities to tick the boxes as a 5 star hotel, however it is basically like staying in a three star. There is just not enough attention to what matters, the problems in the rooms. Pool area. Quality of food. Our stay was very disappointing and we ended up leaving early. Something many people seem to do at this hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you want to spend 2/3 days just doing nothing and can get this hotel at a good price as we have read other reviews of people getting this hotel a lot cheaper than what we had paid for it. 70GBP per night would be a good price for this hotel and achievable from other reviews I have read.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterJeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful area. The staff were lovely and particularly Joe, at reception was very helpful. The rooms are large, clean, with comfy beds and well equipped and the wifi, TV, movies and free phone calls are a huge plus (and they all work great!). The shower was hot with great pressure. The Mantra phrases, signage and uniforms are fun to read and make for a fun environment. The gym is one of the nicest hotel gyms we've used…great equipment, well taken care of, air conditioned and with a great view. The free shuttle service to the beach was also a great amenity. The breakfast was fresh and tasty….with lots to chose from. Room service was delicious and fast. The pool offered stunning views but plan on only enjoying it from in the pool… as there is little to no chance of getting a deck chair…they are full by 8am with people staking them out for the day. There is an alternate sun deck available though.

On a note for improvement...We went to happy hour and had tasty cocktails but while we were there, we watched one bartender (Farang) slurp from the spoon while he was making simple syrup and put the spoon back in it…and that same bartender used his hands to scoop the crushed ice into glasses and cover the glass with his hand while he shook the drink.

And while we throughly enjoyed this hotel and we make the most of everything….just a note for future bookers….do not book this hotel through an online booking site….only go directly through the Mantra's own website. They do not hold the same value to your booking if you book outside of them as we found out this trip.

We booked in early-November 2013 (for our stay that just past) through a well known online site after a special weekend sale was offered. If not for this booking site we wouldn't have even known about this hotel in the first place.

While it was a sale rate, that rate was obviously approved and offered by Mantra themselves, and was still for a specific category and specific room amenities (i.e.…Love room with jacuzzi and its own sun deck). This was not a rate where you just get whatever is available….it was specific to that room and cost more (even on sale) than another room option.

After booking, we were then in contact with Mantra directly to book a private dinner on our Love room veranda (the only type of room that has this capability) and were assured that all departments were aware and that it was all arranged. Upon checking in, we were informed that the private dinner was not possible as it was now high season….okay…totally understandable and not a problem. They offered to upgrade us to a Cozy room (this room is only a few baht more per night and does not have a sun deck, only a small balcony and no jacuzzi). When we were shown our room, it was viewing the sea but obstructed by the ducts and back of the kitchen. The ducts sprayed smoke and odours directly at our balcony so we wouldn't be able to sit outside. Not overly thrilled with the crappy location of this room, we asked to see the original Love room that we booked. This was to have a full sun deck w jacuzzi outside on the deck….they showed us our originally assigned room which turned out to be literally beside the parking lot….so to lay out on our veranda or sit in our jacuzzi meant that every car, shuttle, van, golf cart and person that came or went from the parking area and front lobby was just meters away and it was super noisy. and not at all private….hardly a LOVE room. Unfortunately, NOT a good location either, so….since we were informed that those were our only options as the hotel was fully booked, we opted to stay in the Cozy room which looked at the kitchen but at least didn't have so many people and traffic by it. (The hotel DID reroute the ductwork the very next morning so it didn't vent right at our balcony, so we do thank them for that and appreciate it).

We realize that it is peak season and that we got a sale rate, HOWEVER, this rate was sanctioned by the hotel on a website that THEY chose to promote their hotel and it was for a specific type and level of room, and since we booked in early November we would have thought that our booking would have warranted a better room/view as we booked so early, not the parking lot.

We were later informed (hush-hush from another staff) that we didn't get a 'prime' view/room assigned to our booking since we didn't go through the hotel to book directly, rather an online site and because we paid less for that room than other clients.

THAT was a huge disappointment. Very upsetting to know that our booking was clearly not as valuable simply because we got it on sale (that they offered!) and didn't go through Mantra directly. That's like saying I should expect sour milk if I get it on sale!!!

As much as we loved this hotel and it's concept and amenities, this booking incident spoiled it for us. We will also certainly think twice before using an online booking website again.

Room Tip: Avoid Cozy 234B…while your view is still nice-ish…it is mainly looking at the back of the kitchen an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M, Manager at Mantra Samui Resort, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear 2RoamingGnomies

Thank you for your review I am very glad that you had a great time at Mantra it seems that you took advantage of all the amazing facilities we provide

It is nice if we can hear constructive feedback – at the same time I feel I have to addrerss the inaccuracies mentioned in your review.

Over 80% of all our Guests come from various Travel websites. And for this we are very grateful. These websites enable a privately owned hotel to compete with all the chain hotels. Before the arrival of these websites a Family owned boutique hotel like Mantra would do have had a chance. A significant portion of our success is due to the fact that these agencies provide us much appreciated visibility.

The other significant part of our success comes from understanding that if we treat our colleagues and partners right – our Guests will be treated right as well.

How would it be possible to be awarded a travelers choice both in the Luxury Hotel and in the Top Hotel category every year in our existence if we would treat Guests differently based on their reservations. I am sorry but that is just silly.

Room allocation at every hotel (and of course at Mantra as well) is based on several factors. Guest preference (based on fitness level, age, preference – higher / lower level rooms etc), Technical status (whether something needs to be fixed or not), arrival times (if two Guest have similar preferences and arrive at on the same day the earlier arriving Guests will be offered the room that is available earlier) etc.

The last available room on your arrival was one of two rooms that does not have the most amazing view. While this room is usually favored by people who dislike stairs, our colleagues thought to offer you a complimentary upgrade (instead of a studio room a one bedroom suite that is almost double the size of your original booking).

They did this because our most important value is to show Love and they tried to show empathy towards your situation.

The room that was offered is one of the favorite rooms of our Guests – as a matter of fact our longest ever Guest stay (49 days) has happened in that exact room.

Mantra is a very relaxed five star hotel. We understand that Guests come here to relax and we do everything we can – allocation permitting - to make sure that all Guests are allocated to rooms that match their preference regardless of where they book.
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

Just left mantra samui after a wonderful 4 day stay to end our holiday in Thailand and it was the perfect way to sign off.

The staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you, the rooms are modern with very comfortable beds, the cocktails are mixed by bar tenders who actually know what they are doing and the food was excellent. Breakfast in particular was fantastic with a very high quality of French pastries, fruits and hot dishes on display.

The pool area is great for lazing in the sun and cooling off again.

It is far from the main road but shuttle buses run every hour, laid on by the hotel for free, to the major beaches and back.

The resort is on a steep hill which may prove tough for disabled or elderly peope however the resort has golf carts and drivers ready to pick you up or drop you off where you like so I'm sure it's not a big problem.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
4.5 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
2.3 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.4 mi away
Lanna Samui
Lanna Samui
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#17 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing