We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, laid back and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra Samui Resort
Ranked #15 of 184 Hotels in Bophut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of 3.5 weeks travelling through India and Sri Lanka.
Booked our airport transfer a few days before arrival, was promptly brought to the hotel and checked in a few hours early.

The rooms are great, the pool beautiful, the breakfast buffet extensive and the cocktails divine!

The resort is very steep, but there are club carts which can zip you up and down the hills if you are mobility limited.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kniesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 695 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Nice Hotel with friendly staff, but please do not expect a 5* Hotel - German rating. The hotel is ok and luxury for Thai standard, but shows also little spots of bother when you see it with German eyes (e.g. rooms need overall refurbishment, walls and floors look old and shower cubicle was dirty). However, we have been at this hotel in January 2014 for 14 nights and had a wonderful stay. Our room (Love Jacuzzi) was on the highest floor and the size of the terrace was huge. Also the jacuzzi on our terrace was great, but also a bit old. However, the price-performance ratio was great. The view over Bophut bay is overwhelming and the complimantory facilities and services are great (24 hours pool, 24 hours gym, free shuttle service to Chaweng and Bophut "Fishermans Village", free yoga classes - just to name a few). We rented a motorbike directly from the hotel for discovering the Island giving us more independence and beeing no longer bound by the fixed times of the shuttle service (you need to book pick up and return time in advance which gives not much flexibility). We have also taken part in the free cooking class offered by the hotel which was very interesting and is great for everybody interested in cooking Thai dishes. Overall, we had a great and relaxing stay here and enjoyed the unique atmosphere in this lovely, charming hotel - "Cheeky with Love"!. If we visit Koh Samui for a second time, we will definitely stay at Mantra Samui again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SameSame2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I stayed at Mantra Samui Resort for 5 nights, 6 days with 3 other friends. Being our first time at Koh Samui and looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, we were pleasantly surprised by the serenity and quietness of this particular resort.

I booked a 2 bedroom family suite through Expedia with $200 per night rate (down from $800 per night) - the rooms were high up on the hill, not much of a view (I think the love rooms down near the bottom to the left of the resort have more of a view). The staff will kindly send you up and down from your rooms with their buggies - just call reception.

Our rooms were large and spacious, equipped with kitchenette, clean bathroom, couch and smart TV. Huge beds, but pretty sure it was not one king size, but two doubles put together. Not an issue, as the service was so helpful and accommodating - we spent most of our time on the resort.

Food at the restaurant was okay - convenient but a little bit pricey. Free breakfast buffet was provided for all mornings of our stay so that was pretty great! Swimming pool is located next to the restaurant, beautiful and clean with great views.

Spa service was awesome - very relaxing and though you need to book before you go, there are many promotions that could entice you to multiple treatments. Again, the staff were so professional and sweet. They even provided me ginger tea because the day before they heard I had a sore throat! They really care about you.

They have no issues with you even ordering food - we ordered a late night McDonald's McDelivery to our room - they were so nice to even help us!

Free shuttle buses to Bophut and Chaweng beach - the only issue is, shuttle bus times are quite spread out so be sure to plan your trip carefully. You must also book seats on the bus beforehand to avoid disappointment.

All in all, we all enjoyed our stay very much - highly recommended and could not give enough credit to the staff there - top notch service!

Room Tip: Rooms 309 and 310 will not have a view, and will be up on the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyduong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

What can I say...my husband and I have visited Thailand 3 times and this is truly one of the best places we have stayed so far.

The views are breath taking and we tried all the rooms at the resort and the Love room was our favourite (large balcony terrace and jacuzzi bath for 2)

The staff are so friendly and kind. We want to say our thanks to 'A' who was always so friendly and kind to us. He is an asset to the team!

The gym was fantastic (my husband loves to work out in a morning and he was well impressed with the facilities) there is also a dedicated yoga studio with free classes (we used it in the morning to do Insanity)

Breakfast was the highlight! So much choice and the best eggs in Thailand :-)

Thank you for an unforgettable stay. We will return!!!

Mr & Mrs Robinson

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimboRobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at Mantra Samui for the first week of our honeymoon. We were welcomed with a cold drink and a cold flannel which was much appreciated after a long flight. A small golf cart showed us around the hotel property and to our room. Our LOVE room was wonderfully decorated and the jacuzzi was pre-filled before our arrival complete with rose petals.

The hotel is located up a hill and is quite secluded. The location is ideal for relaxation and for those seeking a retreat. Some of the hills were very steep which may be challenging if you are physically impaired. The views are however fantastic and there is no noise from traffic or beach parties. There is also a calm breeze which helps against the heat. Although there were lots of trees in the area, we did not see any mosquitoes which is a big plus.

We felt that we were dependant on taxis and the shuttle bus if we wanted to go anywhere besides the hotel. There are complimentary buses to Chaweng and Bophut; and most activity providers will pick you up from your hotel. However I did not feel that we could walk out of the hotel and explore the local streets.

The staff were extremely friendly with genuine smiles. We felt welcomed at all times. We also visited the hotels' spa which was a wonderful experience with friendly staff.

The hotel had a nice restaurant with a nice selection of Thai food and some western dishes, the prices weren't too bad either. There was a large variety at breakfast, and anyone staying here should definitely try the mango pancakes, they were amazing!!

A couple of areas for improvement:
- Upgrade the wifi. We found it quite unstable.
- Provide some extra hooks to hang up towels.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Thank you Mantra for an awesome stay, we were are party of 2 couples and a 4 year old child. and we all had a fabulous 6 night stay in your hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful and the food was very tasty. We made use of all your facilities we found the gym good for morning workouts and the 'FREE' movies useful if you just wanted to chill in the room.
We managed to stay in 3 x 5 star hotels while in Thailand, so we did a lot of comparing of the hotels and we all agreed that the value for money Mantra come out on top.
After reading a couple of reviews I do agree with a couple small cons, swimming pool does need to be warmer however every hotel we went to in thailand the temperature was freezing and the kids room was a little run down and it would have been nice to have some organised activities for the kids room ( i.e. staff member on duty).
Overall I still think it was nice hotel and I will definitely recommend it to the friends.

Taylor and Tamarua Family!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapeze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Thank you Mantra for 18 days of bliss. The rooms are beautiful and the bathroom perfect. We spent 18 days at the Mantra and enjoyed it very much. The staff are very helpful and the steep hill definitely improved my fitness levels. I think the hotel is definitely a four star but it delivered a truly enjoyable and relaxing holiday. We rented a car for the period we stayed there and that really helped as the hotel is a bit secluded. Overall the holiday was relaxing, the breakfast good. In all rooms there are a few books which reignited our love of reading. The balconies were also spacious and comfortable. Well done Mantra!

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Hanlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bophut
6 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.7 mi away
Hansar Samui Resort
Hansar Samui Resort
#13 of 184 in Bophut
2,453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sea Dance Resort
Sea Dance Resort
#5 of 184 in Bophut
538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Peace Resort
Peace Resort
#32 of 184 in Bophut
1,663 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Samui Resort

Address: 9/123-124 Moo1, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Bophut
#12 Spa Hotel in Bophut
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bophut
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bophut
Price Range: £93 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mantra Samui Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a hillside in the popular town of Bophut, Mantra Samui Resort offers guests some of the most spectacular panoramic views of Koh Samui's beautiful coastline. Guests can enjoy these views in peace while being only a short distance from countless shops, an array of local restaurants and some of the most stunning beaches you have ever seen. The complimentary shuttle bus service allows ease of travel to all of these local hotspots. The hotel has a wide range of comfortable yet luxurious rooms, most of which have an amazing ocean view. On-site facilities are available for guests to enjoy, including; superb cuisine at the View Restaurant, an infinity pool with wonderful views of the island, a variety of treatments at the ''Jai Spa'',offering complimentary classes daily, and a top of the range fitness center which is open from 6:00 am until 10 pm daily. Mantra Samui Resort also has a 24-hour staff-service for guests. If assistance is required at any time of the day, simply ask and one of the team will be happy to help. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Samui Hotel Bophut
Mantra Samui Resort Ko Samui/Bophut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing