We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blown away yet again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #22 of 187 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blown away yet again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is the second time that I've been to this resort and what can I say, yet again they have blown me away. This time mantra accommodated for 5 people and as it was my mother in laws birthday, they made her feel so special, we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The Grand family suite is amazing, the staff are amazing, the food is amazing, everything about this place is amazing. A special thanks to A (bar/restaurant manager) for making us feel special. Robert thankyou for everything and looking forward to seeing everyone again, hopefully in 6-7 months, hehe

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    443
    125
    46
    14
See reviews for
238
1,037
43
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. The staff are so friendly and the rooms are really nice. We got an upgrade on arrival! Breakfast is the best I've ever had at a hotel all the options you can think of and self serve so you almost don't need lunch once you've had salmon with caviar, buttermilk pancakes and homemade jams!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amelia1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

The Mantra has a chic, European feel. It's not centrally located and it's on a steep hill, so if you are looking for a peaceful retreat far from Chaweang, it's a good choice. If you are a shopper and interested in shopping and checking out local eats, you must arrange transport. My husband and I rent motorbikes when we travel so it was not a problem for us.

I do not recommend the Mantra for people with children. It's on a steep hill, and there are no activities for children. Although it has a playroom and small kiddie pool, the pool area is not conducive to small kids running, jumping and splashing. It will only elicit stares of resentment from the people hanging out trying to chill and relax.

The Mantra is not a family resort, it's a couples retreat. Not sure why they don't promote it as such.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonderlust1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I visited Mantra Samui for my honeymoon. Its been one of the most unbelievable experiences of my life. The view from the room was simply mind-blowing.
This independently operated resort had customizations built into it, which I have never experienced before. Then, let it be about the pillow menu, planting a tree or the free shuttle service from airport.
Each room had been meticiuously designed for the perfect honeymoon experience.

Room Tip: - The Love Jaccuzzi Oasis rooms are the best for couples - All rooms have a good view but a higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombay71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The shuttle pick up from the airport (only 15 mins) and arrival drinks at reception were great. Location is very tucked away and high up which provided great views with a quiet atmosphere however is quite far from the popular chaweng beach and will cost a lot if you do not utilise the hotel shuttles.

Unfortunately our room was full of ants and once reporting to reception there was no apology and all they did was send housekeeping with a can of spray.

Food and drinks are extremely overpriced, if you want nice food and drinks try the local restaurants for a fraction of the price (recommend "the hut cafe" near fishermans market)

Pool and spa was amazing with great views and plenty of beds around to rest on

On our last day we got back to our room with a nice letter from the staff with a hand made coconut candle. This was a lovely touch to the end of our stay,

Overall the mantra is a great a place to stay if your looking for a nice resort In a secluded location away from the tourist areas (15-20min by vehicle) and certainly lives up to its Moto (cheeky, with love)


Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ToddnMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed for a week in January. The weather wasn't that great but the Mantra turned out to be a very pleasant stay. We booked two rooms and our two children (19 and 16 years) had a good time. We did take advantage of most the hotel had to offer. Yoga, massage, gym, pool, restaurants, cooking class and shuttle to town/s. Even though the place was full it didn't feel that way. We were always able to get a sun bed by the pool (and a great pool at that!) and we were always served without fuss.
The price of the restaurant and drinks is a fair bit more expensive than the villages but the food is good and not expensive by western standards.
The place is on a hillside and away from the beach. This wasn't a problem given the number of shuttles able to take us down and back from the beach and villages. It does mean that the place is not affected by the traffic and noise of the main tourist centres. You can grab a cab (under 300Baht - depending on the driver) or hire a scooter from the hotel.
I wouldn't recommend this place for the elderly. Because it is on a hill you do have a bit of walking between room and restaurant etc. (I suppose you could recommend a close room). They do have carts available on request and it was not a bother at any time when we needed one. Rooms are very pleasant and very well equipped with everything you could want.
nb. About the star rating. I suppose it isn't the traditional 5 star by western standards. It does have all the facilities but some of the finishes could be higher spec'd but 'It is Thailand' not Vegas. They live humbly and this is a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room up hill from the restaurant. The walk is less of a hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We choose this hotel by seeing the great reviews of tripadviser. But we got a bit disappointed by seeing the hotel location. The hotel is up in the hill, has an excellent birds eye view of the island but you have to use a transportation to get into any beach. Their shuttle service is ok but sometimes it is hard to maintain the time strictly when you are on vacation. They should keep more shuttles. Otherwise Koh samui transportation is expensive, takes at least 300-400 THB to go to any place. Their service was great. Though my wife was disappointed because there was no mirror in the room, and no blanket as well. Otherwise everything was perfect. Excellent buffet breakfast (don't forget to try their coconut jam), free wifi and most surprisingly we had free international call service, and we made the best use of it. They gave my wife a small present while leaving, so at the end of the day she was HAPPY!! so am I :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fagun333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bophut hotels
4.4 mi away
Baywater Resort Samui
Baywater Resort Samui
#3 of 10 in Choeng Mon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.8 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prana Resort Nandana
Prana Resort Nandana
#12 of 187 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Property: Mantra Samui Resort
Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#10 Family Hotel in Bophut
#15 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at Ubuntu Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Splendid Spa'', a yoga studio with Himalayan Salt Bricks - offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open 24 hours a day. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing